We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant, fantastic service!”
Review of Hotel Zubrowka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Zubrowka
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bialowieza
Certificate of Excellence
Nastola, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, fantastic service!”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We did not stay in the hotel overnight, but we used their restaurant for dining and it was a great experience! We ate game and it was prepared perfectly and taste was delicious. But apart from the excellent work of the cook, service was the best I have ever experienced. Arriving to the outside deck with the dog we were invited to dine inside with the dog allowed sitting next to out table. Perhaps because it was a hunting dog ;) Person serving us that evening was extremely friendly and showed perfect manners. If only all waiters were like this, It could be heaven... For the high professionalism of service in the restaurant, I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Good food, great service - you will feel like a VIP!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pupuliini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    87
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
100
103
6
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2011

The rooms were clean, we had tea making facilities and air con. The general ambience is gloomy. Lighting in corridors, reception and dining room is very poor. Breakfast was very good and dinners were typical of the region, I suspect, wild boar, venison, perch and duck (the latter was delicious by the way) all served with potatoes. It was OK for 4 days - had we been there for 2 weeks we might have been struggling with the menu! Having stuffed animals staring at you whilst you ate their descendants didn't add any joy either!
Had to pay for parking on the first night as there was a function on and the car park was full but after that managed to park for free in the limited spaces available. Mosquitos were biting after the rain and I would advise taking Deet from home as it might not be readily available in Poland. Location is great -petrol station was just up the road and several small shops for milk etc. Main purpose of the trip was bird watching, and this was fairly easy although you have to be up at 5.30 for best birding.

Staff were a bit dour but we found this to be the case wherever we went in Poland and when asked for something they were not unhelpful. Not much English spoken anywhere and no translations of road signs, warning signs etc. Couldn't have coped without the sat nav

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrioleMcFlurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Generally it seems that this the best option in Bialowieza. I took advantage of the off-season and have chosen the suite. Couldnt find any reason why the price was double in comparison to a regular room. The sport facilites are OK but if you feel like swimming (not staying in jacuzzi with kids running around) or sauna dont expect too much. Cant understand why hotel charges for the parking and prices in restaurant are comparable with Warsaw...

Anyway, good location still cant find better place there and very good breakfast. Funny staff in restaurant however I am not sure if everyone would enjoy sense of humor....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
281 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The hotel is adequate, not more. Zubrowka is located in the centre of Bialowieza village near the border of White Russia. The park, natural history museum and the famous forest, all are at walking distance. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is build in the late seventies and expanded in recent booming years, facilities include a children’s playground, restaurant, bar and spa. The interior of the hotel is impressively tasteless. In the dining room the heads of large hunted animals peer down at you. The food is traditional, breakfast was OK, and dinner was far from impressive.

Hotel parking costs extra, while parking in the adjacent streets is free. Zubrowka is an average hotel. We had a large room high up in the attic, nicely furnished, clean and it had a comfortable bed. No coffee facilities in the room. The spa facility is adequate with sauna and showers, we did not take any massage or beauty treatment.

Bicycles are for rent next door and cycling in the woods near the border is nice (take anti-mosquito repellent).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPiket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Nice Spa hotel offering delicious food (regional one is worth to try). Room was extremely large wi-fi works OK. The interior of hotel is impressive with plenty of facilities for various people( playground for children, bar and nightclub, swimming pool and Spa). I was there in the winter and the surrounding is simple unforgeable withe all the nature coming to you directly

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makka_mca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2010

we came to see the protected forest with a 3yo, 5yo and a grandmother. we stayed in the presidential suite which gave us space but was nothing amazing. however the pool was and it was great to play with the kids after a day out and about especially as the pool has all the fancy jets including one from the roof and two spa baths which were not too hot for kids.
the hotel arrrange a horse and cart to see the bison park (we didn't have a car and came by train) and also a guide to the forest who was fantastic. you can hire bike buggies for the kids from a guy across the road. The breakfast was great but dinner was a litte lacking in atmosphere so head to the restuarant under the natural history muesum which is lovely (also the posher place across the road is lovely too)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dippydan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2010

My wife, 13 year old son and I spent two evenings at the Hotel Zubrowka in July, 2010. The hotel is adequate, not more.

We had the hotel's Presidential Suite. It had two bedrooms and a decent sized living room. There were two "bathrooms" -- one with a sink, tub/shower and bidet, and one with a sink, shower and toilet. Odd -- why not have two toilets?

Although Bialowieza town is immediately adjacent to the forest area, no one in Poland appears to have appreciated the need for screens on windows. As a result, even though the weather was warm, one couldn't open the windows at any point in the evening when the lights were on, lest the room fill with a phalanx of mosquitos. There was no air conditioning in our room -- some parts of the hotel have it, although it seems to work only when the weather is cool enough for it not to be needed. Our traveling companion commented on the need to open her window at night since her air conditioning was leaving her room sweltering.

The suite had reasonably decent furnishings -- a comfortable couch and easy chair in the living room, and a dining table with four chairs. There was also a small bar. All the rooms were well lit (so you could read easily while the windows were closed and you sweated).

The linens were fair, but all the pillows were foam. Again, based upon stays at 5 hotels in Poland, of classes 3 star to 5 star, feather pillows appear not to be available in the country.

Although the public areas of the hotel are spacious, on our first night for some reason most of them were kept in the dark, and the bar area completely blackened. On the second night, the dark areas were lit and the bar open, which made the place a little less spooky.

The wife and son reported that the pool area (although entirely inside) was quite nice, with some cool water features built into the pool area.

Service was reasonable at the desk -- the shower in one of our baths wasn't working correctly, and when I said something it was fixed before we got back from breakfast.

On the other hand, even thought the hotel was only at about 30% occupancy, our room was not made up by 3pm -- I feared we had been forgotten, and said something, and it was made up within 30 minutes after that.

The restaurant was poorly lit. The breakfast, on the other hand, quite good. Dinner was decent, not great.

For whatever reason, although this is a fairly rural setting, the hotel has a pay lot for parking. I forget the charge -- whatever it was it was too much for something that should be free. Bialowieza isn't Manhattan.

As we got ready to leave, and took my suitcase to the exit nearest our room, since my car was parked close by. The emergency exit was securely locked! So, if you stay in this hotel, be sure to have a ground floor window you can jump out of.

The fire safety issue aside, this hotel is adequate. It probably is worth staying here to see the forest area, if no other lodging in the area appeals to you. Just know that this is a basic hotel, without much in the way of ambience or comfort.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrrvilleRedRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bialowieza
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bialowieski
Hotel Bialowieski
#2 of 4 in Bialowieza
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Delfina
Hotel Delfina
#1 of 1 in Zlotoria
57 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartamenty Carskie
Apartamenty Carskie
#1 of 13 in Bialowieza
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamenty Galeria Trunkow
Apartamenty Galeria Trunkow
#2 of 17 in Bialowieza
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Stoczek 1929
Stoczek 1929
#2 of 13 in Bialowieza
38 reviews
10.0 mi away
Dwor Bartnika
Dwor Bartnika
#2 of 2 in Narewka
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zubrowka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zubrowka

Property: Hotel Zubrowka
Address: ul. Olgi Gabiec 6, Bialowieza 17-230, Poland
Location: Poland > Eastern Poland > Podlaskie Province > Bialowieza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bialowieza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Zubrowka 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Zubrowka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing