We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close but yet so far”
Review of Krolewski Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Krolewski Hotel
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everything about this hotel was what I was interested in. It is in a medieval building converted to a modern hotel, it had a great view of the historic center of Gdansk, and it had a wonderful breakfast. Here is the problem - there are no bridges across the river and it was a 15 minute hike along the river to the nearest bridge, cross the river and hike back into the city. I love walking but this was a bit of a surprise.

Room Tip: Yoiu want a room facibg over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DearOldOakParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 228 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed at the Krolewski as a party of 6 in early October 2012.
Location makes it a bit of a walk to the old town - when the 1.5pln ferry not running.
Fortunate enough to have rooms overlooking the river - all spacious, clean, comfortable beds - if a little dated. If you're a TV watcher you'll be disappointed - there was a TV - but very poor picture quality and no English speaking channels.
The breakfast was good and the staff were helpful.
Overall we would return!!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed 3 nights. Location - great. Breakfast was lovely. Room - very disappointing - broken window, broken shower, tiny sink in the bathroom, very uncomfortable bed. There isn't really a sitting area in the hotel, pity, as being situated so beautifully at Motlawa river gives a great opportunity to build a lovely room with an amazing view and sound of splashing water. I will not stay there again, I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KlaudiaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

If you can get one of the rooms on the riverside then you are lucky. You will have fantastic views of historic ships passing by the hotel with the old town in the background. Also the restaurant is nicely located almost on the river. Good food. However it is quite a long walk to the old town (about 15-20 mins). The rooms have no air condition so when it got really hot I had to switch to Novotel. The design of the rooms hasn't got that "oomph" factor like the local Gdansk Hotel. Radisson or even Qubus. Would prefer not to stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the river. Avoid in the summer. Good if you are doing any projects or come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtsAndWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here whilst attending a Conference in the next door concert hall. Excellent staff and with a first rate breakfast included in room price an ideal location. Rooms clean perhaps could be considered dated but more than fit for my purpose no A/C. The bar closed at at ten prompt so beware if you want to drink the night away this is not the hotel for you. If in the area this would be my first choice.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor room with great view over town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlessim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed 5 days at the Hotel Krolewski while attending a conference and was very pleased with the accommodations. It's in the former Royal Granary (one of nearly 300 granaries that reportedly were on the island in medieval days) and has been nicely restored and converted to a comfortable modern hotel. It has about 30 rooms and is adjacent to the Filharmonica concert and conference center. The rooms are reasonably priced and a very nice breakfast is provided in the modest riverside restaurant. The staff is pleasant and helpful, with good english language skills. Charming Old Gdansk is just across the river, via a small passenger ferry or a short walk to the bridge. I do like to catch stateside news when possible and was disappointed that the several advertised english language stations weren't working at all during my stay, despite several requests to remedy the situation. Other than that, I enjoyed my stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
Thank davefromArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Hotel Królewski is located in a quiet location on an island in Motława river, just across the river from the old city centre of Gdańsk. It is about one kilometre's walk from the hotel to Długi Targ (Long Market). There is a small ferry that provides a shortcut across the river. The trip costs one złoty one way, but the ferry does not operate late in the evening.

The hotel building itself is very charming. It is an old red brick building which used to be a granary. My room was in the corner of the building on the river side and it provided a beautiful view to the medieval waterfront buildings on the opposite side of the river and the SS Sołdek. When I was in the room, I spent a considerable amount of time just admiring the view and watching traffic on the river.

My room was rather spacious, very clean, and nicely furnished. The bed was very comfortable and provided a good night's sleep.

In the bathroom, the wash basin was annoyingly tiny, but, on the other hand, there was lots of space for toiletries. Showering was a bit unpleasant, because water temperature did not remain constant.

A wireless internet connection was available in the hotel, but there were often problems with the connection. There was fortunately a backup connection, as one corner of my room was just under the coverage of the public wireless network of the city of Gdańsk (but with a very weak signal).

The breakfast buffet was impressive, it provided a very good selection of items, and it was different every day. It was so ample and tasty that I could easily skip lunch. I also had dinner at the hotel's restaurant. The food was fine, prices were reasonable, and service was polite and attentive.

Free guest parking was available right in front of the hotel. I parked my motorbike on the pavement next to the entrance.

The staff were friendly and spoke good English.

Room prices were apparently elevated significantly during a European championship football tournament that took place in various locations in Poland and Ukraine. It was an unfortunate and unavoidable coincidence that my trip took place during such an event. With regular rates, this hotel would provide very good value for money; now I am obliged to rate the value only average.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlackXJ6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
0.3 mi away
Gotyk House
Gotyk House
#27 of 85 in Gdansk
267 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#19 of 85 in Gdansk
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dom Muzyka
Dom Muzyka
#23 of 85 in Gdansk
289 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Amber
Hotel Amber
#25 of 85 in Gdansk
169 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Angela
Villa Angela
#46 of 85 in Gdansk
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Krolewski Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Krolewski Hotel

Address: ul. Olowianka 1 | Wyspa Ołowianka, Gdansk 80-751, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range: $40 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Krolewski Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Krolewski Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Krolewski Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing