We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel!”
Review of Gotyk House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gotyk House
Ranked #29 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming hotel!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Lovely place in a heart of Gdansk. If you are looking for a unique place this is it! You can order breakfast in your room without any extra cost. There is no hairdryer in a room but you can ask for it at the reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyzunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    71
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
34
141
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

we had the room round the back but this was good for us hotel was clean but had to arrange breakfast times as there was a small breakfast area. There was no kettle in the room but two small bottles and a dish of sweets. Just remember to take a kettle

Room Tip: pack a kettle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foundit1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

The reviews are correct! Gotyk House is a wonderful place to stay for a night or a week. Since it's located on Mariacka street, everything is near. Highly recommended in Gdansk. But, make a reservation at least two months ahead.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDS62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I loved the gothic/medieval style, as the name implies! The room was quaint, cozy, and nicely decorated. Good location, close to the sights. The building is narrow, so there were stairs but no elevator. Enjoyed the breakfast and the friendly service. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roksta79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Wow! This place was amazing! The rooms were always fresh and clean, the staff were helpful, and a good breakfast! I was here for a few days and I was totally impressed! If you're travelling here, this is the place to stay. I will definitely stay here again if I come back! Well done!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooter888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Gotyk House Hotel and really enjoyed it. This is a small hotel full of charm and character in a great location. The hotel only has 7 rooms and ours was at the back of the hotel, in the basement. The room was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The only issue was that it was a bit cold at night but there was an electric heater in case it got too cold. The breakfast was really nice and although it was not buffet there was a lot of choice of food. Don't miss the gingerbread biscuits, which are delicious! (you can buy some in the shop downstairs too).

The location is great as you are 5 minutes from the Royal Way and on the Mariacka Street, the most picturesque street in Gdansk (if you want to buy amber this is the place to be as you will be spoilt for choice). I loved the history behind Gotyk House and the little museum on the ground floor was a really nice touch, which gives the hotel even more charm. Do walk along the street at night as it is beautiful all light up with the street lamps.

We could hear the Town Hall bell chime at 8 am and every hour, which was lovely as the bell chimes were really beautiful and charming.

The hotel's wifi internet did not work in our room (being at the back of the hotel and below the ground floor) but we went to the Reception area to check our email on our ipad and the lovely receptionist made us a delicious cup of tea (a special blend made for the hotel) with a few gingerbread biscuits (delicious!). She was a star and super friendly.

We would recommend Gotyk House and will stay again if we go to Gdansk again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ninnytendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I Couldn't have asked for better location! You are right there. The rooms are absolutely beautiful.
This place is full of original character.
A really nice breakfast was prepared for us! Fresh cheeses, coffee, fresh baked breads and yogurt.
Also, a very helpful staff. They helped us a few times with directions.
An excellent, excellent stay! I'd recommend the Gotyk House anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heidianderic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Hotel Artus
Hotel Artus
#28 of 84 in Gdansk
231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Neptun
Aparthotel Neptun
#27 of 84 in Gdansk
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kamienica Goldwasser
Kamienica Goldwasser
#55 of 84 in Gdansk
42 reviews
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
405 reviews
0.3 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gotyk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gotyk House

Property: Gotyk House
Address: ul. Mariacka 1 | Stare Miasto, Gdansk 80-833, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gotyk House 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gotyk House is located in the very heart of the old town, in the most beautiful street in Gdansk. The oldest house A.D. 1451 was transformed into comfortable old styled hotel. Gotyk House is the place where modernity unites with history. The care of each and every detail of the house helps reflect the spirit of the past of old Gdansk in the interiors of Gotyk House. According to the legend this is the house where Nicholas Copernicus and Anna Schilling met and fell in love... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gotyk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gotyk House Hotel Gdansk
Gotyk Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing