We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, spacious rooms.”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Katowice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Just stayed 14 nights at the Monopol in Katowice.
The hotel is located in and old and lovely building in the center of Katowice.
Stayed in a "junior suite" and it was very spacious. Bathroom was lovely, also very spacious and nicely decorated. Rooms have an "Art Deco" feel to it and some may find them a bit sparse.
I liked it a lot though. Nice wooden furniture throughout the room.
Actually had to change rooms since the AC broke down in my first room. This was handled smoothly by the staff and I got a better room in terms of peace and quiet. The new room was facing the atrium and for me it was better to be honest. I like it when it's very quiet.
Staff was very nice and friendly and gave good service.
Breakfast was served in the atrium restaurant, everything was nice and fresh. Especially liked the Polsih assortment of sausages.
Did not try to restaurant at night time so I can't comment on the meals served. There are lots of restaurants in the area to choose from.
Rates were very reasonable and the "junior suite" felt like a bargain.
Overall I had a good stay at the Monopol and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Though the rooms facing the atrium does not offer city views they are VERY quiet. The rooms facing t...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_a70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika L, Manager at Hotel Monopol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for taking your time to write the review. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Monopol Katowice.
We look forward to receiving you again during your trip to Katowice.

Kind regards,

Monika Leraczyk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monopol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 231 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is located in a historic building. It was nice to discover that in its previous life, it was always a hotel, where Jan Kiepura (a famous Polish singer of 30s) had his wedding party there. Rooms are decorated in 30s style with super-moder designed bathrooms (real stone). Free wifi, good breakfast (room service free of charge!!!). The neighbourhood is under revitalisation (including the train station) and few outlets nearby (for example Max Mara) are worth visiting as well as beauty-salon vis a vis the hotel's fitness club (decent prices and great service). However rooms are not well isolated from streets, so be prepared for a morning wake-up by garbage-collectors.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ant-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika L, Manager at Hotel Monopol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for your positive comments, we appreciate the feedback you left. Please kindly be informed that the hotel offers not only street facing rooms, but also the ones facing the atrium. Moreover, rooms are located between floors 1 to 5.

We hope you will choose the Monopol Hotel for your next visit to Katowice.

kind regards,

Monika Leraczyk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you end up in Katowice (ok, that is a big 'IF'), then Monopol is by far the best hotel to stay at: a 100-120 years old building, very nicely refurbished in a post industrial style (bricks, glass and steel) while preserving some elements of the original proprety, mosaics etc.
Large, well fitted rooms with huge bathrooms and a -too present- art-deco style/decoration.
Great choice, very much downtown, next to train station.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika L, Manager at Hotel Monopol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for visiting the Monopol Katowice and for your positive comments. We are glad to hear that you complimented on our hotel's architecture and interior design.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Katowice.

sincerely yours,

Monika Leraczyk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Very nice Hotel with excellent restaurant and location. Large and confortable rooms, very good service, is placed in the very city centre, with all major malls within 3 minutes walk. I tried almost all other major Hotel in Katowice but Monopol is by far my first choice in this town. Nice gym, with small swimming pool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodoldfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika L, Manager at Hotel Monopol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you mentioned our location and hotel facilities.

We invite you to visit Monopol Hotel Katowice again.

sincerely yours,

Monika Leraczyk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

This place is a gem. Service was great, the restaurant was outstanding. They also have an impressive wine selection and wine shop. Pool was also lovely. The furnishings iin the rooms are gorgeous. Bargain priced luxury and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bfdcshskpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika L, Manager at Hotel Monopol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Monopol Katowice. We truly appreciate your feedback and the great review you posted.

We will be pleased to serve you on your next visit to Silesia region.

best regards,

Monika Leraczyk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed for one night...had booked fr 2 nights but got stuck in Germany due to snowstorms causing flight cancellation from Frankfurt. Nice staff, clean room..spacious. Good breakfast. Valet parking handy given other reviewers comments. Central location...easy to get to surrounding towns of Bytom and Chrzanow as well as touring to Auschwitz-Birkenau to pay respects to relatives who did not choose to go there in 1943 and who, unlike me, did not get to leave. Hotel Monopol is a very nice hotel.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank COMEONTHISISRIDIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika L, Manager at Hotel Monopol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

If you plan your next visit to Katowice, we hope you choose the Monopol.

kind regards,

Monika Leraczyk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed at the Monopol for a single night in March 2013. The rooms are large, comfortable and well maintained. The hotel is very well situated closed to the central railway station. Breakfast has a good choice and is served in a central atrium area within the hotel. A very well priced, comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cafc1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika L, Manager at Hotel Monopol, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience after staying at the Monopol Katowice. Your positive review is important to us.

We warmly invite you to visit the Monopol in future.

kind regards,

Monika Leraczyk
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Katowice hotels
Śródmieście
Vienna House Easy Angelo Katowice
Śródmieście
Novotel Katowice Centrum
Novotel Katowice Centrum
#3 of 25 in Katowice
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Śródmieście
Ibis Budget Katowice Centrum
Śródmieście
Q Hotel Plus Katowice
Q Hotel Plus Katowice
#4 of 25 in Katowice
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Address: ul. Dworcowa 5, Katowice 40-012, Poland
Location: Poland > Southern Poland > Silesia Province > Katowice > Śródmieście
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Katowice
#4 Luxury Hotel in Katowice
Price Range: $86 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Monopol 5*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Hotel Katowice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing