We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Very nice hotel with good location”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I have stayed here many times during more than 20 years and have seen the progress in standard and service of the hotel. The walking distance to the centre of the old town is nice. I like the restaurant that has reasonable prices and good service.. And the breakfast table is superb. Delicious!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RolfAStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MercureGdanskOldTown, Manager at Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for your last visit in Mercure Gdańsk Old Town Hotel. We appreciate very much your warm opinion regarding your stay with us. It is always a great pleasure for us to receive a positive feedback from our Guests.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you in our hotel in the nearest future!

Best regards
Beata Gorska
Reservation Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    550
    97
    25
    12
See reviews for
89
436
107
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto proofs that a big hotels can make you feel home.
Restaurant is good, staff is friendly, and they all speaks english, still not obviously in Poland.
Great location; the bus from airport takes you to the Main station for 3 zloty, from there it's 5 min walk to the hotel.
The beer in the minibar is too expensive, though. And why watery Carlsberg?
The local brew is much better.
Much better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canasta67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back from a three night stay at this hotel and would highly recommend it! It is very centrally located with a good shopping centre directly across the road. It is less than a 10 minute walk to the main railway/tram station and the bus stop for the airport. The reception staff are very friendly and always willing to help. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the beds allow for a good night's sleep. The breakfast buffet serves a wide choice of freshly prepared food in relaxing surroundings. A trip to Sopot is a must!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

stayed here on a short break in Gdansk, nice friendly hotel, we got stranded cause our flight was cancelled so went back and although we could not get same room they found us another room. Very helpful and even gave us a picnic meal in the bar as we waited.....very accomodating

Gdansk itself is loverly and we will definately return

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went here in a group back in October and had a great time. The hotel is clean and tidy and the rooms are very modern. Staff are really friendly and helpful. Gdansk itself is a lovely place with plenty to do. Take the opportunity to travel up the river to Vesterplatte where the second world war started and you can also travel on the train up to Gdynia and Sopot which both other good nights out!

Room Tip: Stay higher up as you get some great views across Gdansk
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

It is very good hotel in any respect: location, room, bathroom, service and cleanliness.
The only drawback is a lack of restaurant. However you could have a quite good warm food at the bar. I strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asuomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just back from a 4 day visit to Gdansk where we stayed in the Mercure. Even though we had arrived a few hours before check in there was no problem in getting our room, once entered the Hotel is very impressive and extremely warm and inviting, the staff we felt were friendly enough maybe an extra smile wouldnt go amiss. Our room was overlooking the old town and the view was amazing, the room itself had everything needed for our stay including toiletries, tea & coffee making facilities, comfortable bed and excellent housekeeping.

Complementary Wifi was an added bonus as was the free computer internet use downstairs, another perk of the Mercure is the close proximity to the Madision Shopping Centre which is literally just across the road and definitely worth a visit
.
A five to ten minute walk brings you into the beautiful Dluga area, and if you fancy a trip to the seaside of Sopot the train station is a five minute walk.

Overall I would recommend the Mercure for its location and comfort.

Room Tip: Highly recommended are the rooms to the back of the hotel with a view of the old town, the front roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ogs_4025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 84 in Gdansk
1,564 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 84 in Gdansk
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
631 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.4 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#14 of 84 in Gdansk
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto

Property: Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Address: ul. Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your stay in the tallest hotel in Gdansk Mercure Gdańsk Old Town is located near Madison Mall with over 100 shops, 10 minutes walk from the largest brick building in Europe - St. Mary's Church and 10 minutes from the historical Gdańsk Shipyard area. You can get from Gdańsk Główny railway station our lobby in 5 minutes. Nearby there are also symbols of Gdansk - Long Street, Neptune, the Artus Court or the famous Crane. Museum of the Second World War, the European Solidarity Center and Maritime Museum are also within walking distance. This is the highest hotel building in Gdansk. It has 281 comfortable rooms with breathtaking views, the new widescreen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Winestone - hotel's restaurant - offers a variety of European cuisine served in a unique way - on black stone slabs - and a wide selection of fine wines from all over the world - including Poland. You can taste them in our restaurant and buy in our wine store for later or as a souvenir. A buffet breakfast is served from 6:30 to 10:30, and on weekends from 6:30 to 11:00. Meals can also be ordered to your room. The hotel has 10 air-conditioned and modernly fitted conference rooms with sizes from 19 to 198 square meters. You will find our well-equipped fitness center on the first floor. Also enjoy the Balinese massage (upon reservation). The hotel car park can accommodate 40 cars. The distance from the airport is 15 km, and the hotel can arrange for transportation there and back by bus (paid service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Gdansk Hevelius Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Hevelius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing