We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for centre”
Review of GryfHotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GryfHotel
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2009

Myself and partner stayed at the Gryf for 3 nights and it is close to the Solidarity monument and square and next to the shipyard. Quite interesting to read and look at the memorial statues etc. It is not in the nicest area but excellent for the centre and train station. The rooms were nice and spacious but no brewing up facilities in room. There were tea and coffee available at a price downstairs in reception. The room had a separate area with sofa and tv and the bathroom was clean and nicely decorated but no complimentary toiletries. The beds were comfortable and extra quilts and pillows were in the room. The staff were pretty helpful and friendly. The hotel does do brekkie but we didnt have it. We chose this hotel because of the price and its location.
We got a taxi from the airport which we bartered for 50 zloty (approx £12). Coming back we found out we could get Bus B opposite the trainstation but it never turned up so again we paid 50 zloty back to airport. There is a taxi area near the bus stop.
If you turn left when you come out of the hotel then cross the road to the right just past the tram stop there is a Road to Freedom museum underground with a tank outside. Further along that road is a piece of the Berlin Wall and the wall that Lech Walensa allegedly climbed over. interesting if your into history. This is also the quickest way into the centre and the train station. It takes about 10-15mins walking. There are regular trams that stop outside the train station.
We took a day trip by train to Gdynnia and Sopot and got a day ticket which wasn't a lot, cant remember how much but worth it. We went to Gdynnia first thinking there was a beach but it was just a ship port and its a bit of a walk from the station. On the way back we stopped at Sopot. Absolutely gorgeous place, one street with shops and bars led to the lovely sandy beach and a huge pier. In the street is 'The Drunken House', a weird and wonderful shaped building. We are thinking of staying in Sopot when the warmer weather appears.
This hotel is not exactly luxurious but it is in an ideal location for sightseeing.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for GryfHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 137 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2008

We booked the hotel mainly due to its price and location close to the centre.

While not in the pretties area of town it was half the price of central properties and the rooms were more than adequate, the staff helpful and friendly and it was no more than 15 minutes to the centre of town.

We booked direct with the hotel and received very good response as we had booked 6 rooms and had to modify the booking a couple of times.

The beds in the rooms were pretty small but comfortable enough. Showers were good and powerful but the shower head had been positioned for a midget to stand under.

As we were on a stag party and then an early flight home we tested the hotel by arriving in at 04:00 one morning and then leaving for the airport at 04:00 the next. No problem the night guy sold us water and snacks when we got in and had us a taxi waiting to take us to the airport the next morning.

In summary this hotel was perfectly adequate for the budget traveller and those that want a clean, good value no frills hotel. If you are wanted something special then this is not the place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BandiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We booked in a the gryf hotel because it was the cheapest and the photo looked ok. The hotel was once an old hospital and looks a bit run down from the outside.
The hotel reception is brand new and very clean, the reception staff are friendly and speak good English. We booked a single and a double room and both were identicle with two single beds next to each other, and this may have been an error but only one bed in each room was made up. The rooms are quite basic but clean and all you need for a short stay, there is tv with sky news and some German and Polish channels. There did not appear to be any room servicing so we just asked for a pillow case ( for the second bed, i went without a duvet cover and just used the quilt i found in the wardrobe) a few extra towels and an extra toilet roll. I would recommend the hotel due to the low price and location, however it seemed to be very popular with German teenagers ( 2 coach loads) who liked to have parties at night, not sure if they are there alot or just when we stayed.
Thoroughly enjoyed Gdansk, food and beer were very good and spent less money than i expected.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bexshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights last week.I was a little nervous as there were no reviews on this site,and I always check TA before I book a hotel.

The hotel is situated next to the entrance to the shipyard.It has only been recently converted,having previously been a hospital.There are 2 buildings linked together,one is the hotel and the other is empty.I was told by hotel staff that this is also to be converted.

The hotel is in a residential area,surrounded by non descript blocks of flats.There is nothing in the immediate area by way of shops or bars.I should say that we walked in to old town,15-20 minutes day and night and never felt unsafe.

We paid approximately £30 per night for a twin room including breakfast,which was basic but adequate.The hotel has no bar or restaurant at present,but I think there is still work being done.

The public areas of the hotel are very modern,staff spoke basic English.The bedrooms were a decent size with tv,skynews,bbc world.The beds were not the most comfortable.The strangest part was that in our 4 nights we never had housekeeping come into room.

If all you want is a bed for the night at a reasonable rate,and you don't mind making your own bed then this fits the bill!

Hotel website:owgryf.pl

5  Thank lbalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JFKsuper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Izabela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ptn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Impresja
Hotel Impresja
#37 of 85 in Gdansk
107 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Angela
Villa Angela
#48 of 85 in Gdansk
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Petite B&B
La Petite B&B
#54 of 85 in Gdansk
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
1.1 mi away
Hotel Amber
Hotel Amber
#25 of 85 in Gdansk
165 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#26 of 85 in Gdansk
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GryfHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GryfHotel

Address: Ul. Jana Z Kolna 22/26 | Solidarity Square, next to the Main Gate to the Gdańsk Shipyard, Gdansk 80-864, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range: $48 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GryfHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your GryfHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing