We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Try the steak tartare!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pod Baranem Restauracja

Pod Baranem Restauracja
Ranked #20 of 1,384 Restaurants in Krakow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Polish, European, Eastern European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Try the steak tartare!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We came here with my parents while on holidays and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere is very inviting and the food was fantastic. We highly recommend the steak tartar which is the best I've had overseas so far. The piergoi are also great. Highly recommended for an authentic polish meal.

Helpful?
Thank ronimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,169
    463
    113
    38
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pod Baranem - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The Pod Baranem had been recommended by a friend and it seemed a little off the beaten track on Gertrudy. But when we found it we realised how close it was to the main square which seems to be the main focal point in Krakow. Gertrudy is only just out of the old town and only stroll on a pleasant evening.
The restaurant is well worth a visit (once my friend found it he used nothing else). We booked for the following evening to ensure a table and the restaurant did seem popular.
The waiters were very knowledgeable and he recommended the local Polish starter of mushroom soup in a hollowed out loaf which was delicious.
Be aware that the meals are not inclusive of potatoes, fries etc.though the extras are usually less than a few Zloty or a couple of pound.
The same meals in the UK would be a hell of a lot more, well worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food in a nicer traditional decor setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife had chicken breast in a herb sauce. I had beef stroganoff with pierogies. Both dishes were very good so I can recommend this place to others..

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great dinner with feel good factor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We reserved a table for our Saturday night dinner and were glad we did as it was full, yet the room like divisions didn't make it feel so - more like being in a private dining room with other people. The decor is heavy and somewhat germanic but the old fashioned service and attentiveness of the waiter was appreciated - he warned us that the main courses would take 40 minutes - so we ordered some venison pate, which even the reluctant in our group enjoyed. We had a chicken dish, duck breast in apple and cinnamon sauce, and the veal - all superb. Deserts were a joy to behold and the rather plain choice of gingerbread turned out to have a centre layer of coffee mouse making it an exotic must try. The walnut and chocolate pancake was high on the walnut and low on the chocolate. The raspberry cake with its patterned coulis was sweet and delightful.
Overall this was a great dinner and the obvious joy of the waiters in working there added to the general feel good factor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank therapina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“relaxed and extremely enjoyable top class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have all said " yes it was very good and we will be back." My wife and I did exactly that the following day .... yes it really was that good. The fillet steak I had on the first night was outstanding, served with a Polish twist the flavours simply melted in the mouth.It was the same with the veal on the following night. My wife also very much enjoyed both her meals, there is something on the menu to suit everyones tastes . We were served by Zibi on both occasions a very friendly and attentive waiter who explained when asked, how the flavours had been achieved. The costs including a nice wine, desserts,and coffee was very, very reasonable ( it was very cheap really !!!! ) but I hate to use the word cheap in such an outstanding establishment. I highly recommend this restaurant . Well done to all concerned

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RodBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pod Baranem Restauracja also viewed

Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
Krakow, Lesser Poland Province
 

Been to Pod Baranem Restauracja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing