We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant”

Restauracja Targ Rybny
Ranked #24 of 497 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $80
Cuisines: Polish, Seafood, European, Soups, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Was the most expensive meal of our time in Gdansk but compared to home so reasonable! Only disappointment was that the fishcakes were off the menu. Lovey food, friendly service, welcoming place to sit and eat. Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    254
    88
    38
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“eating at Targ Rybny fishmarkt”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

delicious appetizer and main dishes based on fish with very high quality food. Lovely atmosphere, quiet and romantic environment, food service, friendly staff and especially good price!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank marco m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good seafood...but we waited too much time”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I booked a big table for 13 Italian friends and we had a very good sea food (i suggest soup of the day and lobster soup) but we waited like 2 hours for our main dish (i had cod with vegetables). The restaurant looks nice, clean and waiters are very kind. The only thing i don't like is the toilet which is just very close to the kitchen. We spent 100Zl each for a soup, a main dish, water, one glass of wine each, and 1 espresso. Cheaper than in Italy but expensive to be in Gdansk.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SiM0StOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“great seafood”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

One of a few places in Gdansk where they know how to prepare seafood. Menu in my opinion lacks local, Polish traditional recipies and is to too international. It is designed to cater to tastes of international, mostly Scandinavian crowd visiting the place but a local, Baltic touch could be more appreciated.
Apetizers as well as main dishes I tried were great staff. Be careful though as the place is expensive and portions skimpy. In the night of my visit it was very busy, reservation is recommended. Service is slow and the staff seems not particularly welcoming to guests.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skoczmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good seafood, some hit and miss so choose carefully.”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Was here last night with rhe wife, atmosphere was great - relaxes and not to formal or stuffy. Had the seafood soup which was great, so good to see large pawns again after years in England. Oysters were good, crab cakes were amazing! Mains writing had the Talbot - really good but expensive, and the cod with noodles special. Cod was average, but very large portions, highlights was the noodle - wouldn't recommend it. Tart for dessert was ok, was probably too stuffed by then to enjoy it. Looked around at others eating and would warn that the seafood plate for 2 is mainly lightly fried fish, looked good but was huge. Prawn starter looked amazing. Would try the pike-perch next time and the lobster looked really good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrbernz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restauracja Targ Rybny also viewed

Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to Restauracja Targ Rybny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing