We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in quite unpleasant surrounding, however close to the old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Ranked #17 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average hotel in quite unpleasant surrounding, however close to the old town”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Average service, average location, prices a bit too expensive for the value. If you travel by car be aware that even your car is placed on the hotel's parking place it still can be damaged or stolen and will not be really protected.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    363
    104
    20
    4
See reviews for
189
207
47
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenerife, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

A good hotel if you are seeking quietness and chain standard rooms. No view but a good location - just 5 minutes from old town. The breakfast was good and ample. There was free wifi in the room, a safebox and small freezer. The air conditioning wasn't working in heating mode, but we didn't need it at the time of year.

Room Tip: buy in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eska09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington dc
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I don't remember seeing that hotel 4 years ago when I was in Gdansk; it looks very new inside and out, so I don't understand a previous review that said the hotel was old...

The location is perfect. A few steps from the old town of Gdansk.

Outside, the building looks ugly. The colors are awful. Looks almost like a prison.


The lobby is pretty small. Nothing fancy.

I got our room key (card) and discovered that it could not open our room. Got back 2 flights down to the reception to have it adjusted.

There were 2 women at the reception, one did not speak anything but Polish, and the other one managed a few words in English.

Went back to "my" room with the new card, opened it and discovered a bare-chested man in the room.

Went back downstairs, was given a new room, opened it, and there were people inside.

Went back downstairs and almost lost my cool. Was I ever going to have a room?

Finally, I was given a vacant room by the reception woman who was then almost in tears. "So sorry, so sorry." she kept saying. I felt sorry for her too.

The room was large by European standards, very clean, as was the bathroom (no tub), nothing was missing!
Had a fancy mp3-clock-radio-whatever that we could not manage to make work. Big HD TV, air conditioning working.

The next days, there were English-speaking people at the reception (Miroslav, very helpful) who also were friendly and courteous.

The restaurant was so-so, as it is generally the case in hotels.

We could not pay for our drinks on our hotel tab, we were told that the hotel and the restaurant had separte accounts. Oh well.

I would go back without a problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We enjoyed our visit to Gdansk and LOVED the city. So many historical sites and a very quaint city center with nice shops, restaurants and music. I will definitely come back to Gdasnk and would stay at the Novotel again. The hotel was clean and the staff friendly. Our room was also clean and comfortable. The hotel breakfast was one of the better I have had and this would include much nicer hotels. They had many choices including crepes, 3 different styles of eggs, 3 different sausages, yogurts, fresh rolls/bread, fresh fruit, cereal, an assortment of cheeses and local seafood. There were also various juice selections and coffee, tea a milk. This is definitely better than the usual continental style breakfast. Also, the hotel is a short walk from the river and city center.

Also, while in Gdasnk, it is very worth it to take the short train ride up to Sopot on the Baltic coast. It is a beautiful location with a long pier that is similar to Navy pier (minus all the crowds and attractions). It is a quaint seaside town with neat shops, restaurants and beaches.

One tip in regards to room selection...in the summer the sun rises VERY early. Even with black out curtains, the sun still comes through the sides. I would ask for a room that doesn't get morning sunrise if you are wanting to "sleep in" some.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brownie0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2011

On Granary Island, a couple of minutes from the Long Market (i.e. the centre of the old city), the hotel achieves the rare combination of being genuinely peaceful and right in the middle of things. The rooms are Novotel standard that regulars would recognise: spacious, spotlessly clean, good bed, expensive minibar, silly little bedside shelf.
The staff were polite but not overly helpful. The buffet breakfast varied in quality day by day. When well stocked it was quite a good offering but late breakfast on Sunday was distinctly picked-over. I have stayed there twice before and would do so again, largely because of the location.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2011

A simple hotel, with not many fancy details, but in a very convenient location and really friendly staff! Especially when, having a problem with my air ticket, I asked for their help, the reception staff made all the necessary phone calls and negotiations in Polish, and despite the fact that they were really busy, they finally helped e solve tbe initial problem. But, most importantly, they did it in a very simple and unpretentious way! Although I have traveled a lot, I have not seen such a great behaviour in a hotel.
Free wifi internel in bedroom is very convenient. The dinstance from the city center is very short (1-2 minutes walking), but had to walk through a alley.
In summary, a hotel with great value for money!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariannatzanoudaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.5 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
1,529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#7 of 84 in Gdansk
616 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.2 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#14 of 84 in Gdansk
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Gdansk Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Gdansk Centrum

Property: Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Address: ul. Pszenna 1, Gdansk 80-749, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#10 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#13 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novotel Gdansk Centrum 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Gdansk Centrum is an ideal base for exploring Gdańsk's Old Town. Literally 5 minutes’ walk from Long Market with beautiful sights - The Neptune fountain, the Town Hall, the nearby Crane, the St. Mary's Church and all the unique atmosphere of Gdansk in its most sought after editions, all within walking distance. The buildings surrounding the hotel area separate it from the street creating a secluded space converted into a garden where you will find outdoor playground. It is also a place to sit down for breakfast or enjoy a meal from the NOVO SQUARE Lounge Bar that serves international cuisine. For those looking for activity, a fitness center is available at the venue, bicycles can also be rented to travel around historical neighbourhood. Near the hotel, there are water equipment rentals, where you can rent kayaks and face the traffic flowing through Gdańsk - Motława. After a busy day, you can relax in a room with air conditioning and free WiFi. Younger guests will appreciate the games console and interactive table located in the hotel's lobby. Gdansk Central Railway Station is 1.5 km away. Parking is available on site. The hotel is 1.5 km away from the shopping center and 14 km from Gdansk International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Gdansk Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Gdansk Centrum Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Centrum
Gdansk Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing