We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly touching experience”
Review of Westerplatte

Westerplatte
Ranked #11 of 153 things to do in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historic site where World War II broke out on September 1, 1939 includes a small museum and a towering monument to the Polish defenders.
phillystravels
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A truly touching experience”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We went to Westerplatte after reading about it on the internet not expecting the experience we had Its really down a non existent road which we travelled by bus Rocked from side to side by the potholes in the road which were flooded from rain water We got off the bus wondering should we just get back on and go back to Gdansk We would have so missed out if we had
The Historical significance was so well highlighted with all the information laid out on huge boards giving the history of the area before the first world war right up to the start of the second world war and beyond You can go into the only remaining barracks and see the conditions that had to be endured The monument when you got to it at the end of the peninsula was both striking and emotional after reading about the history along the way to it Well worth going to see

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank phillystravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    408
    326
    128
    22
    14
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Another failure to capitalise on history”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The title may be uncharitable, as the country is still recovering from its communist past, and also, I went in october.
But this place is a famous place, a location of some historical significance. Yet, the monument and the officers villa aside, it lacks the basics that other countries provide at similarly important sites.
if you are there, you will visit, solely because of the significance. When you do, please lower your expectations until such time as the polish government understand that their country has much to offer historical tourists, once they pay attention to the standard details.
I have ticked bathroom facilities but on the day of my visit, they were locked.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank HeatherandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth going. Go on the boat from Gdansk”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This place is steeped in history and especially world war 2. So much to see here and understand. Lots of information in English to read about. The boat trip from Gdansk to Westerplatte is also brilliant as it takes you passed all the dhip yards

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank clarkey009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Westerplatte”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Cost us £20 in a taxi as it was a Sunday and we were not sure of the buses. The site is well laid out and there is loads of info and plenty to read. There are two or three souvenier stalls and a cafe.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lutyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Leaves an impression”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Wonderful historical location! Where world war II was started with the shot of a torpedo. I recommend taking the pirate ship there (Black pearl), tour-guides point out the sites on the way there. One down side, the tour guides repeat the same thing over and over throughout the day so they get a little monotoned. Also, make sure you go earlier in the day because you run out of ships to take back to Gdańsk.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Marta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westerplatte also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Westerplatte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing