We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museum of the Second World War (Muzeum II Wojny Swiatowej)
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Museum of the Second World War (Muzeum II Wojny Swiatowej)
from $19.27
More Info
Reviews (2,575)
Filter reviews
2,575 results
Traveler rating
2,015
393
93
41
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,015
393
93
41
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews audio guide second world war on tuesdays we spent hours four hours point of view free entry subject matter entrance fee visit gdansk old town ww2 exhibits perspective information polish poland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 2,575 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic museum focussing more on the impact of war on the civilian population as well as the armed forces. Be prepared for a long visit if you are really interested in WW2,spent 4hours here and could've been longer except they were closing.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank N9751SWsimonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We used about 3 hours, you need time to digest and experience the darkness of the cheaper of history. Strongly recomended.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Kalebstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The museum does a great job in teaching you about the whole second world war and not just Poland's part.
It was free on Tuesday, you go to the ticket office and grab a free ticket to enter.

You need to leave your bag and coat in the locker, you would need a 2 zloty deposit for the lock mechanism, has to be the new coin.
Allow at least 3-4 hours if you want to cover it.
Easy walk from old town, should tale 10-15 mins depending on your location.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Gio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was a bit apprehensive about visiting this museum, such a huge subject, not sure that a museum could do it justice. However, I need not have worried. Gravity of the subject meant that it is difficult to say that you “enjoyed” the trip but I certainly felt that I learned a lot.

When we got to the building there was a long queue and I thought the the exhibits would be crowded when we got onto the museum, however the exhibition area is so large and well presented that inside it did not feel crowded.

The museum views the war from slightly Polish perspective but certainly not exclusively. It does not concentrate on the actual battles of the war but looks at other aspects
• Origins of the conflict
• Rise of totalitarianism in Europe
• Start of the war, partition of Poland between Germany and Soviet Union
• Experience of civilians in occupied lands
• Collaborators and resistance
Etc

All information is in English as well as Polish so UK visitor are able to get the full story.
I would allow at least 4 hours to see this place, one slight criticism is that the should be a café inside the exhibition space to allow visitors a break from what is a pretty intense experience.

Tip: Not sure if it is possible, but if you could, I would book tickets in advance to avoid queuing

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Kenkinghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A definite to do activity whilst in Gdansk. You can easily spend a minimum of 4 hours wandering through the exhibition in a stunning building. Extremely well thought out and so informative. A headset is highly recommended. Great value too!!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank magmidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews