We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible food”
Review of La Grotta Pizzeria - CLOSED

La Grotta Pizzeria
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Śródmieście
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Had four days in this town and tried a lot of good places to eat.
This place is not to recommend.
Ordered pizza and got a soft liquid on the plate.
Not tasty and pretty horrible.
There were not many people eather
Nice atmosphere and ok staff but the should get a new cook
My advice
Use your time and money another place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor food and overcharged”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is closest restaurant to Katowice railway station I could find. The Greek salad was drenched in sauces and lettuce was old. The pasta with cherry tomatoes consisted of three small cherry tomatoes. I asked to pay with credit card and to be changed in Polish Zloty, but was charged an additional 3% for paying in my own currency, the waitress skipped away as quickly as she could. Poor meal and poor service, don't dine here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“U CAN FIND MUCH BETTER PLACES IN KATOWICE”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nothing special. Nice location but You can find better places with better food with much better prices.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sabina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great pizza nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 1, 2012 via mobile

First night in Katowice looking for good food at affordable prizes to load before the marathon.
As the marathon is still 2 days away we wait with pasta for tommorrow and instead had pizza.
We ordered 87 and 90 large at 25 zl each and got all the pizza we could eat and then some.
We both agreed it was the best pizza we had this year. Nice crispy and well flavored.
Nice place with italian soft rock/pop good service without being pushy and great atmosphere outside aswell were we had adrink in the nice warm evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jespergoeje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, poland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best italian in town”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Well, Katowice are probably not melting pot for international tourism, but sometimes foreigners visit this capital of Silesia. This is 300 thous of inhabitants town, but there is really a few good restaurants. One of them with not doubt is La Grotta. Dont be surprised with interior design just trust the chief. Really you can try here italian tastes at its best. The menu is wide, dishied are freshly prepared, tast and good. The nly problem is shortage of wine list...
But food... Is good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexSt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grotta Pizzeria also viewed

Katowice, Silesia Province
Katowice, Silesia Province
 
Katowice, Silesia Province
Katowice, Silesia Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing