We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel near the old city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good hotel near the old city”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Extremely well located in the city centre, also perfect for shopping. Clean and modern lovely hotel, best I have stayed in so far in Gdansk. Three minutes to walk to airport bus (210) stop. The buffet breakfast is fantastic, but pricey if not included in room rate. I definetly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaborIstvanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    538
    95
    23
    10
See reviews for
85
427
105
274
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
169 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in January. The hotel is well appointed, has a fantastic location ( 10 minutes walk to the old town) and has very professional, courteous and helpful staff.

Rooms are of a decent size; the bathroom was modern and had amenities including toiletries, fresh towels each day and was kept extremely clean.

We also enjoyed drinks in the hotel bar which has a warm and comfortable feel to it and again the staff here were very pleasant. The bar prices are also reasonable.

In particular, I would like to highlight the exceptional service I received from one of the trainees who was working on reception the day I arrived and took the time to check us in. She, like all the staff members, are an asset to the hotel, however considering her infancy in the role, I feel she deserves specific mention.

Highly recommended and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elninomagico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

I have just returned from my stay at the Mercure in Gdansk. I stayed here for a weekend break for three nights and was very impressed with the high standard of service that I recieved from the staff in the hotel. The staff were very professional and helpful. They catered to our every need; calling taxis, making restaurant reservations- they even printed out a map so we could find the restaurants.

The hotel has a very modern and chic bar on the ground floor of the hotel right next to the reception and the drinks are reasonably priced.

The rooms themselves are of an adequate size, spotlessly clean, and well facilitated. The beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are excellent.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in Gdansk, due to the pleasant staff, central location (ideal for discovering the old town) and amenities the hotel provides. I would undoubtedly return here, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calum_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel, which has been recently renovated. Rooms are ok size and decor is fresh and up-2-date. Central location,staff service very good. We used the conference facilities, which did not live up to expectations. It didn't seem like they are used to foreigners using these facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annans7Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located just a short walk away from the old town and there is a shopping centre across the road. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, the breakfast was ok but probably not worth the money that they charge if not included. Room was of a decent size, very clean with modern decor and a very good shower in the bathroom. Wizz airport transfer drop off point is outside the hotel which was very useful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acb1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Mercure is a very good and comfortable hotel very close to the old town. Within a walking distance from all of the major sights in the city, this hotel proves a perfect base for a city break. The rooms are comfortable, clean and surprisingly stylish or a Mercure! My only criticism would be the breakfast which is charged at £10 per head and really not worth that money given food in the city is very cheap and available...
There is a large shopping centre oppositte the hotel which we did not visit however, it looked pretty decent. We visited last week during very snowy cold conditions and everything worked like clockwork in the hotel and city alike. Would highly recommend Gdansk and the Mercure for a cheap and interesting city break!

Room Tip: High rooms facing the old town are very peaceful and have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2012

When visiting Gdansk, Mercure is The Place to stay! The location is perfect, staff is very helpful, rooms are great... Everything works! The OLd Town is near, shopping couldn't be easier - nearest shopping center is located opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puolanmatkaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
1,501 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#17 of 84 in Gdansk
728 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#6 of 84 in Gdansk
610 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wolne Miasto Hotel- Old Town Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto

Property: Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
Address: ul. Jana Heweliusza 22, Gdansk 80-890, Poland (Formerly Mercure Hevelius)
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#7 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book your stay in the tallest hotel in Gdansk Mercure Gdańsk Old Town is located near Madison Mall with over 100 shops, 10 minutes walk from the largest brick building in Europe - St. Mary's Church and 10 minutes from the historical Gdańsk Shipyard area. You can get from Gdańsk Główny railway station our lobby in 5 minutes. Nearby there are also symbols of Gdansk - Long Street, Neptune, the Artus Court or the famous Crane. Museum of the Second World War, the European Solidarity Center and Maritime Museum are also within walking distance. This is the highest hotel building in Gdansk. It has 281 comfortable rooms with breathtaking views, the new widescreen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Winestone - hotel's restaurant - offers a variety of European cuisine served in a unique way - on black stone slabs - and a wide selection of fine wines from all over the world - including Poland. You can taste them in our restaurant and buy in our wine store for later or as a souvenir. A buffet breakfast is served from 6:30 to 10:30, and on weekends from 6:30 to 11:00. Meals can also be ordered to your room. The hotel has 10 air-conditioned and modernly fitted conference rooms with sizes from 19 to 198 square meters. You will find our well-equipped fitness center on the first floor. Also enjoy the Balinese massage (upon reservation). The hotel car park can accommodate 40 cars. The distance from the airport is 15 km, and the hotel can arrange for transportation there and back by bus (paid service). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Gdansk Hevelius Hotel Gdansk
Accor Gdansk Hevelius

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing