We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so interesting”

Malbork Castle Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.02*
and up
Gdansk and Malbork 1 Day Tour from Warsaw
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Malbork
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“so interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

After seeing the castle in Italy and other parts of Europe it was interesting to see a brick castle.
Learning is was very badly damaged in the second world war, it was interesting to see how it had been so well restored. One thinks from all the western propaganda that soviet block nations had no respect for the past. Here though they truly inspired to give a truly intimate view of how this castle operated I loved the place it was so interesting..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    247
    36
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Coolest Castle Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is the coolest castle I've ever seen. It's even better then Wawel in Krakow. This place is amazing, but it does have a few cons.
First of all, we asked for a ticket with no guide, and were sold one with a guide, and when we asked the lady about this, she told us it's for the audio guide, which comes with all tickets. This was [--]! She sold us a tour guide ticket, and ripped us off.
As some other posts mentioned, there was no information about the rooms, and the booklet I had wasn't very good, so I had no idea what room I was in. Also, there was this interesting display of pantless men, and there was no information about that either.
Also, we were there late May, and the place was over run with school groups. Seriously. We were stuck in one room for 10 minutes, because they had blocked all the exits. If you can, it's best to visit in the late afternoon when all field trips have cleared out.
A huge plus though is that you are allowed to film and photograph all the rooms, for no additional fee.
I read that they charge additional fees for rooms during the tourist season though, so try to visit before it starts. I recommend just seeing the castle on your own, so you can do so at your own pace, But this castle is HUGE, the world's largest in fact. It's very difficult to know where to begin, and takes about 3 hours to explore. I wouldn't spend too much time in the museums, and just focus on the actual castle itself. The museums all display the same things, weapons and armor, which gets really boring after a while.
There are souvenir stalls set up outside the castle, and the salesmen here are the friendliest I've seen in Poland. They like to make a lot of jokes about Jews though, so if you're not Polish, you may find them offensive. Also, watch out for cheap knock offs. My uncle bought a plaque, and it was painted to look like wood, but was made from cheap cast. He dropped it, and it shattered into several pieces, and the guy who sold it, wouldn't give him a refund, he just replaced it with another item.

This castle is a really great day trip from Gdansk. It takes only an hour by train, and you can spend the whole day exploring the castle, and surrounding areas.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank RealTravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spellbinding and breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent two days visiting the castle, and it still felt like it was not enough. The sheer size of the castle is overwhelming, and the way it is preserved is amazing. My daughter fell in love with the place and hopes to go visit again next year. Their light and sound show is definitely worth staying up for to see. We stayed in a little hotel right across the river from the castle, and it was amazing and imposing to look at every time of the day. There are a lot of stairs and the place is not really set up for people in wheelchairs, but that partially comes from the castle construction itself.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dragon4Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa, Polska
Level Contributor
354 reviews
268 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“One of the best Castles in Europe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

There were already so many reviews that I can only add a few key comments:
- great to see children up to 7 entering for free
- makes up for the ticket prices from the Polish top end (a bit cheaper in the late afternoon)
- very decent "Gothic" restaurant inside
- well prepared audiobooks
- heard guides are good too (we were with kids so took audio)
- for the entry price I would not charge extra for the tower (we skipped it)

I highly recommend to stroll around the castle for an hour to experience the mazes, pass throughs and corridors.One will see how BIG the castle is.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Wolszczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We've seen a few castles in our travels throughout Europe but none like this. The size of this castle and the state of preservation/reconstruction was amazing. Highly recommend getting a guide as they will tell you of all the history behind the castle (available in several languages) and it makes the experience very interesting and educational. This is definetely a must see for all ages.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DolceVita2687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malbork Castle Museum also viewed

Malbork, Pomerania Province
Malbork, Pomerania Province
 
Malbork, Pomerania Province
Sztutowo, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Malbork Castle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing