We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING HISTORICAL HOUSE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gotyk House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gotyk House
Ranked #27 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING HISTORICAL HOUSE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Oldest house in Gdansk. Copernicus wrote his theory on the planets here. A nice little museum underneath the hotel. Very small boutique hotel dripping with character and atmosphere.. Girls here are wonderful and friendly and will make a cuppa for you when you want it and a nice breakfast we ate on the area overlooking the street with the Amber sellers. One of the most beautiful places to see in the world We have been to nearly 60 countries around the world and Poland and in Particular Gdansk and Gotyk house are amongst our favorites.

Room Tip: buy Amber from this street as best prices and quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2CORVETTES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    70
    17
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
137
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed our 4 night stay at the Gotyk House. It is in the oldest building in Gdańsk. Copernicus stayed there. Those two things right there make it a cool place to stay. But the fact they have made the oldest building such a lovely and comfortable place to stay makes it a really cool place to stay!

It is situated on a pedestrian only street, which keeps it fairly quiet. It is very centrally located for most everything in Gdańsk. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. My bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and hospitable. The room price is very reasonable for what you get in return.

The breakfast provided in the morning was enjoyable and sufficient. You can request a pot of coffee with breakfast, which is better if you need more than a cup in the morning. It was cold weather when we were there, but our basement room has a heated tile floor. We requested tea every night, which was brought to our room for us to enjoy, all without charge!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the basement room. It is not cold, damp, or dark. You have your own entrance...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaSandra55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Truly perfectly located ! In midst of reconstructed Old Town. Several centuries old home converted into delightful B and B. It's small and cozy. Wonderfully clean and attended by several ever present young Polish ladies. Do not miss the historical museum located in basement which details the presumed escapades of a universe altering mind and man, who stayed here rather romantically and secretly ! And don't skip a visit to Westerplatte. Unbelieveable the terrors of World War 2 could begin in a lovely place such as this......

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsjustbigjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived late after having a very long day that began with trouble with a hire car pick up. Our vehicle was not equipped with a GPS even though we ordered one. The lovely girls at Gotyk House (Dorothy, Patricia and Anja) were all fantastic. Dorothy met us and after making us a cup of tea assured us they would endeavour to solve our problem. Sure enough as soon as I came downstairs the next morning Patricia was aware of the situation. She took the details we had and after a lovely day sightseeing we arrived home to be presented with the GPS. The following morning Anja gave us some great tips of places to see in the Masurian lakes, our next destination. Service with a smile!
We had a cosy room with sloping ceilings in a house that oozed history.
We ate our breakfast on the little terrace because the breakfast room was full. This was fine for us because the weather was suitable. The only negative may be that breakfast is staggered because of the space but it is offered as room service if the time doesn't suit.
Another bonus is that for visitors with a car, the staff of Gotyk House organise a permit to drive and park within the old town for a small fee. Very helpful.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were two couples staying at this very small hotel, in an excellent location in Old Town Gdansk. The building claims to be the oldest house in the city (from 1451), and there is a small museum in the cellar. We had a room on the ground floor which was small but cosy, with a modern bathroom. Our friends got a spacious attic room, all sloping walls and Velux windows.
Breakfast is very good; you can take it in the small area by the reception desk, or in your room. Because of the size of the place you will need to tell the helpful staff when you'd like to eat, so they can spread the meal time out to fit everyone in.
All the sights are within easy walking distance, and you're only a hundred meters from the river, on a street stuffed with Baltic Gold (amber in every shape and form). The literary wine bar right across from the entrance is excellent, and the micro-brewers at the Hotel Gdansk really know their stuff.

Room Tip: You're right next to St. Mary's Church, so expect bells! At least they only strike the half...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iananding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Top location - all points of interest accessible by foot, very clean, extremely helpful and accommodating staff, good breakfast on the small outside patio - or served in your room, spacious room. Excellent value for money. Overall one of the best B&Bs ever stayed. Only one drawback - the soundproofing. We had a room in the front of the building, right above the main entrance.You could hear people going up and down the stairs, the main entrance opening and closing; and people on the street if they were speaking loudly. I don't know if it was the specific room (but I doubt it). If you are not bothered by noise, this is definitely one of the best choices in town. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NkLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Its about time I joined Tripadvisor and began contributing, since I have benefited so much myself from other people's reviews...My wife and I enjoyed a 2 night stay at the Gotyk hotel and could not have been happier. Located on Mariaska Street and directly behind the cathedral, it is perfectly situated in the heart of Old Town on what I found to be the most beautiful street in Gdansk. Though the hotel is one of the oldest buildings in the city (and a resplendent one itself), the interior is in excellent condition and very well maintained. The staff were very welcoming and always willing to cater for our needs, including breakfast in bed at no extra cost! Our room was very comfortable, and appeared as if it has been renovated very recently all with high quality materials and workmanship. As far as value for money is concerned, I very much doubt you will find better in Gdansk

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#28 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.2 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.3 mi away
Podewils Hotel
Podewils Hotel
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotyk House

Property: Gotyk House
Address: ul. Mariacka 1 | Stare Miasto, Gdansk 80-833, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gotyk House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotyk House is located in the very heart of the old town, in the most beautiful street in Gdansk. The oldest house A.D. 1451 was transformed into comfortable old styled hotel. Gotyk House is the place where modernity unites with history. The care of each and every detail of the house helps reflect the spirit of the past of old Gdansk in the interiors of Gotyk House. According to the legend this is the house where Nicholas Copernicus and Anna Schilling met and fell in love... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gotyk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotyk House Hotel Gdansk
Gotyk Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing