We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lication is perfect.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zhong Hua Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhong Hua Hotel
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Sopot
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lication is perfect.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

Near to beach. From sea max. 20 mt.
Apartement room nice but better is first 1 floor room. That 1. Floor rooms in beach.
Breakfeast is standart. Not special.
Haven't got mini Bar.
Tercih edilebileck bir otel. Dinlenmek istiyorsaniz secebilirsiniz. Odalar temiz. Plajin icindeki odalari tercih edin.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    30
    23
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
36
2
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2010

I stayed there 4 nights. Hotel is situated very close to Sopot's main attractions - less than 5 minutes walk and you are there. Hotel itself looks ok from the outside, but the room interior is really poor. We had last room on the corridor, which gives great view for the beach. You could open the window door and just walk outside the beach - superb. Hotel has also fenced beach, which is really convenient during summer peak season. Breakfast is also ok, you can sit outside right on the beach.
And this is end of good story.

Hotel owners tried to make it "Chinese" - it is not believe me. Rooms require at least refurbishment, bathrooms as well apart from being tiny: both rooms and bathrooms.
Hotel restaurant is no highlights, with a bit pricey food - you can walk 5 minutes and get plenty of better and cheaper choice. There was a wireless internet, but it was barely working in our room. Parking may be a problem, so bear in mind to make a reservation for it as well!

I would recommend choosing other hotel, unless you are looking for suntan and do not care about the room too much.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank MILeq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sopot hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

I booked this hotel through an online Travel Agent and specifically asked them to confirm that my booking had been received. This they did. However when I arrived at the hotel on the busiest weekend Saturday of the year (Assumption Day /Maria Himmelfahrt Holiday), reception was staffed only by a young lady who had only worked there for two weeks. She did not have my reservation. A room was found but had to be cleaned. So I had to wait an hour until 6 pm to access it. Frankly they need not have bothered as I had to clean it myself. There was thick dust everywhere - the bath had been patch -painted and it flaked off, the windoes were thick with grime and dead insects. There were curtains - ragged and dirty and only covering half the window - filthy nets failed to compensate and give privacy. At 4 am the sun streaming in was on the one hand wonderful on the other hand tiresome because of no curtains. the room number was 116 - never take that room! The manager does not work weekends - but i did manage to get a room change the next day. As otherwise I planned to check out even though on such a holiday it might be hard to find another room. In fact this hotel was not full but they could not use the rooms because they didi nnot have enough laundry. The original room had single sheets running sideways across a double bed. My new room - 305 - on the ground floor was better. But still pretty unclean - if you are sqeamish about old toe nail cuttings - don't stay here as they do not vacuum clean the carpets in the rooms from one guest to the next. Breakfast is odd. When you go into the room there is no one to greet you or explain the "system" - three members of staff stand by the kitchen door - the yunger girls chatting sociably but only with each other, the sour faced manageress(?) staring glumly and unsmilingly. I told them how impressive they looked but would they like to tell me about breakfast - is it self service etc? Well it is. Everything! BUT the buffet is pretty good - although it varies - on my last day there were no eggs and the hot box contained only Frankfurter style suasages - another day there is a rather good poached egg and cheese mix. I did not bother trying to find the manager figuring if he/she was remotely interested s/he would find me. I don't think they want people to stay here and do all they can to deter. The restaurant is popular and makes their money - I think the reason they don't put guests on the system is because they always have enough rooms but of course they don't bother cleaning them unless someone turns up so you have to wait for cleaning - and for linen to be delivered - it comes about 5 pm,.
If you are looking for a Fawlty Towers experience - sour and erratic staff, filthy filthy rooms, carpets from fifties and probably not cleaned since then - then this is your hotel. But don't believe the propaganda on the websites or the reviews which seem to be of a different hotel! For example rooms are said to have tea and coffee making faclities and hair dryers - they don't.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Steve005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2008

This is the only 'chinese themed' hotel we have ever stayed at so really nothing to compare to as far as design or layout.

Booked through [-] Prices were on the expensive side, but the location was worth it.

Stayed in the Mandaryn Apartment, which is apparently the hotels most expensive room. It consisted of a good sized 'living' area with safe, fridge, leather couch, and several windows. Attached was a nice looking bathroom (the shower hose was leaking, but was replaced shortly after we reported it to the front desk) and a decent bedroom with a tv.

The view from this room is fantastic. Your are right on the beach and can see the sunrise perfectly right over the water. The hotel prides itself on being "the only hotel on the beach" and this is technically true, but the beach side of the property is fenced from the public sand somewhat ruining the view out from the main floor. The Mandaryn Apartment is on the second floor, and you do not notice the fence unless you are right at the window looking down, so its not too bad.

Due to the amount of travelling we planned, we were stuck using the hotels laundry service. There is no laundry onsite and it has to be sent out, which can get a bit pricey if you add up all the little items you may have gathered on the way.

The service at the hotel was ok, not overly friendly, but helpful with any questions. The restaurant was about a 2/5. Looks like it should be more upscale but its really nothing special and there are many places nearby to eat

Overall a nice experience, but seemed a bit overpriced.

  • Liked — The view!
  • Disliked — Restaurant was blah..
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThePumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2005

Hotel Zhong Hua is situated in the old "Bathrooms" building, right on the beach and next to the boardwalk and the pier. All rooms have a door going to a private little deck right on the beach. The decor is oriental and stunningly beautiful, it reminded me of the best Feng Shui examples. The hotel is big, and bright, yet very cosy. Each wing (and there are many) is decorated in a slightly different from other wings way The service is wonderful, the food fantastic. The price per room is not that bad for Sopot, it was only 200 PLN for a double room.

I would love to visit it again in the summer season.

Helpful?
11 Thank Lidka8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopot hotels
0.3 mi away
Sofitel Grand Sopot
Sofitel Grand Sopot
#2 of 26 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Sopot Hotel
Sheraton Sopot Hotel
#1 of 26 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mera Spa Hotel
Mera Spa Hotel
#3 of 26 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bayjonn Hotel
Bayjonn Hotel
#5 of 26 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Haffner Hotel
Haffner Hotel
#4 of 26 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Villa Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhong Hua Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhong Hua Hotel

Property: Zhong Hua Hotel
Address: al. Wojska Polskiego 1, Sopot 81-769, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Sopot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Sopot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zhong Hua Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Zhong Hua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing