We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Family Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dworek Gawra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dworek Gawra
Ranked #4 of 12 Bialowieza B&B and Inns
West Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly Family Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The man and wife owners only speak Polish but they can still understand your requests. They are most helpful and friendly. I have stayed at the original guest house many times and in recent years I have stayed in the new detached house too. The rooms are spacious and clean. The dining room in the original house has a wood-burning fire which is lit on cold days especially in January when I stayed to see winter wildlife and the bison in large herds. There is a wide range of food at the buffet breakfast and you can pack a picnic lunch if you wish, The evening meals are typical home cooking. If you want wine etc purchase it elsewhere and you can drink it in the rest roomor any other room if you wish.

Room Tip: The rooms in the new building are quiet but you have to walk to the original house for meals etc.. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GSimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
9
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed in a new building, the larger rooms have fire places and they lit it up for us (we stayed in summer but couple of evenings have been on a colder side). We have a good buffet breakfast with a wide selection of meatcuts, fried eggs, sausages and other stuff. We have had our dinners here too (it is not like a restaurant, you should ask for them in advance).

You can also ask to have a large open-air fire place in the frond garden and cook your sausages there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_the_Wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Gawra was recommended to me by a friend who use to live in Bialowieza. I stayed four nights here.
My room was spotless. Friendly helpful staff. They serve a great breakfast.
On the last night of my stay there was traditional Polish music along with a sausage sizzle in the garden.
Would not hesitate in staying at this property again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

Bialowieza-Nice small family hotel. Interior is made with a lot of wood, as well as the furniture. Some stuffed animals and skins should be attractive to hunters. Breakfast was really nice - specialy home made marmalade!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corlette, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

we stayed two nites. good location for what bialowezia and surrounding districts has to offer. our room was unfortunately on the dark side but nicely decorated, very spacious, clean and comfortable. staff were obliging and helpful. lot of good choices for breakfast. i do remember huge mosquitoes in this town. plenty of off street parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moores101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at Gawra for five nights. There was three in our party so had two rooms. Both rooms were spotless with excellent clean bathrooms. it was very quite which meant a good nights sleep. The staff were brilliant very friendly and polite always greeted us with a smile. The Breakfast was superb with a large choice of meats and cheeses, eggs were freshly cooked to order, really giving a great start to the day. The location is perfect only a short walk to the Bialowieza National Park. We chose September as there was a Fungi exhibition in the Palace Park only about a five minute walk away. There are Restaurants nearby.
The price of our stay was excellent value.
I would certainly recommend if you are visiting Bialowieza to stay ay Gawra,
A big thank you for a great stay !!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papillonColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A great place to stay. Second time here. You would come here for the National Park forest...and the hotel is a la mode! Wild bore skins on the walls, antlers here and there, stuffed Lynx glares down over the substantial breakfast. You can eat yourself into oblivion on sausages, eggs (three ways), cheese (unknown taxonomy), breads (various), hams, salamis ( or equivalent), fruit juices, cereals, haslet(?hmmm) and of course, delicious pickled cucumber and zuchinni.
Rooms are clean and well kept...though the plumbing suffers from a lack of technical expertise as there MUST be a shortage of plumbers in Poland by now. Be prepared to leap about a bit in the shower as temperatures hurtle around the set point!
Evening meals are a constant surprise.. refreshing after what is, by my age, the expected well- versed European stuff. Steamed stuffed and roasted little "pasties", croquettes or rissoles of various meats, and of course, some traditional (...it's OK. Don't panic) soups which are truly excellent. Mushrooms play a significant part in the gastronomic symphonies played out nightly...funny how mushrooms and Vodka seem to mix so well.
The place isn't licensed for sale of alcohol...so buy your own and enjoy. Thank you all. A great stay.
(Do not look with envy across the road to the Great Western Hotel. It is for whimps)

Room Tip: Avoid back rooms upstairs with velux ventilation. The local dog population suffers from night-fright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tectak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bialowieza
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zubrowka
Hotel Zubrowka
#1 of 4 in Bialowieza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bialowieski
Hotel Bialowieski
#2 of 4 in Bialowieza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pensjonat Unikat
Pensjonat Unikat
#6 of 12 in Bialowieza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apartamenty Carskie
Apartamenty Carskie
#1 of 12 in Bialowieza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stoczek 1929
Stoczek 1929
#2 of 12 in Bialowieza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dwor Bartnika
Dwor Bartnika
#2 of 2 in Narewka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dworek Gawra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dworek Gawra

Property: Dworek Gawra
Address: ul. Gen. Bryg. Pilota Michala Polecha 2, Bialowieza 17-230, Poland
Location: Poland > Eastern Poland > Podlaskie Province > Bialowieza
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Bialowieza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dworek Gawra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing