We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the rubble from WWII comes beauty”
Review of Old Town

Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.89*
and up
Gdansk Walking Tour Shore Excursion from Gdynia
More Info
$129.28*
and up
Gdansk and Malbork 1 Day Tour from Warsaw
Ranked #1 of 155 things to do in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Papillion, Nebraska, United States
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Out of the rubble from WWII comes beauty”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

After listening to the history of this lovely town, it is amazing how it has been rebuilt with some amazing architecture, and I might add a fun place to visit. As you walk through the old town gates into the area you are entertained by various street acts. At night is when it is truly fun, with street acts throughout the Old Town area and some of the best musicians playing in the archways. It's hard to believe it was bombed during WWII and the people were able to rebuild into its former beauty. Old Town is located by the waterway which leads to the Baltic Sea and used to be a vast shipping port. They still have the round cage where men would climb in and walk to lower and raise the bridge (think of the mice running in the wheel). What a fun time to go through the shops and get amber jewelry at such reasonable prices, and learn how to distinguish real amber from fake (did you know it burns?). So many eating establishments to choose from with great food. We were there at the end of August and the weather was ideal - in the 70s. Our tour stayed there two days and we could have stayed longer. Went away with lots of pictures and gifts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Azbylut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,838
    891
    94
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Underated old town”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed three days in Gdansk and out of that we spent most of that time in the old town. Its is here you will find the best restaurants and bars. The waterside area we found had the best restaurants and bars and had the best atmosphere with lots of tourists. We found the prices very reasonable for a tourists area. It is hard to believe that a lot of this area was flattened during the war ,but has now bring tastefully restored to its original condition.This old town looks best at nights with its yellow dimmed street lighting and loads of people walking by .The city of Gdansk in general is not as popular advertised as other major city in Poland and I think that is a pity as Gdansk has a lot to offer I have visited all the major city's in Poland and it is up there with the best. We intend to go back there again in the summer time when the days are longer and to explore it a bit more.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank clohanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
544 reviews
364 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Architecture”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The old town is a must visit ofcourse especially when you love architecture and old buildings. The houses, churches, squares..all are special in their own way. Theres alot to see and you will find nice restaurants and places to have a drink here. As soon as you enter this part of the town you will get impressed of the beautiful buildings.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HugoColle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful architecture and sights”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Old town is beautiful and very cosmopolitan. You can eat foods from all around the world in a 1 mile radius. The prices are so reasonable and the quality is very good. Beer and drink prices do not vary much and expect to pay between £1.60p to £2.20 a beer. You will struggle to pay more than £50 to include a good 3 course meal FOR TWO and a bottle of decent wine to go with it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cobblersteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“OLD TOWN”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

What a surprise when we came around the corner from our hotel (PICA PACA) and saw the entance to Old Town over the bridge. The cobblestone roads, the many choices to stop for lunch or just some 'people watching' were all amazing and perfect. We headed there every morning and found more excuses to simply hang out anywhere within walking distance. Highly recommended and certainly a fond memory of our visit!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ursula61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town also viewed

 

Been to Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing