We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel suite at Scandic Gdansk does the job” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scandic Gdansk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Ranked #14 of 83 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
149 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A hotel suite at Scandic Gdansk does the job”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at the Scandic in Gdansk in conjunction with speaking at the CMO Congress in Gdansk.

Honestly, Scandic would not have been my first choice, but I was pleasantly surprised. Here is the lowdown;

Pros:
- I stayed in jr. Suite 303, and the room was just perfect
- Good location right across the main train station and a quick drive or walk to the Old City of Gdansk
- Service was good and efficient
- Free and fast internet connection throughout the property

Cons:
- it's not Hilton ;-)

I did not try the breakfast, nor did I eat at the restaurant, but I heard from others that it is decent.

Overall, I enjoyed my 3 nights there and will consider staying there upon my next visit to Gdansk.

Room Tip: Get a room on one of the top floors for a better view of Gdansk
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelleander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    186
    66
    7
    2
See reviews for
52
123
39
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
162 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Central location, basic but clean rooms, good breakfast, 15 minute walk from the old town, very comfortable overall. There are better choices in Gdansk in my opinion (Hilton, Radisson, Qubus to name a few) but in terms od value for money Scandic leads the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmsglc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Z, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear tmlgsc,

Thank youvery much for your review. I'm glad that you see some of our values, though it's hard to compete with 5* hotels that you mention. I'm sure, that your next visi to our hotel will be a much better experience.

If you have any further comments, please don;t hesitate to contact me at michal.ziegert@scandichotels.com

Best Regards,
Michal Ziegert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

As others have noted its more a 3 star, and it is fine! Formerly Holiday Inn and had a bit more of a presence but its the location for the main train station (just across the road) or a 1 night before getting the airport bus directly outside the hotel which makes it ideal.
Rooms are clean but basic: TV reception is poor with few English or international channels.Breakfast is of a 3 star...no fresh fruit (canned fruit only) usual cereals, some hot items and dried scrambled egg... could be so much better for the price....(walk round to the mall if you have time)
Staff are English speaking and helpful. There is a modern mall nearby, a movie house/theatre, 10 minutes to the old town on foot for plenty restaurants.
SO for location fine for 1 night, otherwise there are some really good hotels in the old town, including the modern Hilton which are for a special occasions.
Disappointing really...

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking room ( as some rooms still in Poland are smoking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wemyss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Z, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear wemyss1,

Thank you very much for your review, though it's not a nice one for us. I can assure you, that we're much much better than a 3* hotel, and last moth we've exchanged all our TV sets, that you noticed were pretty old.

Best Regards,
Michal Ziegert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Perfect for when you want to stay close to the shopping centres and train station. Good service and a nice breakfast. Free wifi for all three days we stayed there. We could have the room until 7pm for a small amount.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Z, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Johshh,

Thank you very much for your review!

I'm glad that you find our hotel a positive place to stay. I see that there were some cleaniness issues during your stay. I apologize for that in advance, but could you please let me know what hapenned that left us with only 3/5 mark in that?

And don't worry about our rooms interior, everything will start moving forward starting with TV's this year.

If you have any further comments you want to share please send me an email at:
michal.ziegert@scandichotels.com

Best regards,
Michal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay here. I have been to Gdansk many times before but have never stayed at the Scandic. I picked it because of its central location and the fact that it had a free cancellation option. I felt very relaxed from the moment I walked in the hotel as the young man on the check-in desk was very friendly and efficient. The room was spotless and had good facilities such as kettle and mini bar, ironing bard and iron, hairdryer etc. The bed was super comfy. I had a drink in the bar and felt at ease. I believe the restaurant is very good but I did not eat there. I felt that £10 per day for breakfast was a bit much and ate good breakfasts at a local bakery. I would definitely stay there again as it was a busy place but had no noise in the corridors at night and it was possible to have a very good sleep there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Z, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Zuzka,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad that you are satisfied with this stay, especially if you see my front office so efficient.

I hope you will visit us again, and if so I will be happy to meet you personally, so you can share your opinion and maybe some ideas.

Best regards,

Michal Ziegert,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olofstrom, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

not much to complain about, nothing luxurious, looks like a 3 star hotel or less ( the inside of rooms) but was nice and not so expensive. we spend only 3-4 hours there asked for discount but didn't get any.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Z, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Al C,

Thank you very much for your review though it doesn't say much about us. I can only assure you, we're much much better than every 3* hotel you can find.

Best Regards,
Michal Ziegert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is located just across the main street from the railway station, very convenient since Bus 210 stops here on the way to and from the airport. This bus costs less than an Euro and the trip takes 40-50 minutes. When getting the hotel in view, don’t be scared of the old soviet style building: Inside it is a very well maintained, and as most hotels in Poland the accommodation price is acceptable, but the breakfast is more expensive than elsewhere in town. We stayed in a two rooms junior suite and found this very acceptable! We asked for a room “away from the elevator” and got it: Just look at the picture of the corridor.

Conclusion: If you look for a historic hotel, go somewhere else! But if you need a quality place to sleep and not more then 10-15 minutes’ walk to Old Town, this one is a good alternative

Room Tip: The suites are at the top floor. There is very little trafic around the hotel, especially on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halvor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M Z, Front Office Manager at Hotel Scandic Gdansk, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Senior Globetrotter,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad that you liked our hotel so much.

As you mentioned, the outside might not seem so spectacular, but it's the inside that really matters:) I've seen your pictures and have some news, we've recently exchanged all of our TV sets, so our rooms are even better now! We knew it before, but to make sure I've checked it again today, and our breakfast is one of the cheapest of all in 4 and 5 * hotels in Gdańsk (even though you can choose from over 100 products).

I hope to see you in our hotel again some time soon!

Best regards,
Michal Ziegert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.6 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#4 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#16 of 83 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#6 of 83 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scandic Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scandic Gdansk

Property: Hotel Scandic Gdansk
Address: ul. Podwale Grodzkie 9, Gdansk 80-895, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Gdansk
#8 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#11 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#12 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Scandic Gdansk 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic - hotel chain with almost 230 hotels in nine European countries; hotels for those, who make conscious choices, also while travelling. Our hotels are diverse, with individual style and character, having one in common: remarkable concern towards our guests to organize their perfect stay, business meeting or conference. Scandic Gdansk has 143 comfortable rooms with full air conditioning and the following equipment: free wired and wireless internet access, mini-bar, cable TV, Pay TV, safe and ironing set. Our restaurant, Senso Restaurant & Bar, is a perfect place for meetings with friends and acquaintances. We have a mediterranean cuisine with a wide range of dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Scandic Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Gdansk Hotel Gdansk
Holiday Inn Gdansk
Scandic Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing