We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located but hotel staff is not professionnal”
Review of Hilton Gdansk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Gdansk
Ranked #4 of 84 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located but hotel staff is not professionnal”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

If the maids would knock on the door before entering the room in the early morning, and if there would not be any hair left in the bath tube, and if the bar staff would do their work instead of chitchatting among them during peak time (sorry, 1 was really working, the 2 others were nonexistent, despite being physically there), this hotel would desserve a real 5 stars ranking. Beside this, the room I was given was excellent, facing the port, with a small balcony overseeing the promenade. Fairly large by any standard. The hotel looks brand new, there´s a swimming pool on the top floor, and a tiny gym (veryyyyy small one) The 5 stars are not so much about the venue and its equipment, but so much more about the quality of the service provided. This component is largely missing here, outside the ground floor (Far from the eyes of the general management ?) Make sure to train your staff adequately, like your reception people who are simply amazing professional. To bad this stops once you leave the ground floor and the lobby...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Gal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grzegorz G, Kierownik at Hilton Gdansk, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at Hilton Gdańsk hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including places of improvements.

I'm sorry to hear about your experience with the level of service provided in the bar and by houskeping staff. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay because of the excellent room facing the river and professional service delivered by front office team.

We would very much appreciate if you would give us the opportunity to welcoming you again in the future in order to prove to you that we are not only willing but able to provide top class guest service in all areas.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Gdansk and hope that Hilton will remain your hotel of choice.

Kindest regards,

Grzegorz Główczewski
Front of House Manager
Hilton Gdańsk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    444
    100
    31
    12
See reviews for
264
602
72
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

A brand new hotel wonderfully located on the banks of the river in the old Town. I was in a room facing the river fairly large with a small balcony on the water front. the bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom was modern and big, to bad some hairs were Left in the tube... On the 5th floor theres a nice pool and spa. the gym is really small, dont expect to do yr daily PX there. on the top terrace you ll find a bar with an amazing view and a semi professionnal service, where waiters make you wait while they chat with each other. other than that the reception team is highly professional and deal with any task in a blink.The hotel would be perfect if the service would improve. PS: why the maids cant knock before entering the room ? Local personnal urgently needs training!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFM9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Bath, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My family and I stayed in a "deluxe" room which had a sofa bed and beautiful views over Gdansk. We all enjoyed our stay particularly as we had full access to the hotel's top roof swimming pool, steam room, sauna and sports room. We unintentionally shared the hotel with Poland's national football team which was a bonus!

The hotel was beautifully decorated, furnished and food the selection exceeded our expectations of the Hilton brand. The staff was professional, polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Take care when opening the main door into the swimming pool, as during our stay it did come off its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a great hotel, if a bit expensive. Bedroom was spacious and bed comfortable. It is right beside the sea and has a lovely bar area outside where one can enjoy a glass of wine. The wine was expensive by the glass so I recommend that the hotel gets some cheaper bottles. Breakfast was excellent with great variety. Staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Borås
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed in a delux room which has the benefit of a sofabed for our 3 yr old as well as enough space for a cot for our 1 yr old. The hotel desin and facilities were excellent as was location, food quality and drink selection. The service could however have been better. All staf were polite, friendly and professional, but there wasn't that little bit extra that you would expect with the price tag. Eg at breakfast the coffee was terrible, but we asked for proper coffee and they brought it without problems.for over €300 per night they could offer without the customer having to ask. We parked out front and had to run in to get a bellboy, this with 2 sceaming kids after a 4hr drive. Perhaps they could put up a camera or something. We asked a few questions about the town, tours etc and the concierge, who looked about 17, really had no idea. The answer to most questions was 'i don't know. The rooftop has a nice pool and a great bar where you can order from several different menus, including a well compiled kids menu. All in all a great hotel that could easily be made better with a few minor changes in staff proceedures.

Room Tip: It's worth paying for canal view as the alternative isn't good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location ,close to all everything , didn't have water front room had room 506 was bigger corner room with spiral staircase in ,little room at top with comfy chair to look out over city brill !! Stayed while fair was on would love to back when not as busy would defiantly use this hotel again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sheena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Tipperary, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

really happy with my choice of hotel in gdansk. the hilton has a very good gym does really good breakfast and is very well placed virtually next to where the boat goes to hel. my room was typical hilton - clean tidy and comprising of everything a traveller needs. I liked the pool area which was very relaxing and the views from outside here are stunning. gdansk is a lovely place and the hilton blends in very well here. Friendly staff too. will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munster4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#5 of 84 in Gdansk
631 reviews
0.1 mi away
Q Hotel Grand Cru
Q Hotel Grand Cru
#13 of 84 in Gdansk
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
#11 of 84 in Gdansk
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.4 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Gdansk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Gdansk

Property: Hilton Gdansk
Address: Targ Rybny 1, Gdansk 80-838, Poland
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Gdansk
#2 Family Hotel in Gdansk
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gdansk
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Gdansk 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Gdansk introduces cutting-edge facilities in the city.This stunning new build hotel will offer the largest meetings, incentives, conferences and exhibitions facilities in the centre of Gdansk. Designed to compliment the historic architecture of Poland’s principal seaport, Hilton Gdansk occupies a prime city centre site on the bank of the River Motlawa. In the heart of Old Town, the hotel is close to many businesses and tourist sites including Mariacka Street, St. Mary’s Church and the European Solidarity Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Gdansk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Gdansk Hotel Gdansk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing