We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor place”
Review of Haffner Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Haffner Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Sopot
Certificate of Excellence
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Poor place”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

price has no relation to the quality of this hotel, in my opinion The hotel hasnt the standards of a 5 star hotel, only qualify for a 3 star hotel with a beautiful location. I dont wanna to say that everything was horrible, but I felt a little cheated by this hotel within the meaning of what they offer (and for what you pay) and the reality

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Haffner_Sopot, Manager at Haffner Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Dear Bart03,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience you experienced whilst staying in our hotel. We only wish that you had made your comments known during your stay so our team would certainly have taken measures to overcome any problems. Without knowing the problems we couldn’t take the action to solve them. As a 4 star hotel we are proud to be between the best business and leisure hotels on the Polish seaside, however any comment is a value for us as it helps to make our facilities and service even more professional.
Thank you for staying with us.

Malgorzata Winiarska
President of the Management Board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    115
    29
    8
    1
See reviews for
99
97
9
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2011

4-star Haffner Hotel in Sopot provides all necessary facilities for successful business events: conference halls, restaurants, business center, internet. Food, cleanliness and service are at the excellent level. The hotel is located in calm, green area. The most famous places in Sopot ("Molo", "Monciak") as well as the beach are rather close. Gdansk (Danzig) and Gdynia can be reached by taxi or local train (SKM).

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krrnadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

Lovely hotel all dark wood furnishings with a fantastic spa area epecially the jacuzzi .
On room only basis so cant comment on breakfast but heard comments to say resturant was very good . Had a meal in the Charlie Bar which was excellent . Would have like to have been slightly closer to the centre of Sopot although very busy and noisy in high season but a bit quieter at this time of year .
Would have liked tea /coffee making facilities in room and safe although safes are available at reception free of charge .
If visiting again I would ask for a room at back of hotel our room was above the main entrance there for 5 nights Sat - Thurs . On two occasions we were woke up by people standing talking / singing at the front entrance on one occasion at 5am this being the morning we were leaving and could have done without being wakened at this time . We did complain to reception . Also it is a very busy and noisy road .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cath31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

we had a lovely 5 nights at haffner, they have really taken their time to cater for children - we were with our 2 year old and 4 month old, no request was too difficult.

the room was large with a comfortable bed, 2 cots, plenty of space, a lovely pool and plenty of kids toys and floats etc in the kids pool

5 - 10 mins walk to the beach/town centre.

we will be back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docrkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

The Haffner is situated in a leafy street, surrounded by grand houses which have seen better days, a sports club, and what appears to be a deserted aircraft hanger! There is a flat walk of about 200 metres to a long sandy beach, and 400 metres to the bustling pedestrian centre of Sopot. In all respects the hotel lives up to its 4-star rating. Reception staff are multi lingual, and set the standard in smiling service. Our room was very spacious, cosy toweling robes and slippers were provided, and the king-sized bed was simply the most comfortable we had ever encountered in an hotel. The quality and choice of food available at breakfast could not be faulted, and the so-called fast food offered by the Pub Charlie was restaurant standard (but pub-priced!). Guests' cars were guarded 24-hours a day in a secure compound. The service throughout our five day stay was exceptional. The maid left a daily weather forecast in our room (in rained three of the days), Reception provided umbrellas whenever they were needed, and every request we made was answered promptly, accurately, and with the enthusiasm of staff proud of the hotel for whom they worked.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Stayed at the comfortable Haffner Hotel for 3 nights. Nice large room with excellent air conditioning. Room was available for an early check in. Hotel is only about £15.00 in a taxi from airport and far easier than catching the bus to centre of Gdansk and then local train to Sopot (station from hotel is about 15 mins walk). English speaking Reception staff were very helpful. Did not use the pool or other facilities available at the hotel as there was far to much to see and enjoy in Sopot and Gdansk. Hotel located in a residential area bout 10 mins stroll from the heart of Sopot and 5 mins to the beautiful wide beach with good facilities. Sopot is well worth a visit, it caters for every age group and there are a great selection of restaurants, bars and cafes to enjoy. The wonderful restored city of Gdansk is only a short taxi ride away. There is also a local train which takes about 15 mins, tickets for train need to be purchased from the kiosk opposite the station and not actually in the station. There is a 45 mins boat trip down the River Elbe in Gdansk to see the famous shipyards. This was a very welcome way to spend a couple of hours on an extremely hot day. Temperatures in the Baltic were mid 30's but this, we were told, was very unusual - hence the great air con back at the Haffner was a life saver after a day of sightseeing. Also nearby you can hire bikes and cycle for miles through wonderful wooded areas that run alongside the beach. One afternoon we went to the local Horserace track in Sopot where meetings are only held a couple of times a year. We would certainly return to Sopot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PIGGOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

I have stayed there twice for business purpose, otherwise i would never choose this hotel. It is quasi-old style, but cheap inside, rooms not cozy, although clean and otherwise ok. restaurant avareage, poor choice of food, do not go too early, may not be service available.. Located not far from beach, train station or main street, still 45 min by taxi from airport.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maciekg40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sopot hotels
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Grand Sopot
Sofitel Grand Sopot
#2 of 27 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Sopot Hotel
Sheraton Sopot Hotel
#1 of 27 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mera Spa Hotel
Mera Spa Hotel
#3 of 27 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Villa Aqua Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rezydent
Hotel Rezydent
#6 of 27 in Sopot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayjonn Hotel
Bayjonn Hotel
#7 of 27 in Sopot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haffner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haffner Hotel

Property: Haffner Hotel
Address: ul. Jana Jerzego Haffnera 59, Sopot 81-715, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Sopot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sopot
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sopot
#3 Spa Hotel in Sopot
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sopot
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sopot
#6 Business Hotel in Sopot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haffner Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Haffner is an exclusive building with 100 rooms and 6 suites located nearby sandy beaches of Sopot. Undeniable advantage of Haffner Hotel is the proximity of the Lech Wałesa Airport (GDN) and the historic Old Town of Gdansk. For the guests seeking respite there await facilities with extensive spa. You may relax under the skillful hands of the massage therapist while your children play under the supervision of professional nanny. For our youngest customers we have prepared a whole lot of attractions to fill their free time and ensure plenty of fun. For all the guests awaits Toccata Restaurant which has been amazing everyone with delicious flavors and tastes, serving Polish and Mediterranean cuisine as well as relaxing Charlie Pub which guarantees best drink tasting. The sweetening of your day with a great choice of aromatic delicacies is guaranteed by thr Inside Cafe, offering products of hotel’s confectionary. Professionally equipped conference center with a wealth of technical facilities, constant care of conference coordinator and an interesting gastronomic offer are the reasons why Haffner Hotel invariably enjoys great popularity among companies and agencies which organize conferences and events. Check-in begins at 15.00 and ends at 12.00 the next day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Haffner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haffner Hotel Sopot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing