We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to Be Missed in Gdansk”

Restauracja Targ Rybny
Ranked #24 of 530 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $82
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Linlithgow, West Lothian, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not to Be Missed in Gdansk”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I had lunch here and was bowled over by the quality of the fish. The inside of the restaurant is beautifully presented and the service was spot on. Do not miss this place if you like fresh fish cooked just right.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank euanpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    264
    90
    39
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fish Market/ Targ Rybny”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Gamster and I visited Restauracja Targ Rybny for an evening meal. It was Gamsters choice as she is a big fan of the sea food.
The restaurant has a nice family kind of feel about it. The staff are friendly and help to create this atmosphere.
The lobster soup starter in my opinion is the way to start, really good!
Gamster had decided we were going to share a platter for our main course. It was huge! 6 or 7 different fish, could of probably fed a small village. Really nice though and we both thoroughly enjoyed it.
I could imagine this place (tee hee) also being a good environment for a group of people to go for a meal and a few drinks.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sircarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield/ Leeds, UK
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good fish restaurant”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Pretty much what you'd expect from a restaurant called Fishmarkt, both in terms of decor and food. Clearly catered to tourists, but it does serve a good selection of fish dishes. My girlfriend and I both had the cod, which we enjoyed, although it had more of a Mediterranean than Baltic feel. Surely as good a place as any to eat fish in Gdansk.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rm321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good seafood”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

First of all,the location is superb,try to get a table on the veranda as you can enjoy the views of the sea from there,the food my wife and i found equally excellent,go for the lobster soup if you can,it was utterly outstanding,the only thing we didn t like very much was the service,cold and far too professional,It nevertheless is a great place to eat while in Gdansk

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacekb519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good but not faboulus”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I came here encouraged by very good reviews. This is a good restaurant, but in my opinion it's not great or very special.
This is a sea food restaurant and I was quite disappointed with choice of the fresh fishes. There were maybe 2 or 3 kinds, and the rest was frozen.
The lobster cream-soup was OK, but there is nothing to be excited about.
Fish (don't remember what kind was that) with ratatouille was tasty, but again not very impressing. Green, spinach noodles not worth clogging stomach.
White, house wine should be better in the fish restaurant, but was quite OK.
Maybe I just had a bad luck, but there was nothing there, what I would hold in memory for more than a moment, and from 5 stars restaurant I expect to be able to recall the pleasure of eating for a long time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wojtek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Targ Rybny also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Targ Rybny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing