We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to eat”
Review of Tawerna

Tawerna
Ranked #113 of 546 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The ,,Tawerna" Restaurant is situated in the center of the Old Town in Gdańsk ( on the Motlawa River) . It is a traditional meeting place of sailors , merchants and politicians . Our restaurant specializes in fish dishes . We also organize banquets and parties on special occasions .
Memphis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place to eat”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

one of the best restaurans in Gdansk.Very highly recomended!Superb service and food.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EllaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    64
    31
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oberursel (Taunus), Germany
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not cheap, but excellent quality”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

4 people all chose different dishes off the menu and all were very pleased with what they got.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Decent food, but very over-priced, without the excellent service that should go with prices like this. Go to Restaurant Gdansk instead.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Love this resturant”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I've eaten here many times when travelling here on business, on my own and with colleagues or customers, and enjoyed everything I've tried. Not pretentious, large portions, and service is good. The staff are helpful and speak good English, the location is good and I like the atmosphere & traditional decor. Advertises itself as a seafood restaurant, but has a wide range of non-seafood items (I'm allergic to seafood, but have no problem coming here). Would recommend to anyone.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellersTale001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“Old traditional Gdansk restaurant.”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I visited this restaurant 4 years ago and it was really dissapointment: everage food but very expensive. Last time I was there in July 2011 and it was completly different. Excellent food, acceptable prices, proffesional service. Really recommending.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tawerna also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Tawerna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing