We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old fashioned comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Podewils Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podewils Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Pencoed, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Old fashioned comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently stayed (2nd-5th April 2013) having chosen the hotel due to the Trip Advisor rating.
No complaints at all, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We arranged transfers from airport directly with hotel at a cost of £30 each way. This is quite expensive for Poland and normally we would take public transport but I wanted to spoil the wife, You get exclusive use of the 7 series BMW, its a nice touch. Breakfast choice was excellent if you like the cold buffet approach as I do. Cooked choice is limited to eggs and bacon or sausage. The hotel is a 10 minute walk away from the main street and if this is an issue for you , there are closer hotels in the same price bracket (e.g Radisson Blue). Main street has a vast choice of places to eat to suit all budgets.
I realise that this review should be about the hotel but I would like to add two suggestions for days out. You can get a train to Sopot which has the longest pier in Poland, It takes about 20 mins on a local train which is about the same time it takes to walk to the train station from the hotel. it is certainly worth going to Malbork which can take about 50 mins or 90 mins depending on which train you get. Malbork is home to the biggest castle (area wise) in the world and the largest brick building in Europe. Train costs about £2 per adult each way....no idea how much a taxi would be. In summary, we have not stayed at any other hotel in Gdansk so we can't tell if it is the best hotel or not, all we can say is that we were not disappointed and happy to write this recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    42
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
187
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zaragoza, Spain
Level Contributor
212 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and me spent Easter holidays there. Although weather wasn't pleasant, both the city and surroundings, as the hotel as well, are worthy to visit. Hotel rooms are quite comfortable, bathroom is big, wifi works OK, ... Staff is friendly, and more than that, tries to be familiar and helping always... Breakfast is buffet (excellent) plus an additional choice for a hot dish. Really great. To come back, and to advice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis_de_Zaragoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a delightful stay at this charming and comfortable hotel. Our room had a superb view of the old town over the water. The staff were very helpful and both dinner and breakfast were excellent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickwick47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Wonderful little hotel with splendid views across to the old city and the marina. Make sure you get a river facing Room if possible! Staff are very helpful and look after you throughout.

Breakfasts are amazing with so much choice. Dinner in the restaurant is worth trying too with some delicious local dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights bed and breakfast and the staff were excellent and the breakfasts were wonderful. Nothing was too much bother for the staff, particularly the waitress who served breakfasts. We stayed in the hotel one night for dinner and the standard of food was first class. Would highly recommend this hotel highly, for location, service and high standard of food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8David8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

The hotel is a beautifully classic styled hotel. The staff were wonderfully attentive. The restaurant was great. All round amazing stay! A lovely view and easy to just cross over the bridge to old town gdansk.Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukegeorgeskelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

A quicky break. I did use Trip adviser to find ths hotel and have to agree with all reports this place is a little gem. On the first night we were the only people in the hotel, yet the buffet breakfast was just perfect, we thought it may be reduced as we were the only guests.Staff were more than helpful, and little things like getting a weather report left on your pillow for the following day when they came to turn down your bed were a nice touch.
a shart walk from the main square but fantastic views over the river at night. for short breaks you will not find better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.1 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#7 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#8 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.2 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podewils Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podewils Hotel

Property: Podewils Hotel
Address: ul. Szafarnia 2, Gdansk 80-755, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#16 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#18 Business Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Podewils Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Podewils Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podewils Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing