We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hostel with character”
Review of Hostel Zappio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostel Zappio
Ranked #8 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I enjoyed my brief stay here. The hostel location is within walking distance of the Old Town, and right next to the Motlawa river. There is an underground bar with a patio upstairs and a childrens play area, so the hostel is family friendly. The staff were helpful. It took me a while to find my room, numbered 77, as it was randomly placed on the 2nd or 3rd floor (can't remember which one) with no similar number anywhere near! The room was basic, but what you would expect for less than £20 a night. It's a lively place at night, so if you can sleep throught the noise then it's worth staying here. Gdansk is a nice place to visit for a few days, with a beautiful old town.

Room Tip: Stay here if you're not looking to sleep much, or if your eyes aren't too sensitive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 114 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2011

Location is fantastic - not that far from the train station, and only a few streets over from the Old Town and most of the sites. Piece of advice though, make sure you really write down directions and/or have a map to find the place, because it is a little tucked away when you don't know the area.

Staff were super friendly and helpful.

Rooms were nothing special, but they did the trick. I heard in the dorms noise was an issue, but I was in a private room and had no problems. If you have a suitcase, be aware there are a kajillion stairs if you're in the private rooms. I had a backpack so it wasn't bad, but with a 20kg suitcase I might have fallen over haha.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street and pub noise, but then be aware you'll have to climb the stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jewels89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here - I shared a triple room with 2 friends which was basic but exactly what you would expect for £15 a night. The location was fantastic, walking distance to all the sights and bars / restaurants. The staff were fantastic and couldn't have been more helpful - the bar is a really nice addition too. Would not hesitate to stay here again if I return to gdansk.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ox27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I looked at several of the hostels in Gdansk before choosing this one. I am very happy with my choice. The location really can't be beat. The hostel is a 30 second walk from the waterfront and less than 10 minutes from Ulica Dluga and maybe 15 from the train station. Great if you're one of those people who likes to come and go during the day. The hostel is in an old building, so expect lived in, not shiny and new.

The staff was friendly and the hostel is well taken care of and cleaned. The dorm beds could have been better - I could feel the planks of wood underneath. Didn’t visit the downstairs bar but it’s an option if you don’t want to venture out for drinks.

No free breakfast but given the cheap Polish food and baked goods options nearby, it’s easy to fend for yourself. And there is a well equipped kitchen if you want to cook. I tried the restaurant next door – didn’t love it.

Only real issue worth mentioning is that if you’re staying in one of the two dorm rooms, expect a lot of noise. One dorm room is right across from the entrance and above the bar. The other one is next to the computer area, lounge and kitchen. Also, both of these rooms are rarely locked. There are no in-room lockers but I saw lockers down the hall. For peace and quiet, get a quad, triple, double or single - those are on the higher floors which are much more peaceful.

I would happily stay here again if I return to Gdansk, just in a quieter room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieGirl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed here for 3 nights and found the hostel to be exactly what we were after which was a cheap place to stay that was close to the main attractions. We stayed on the 4th floor which was really quiet and only the birds in the morning woke us up :) We had a room with an en-suite and 3 single beds so just pushed together two of the beds to make a double. The location is perfect, a stone throw away from the water front and it's many restaurants and bars. Also only a 5 minute walk to St Mary's Church and Dluga St, the main street. Staff were very friendly and organised a transfer from the airport to the hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJamesC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

No problem with the hostel and its staff. The location is central to the Old Town, next to the river and less than 10 mins from the Royal Way.

The only problem was sleep on a Saturday night. The nearby pub was somewhat noisy. The beds were not great either.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirminghamJollyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ольга Д
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.1 mi away
Celestin Residence
Celestin Residence
#2 of 85 in Gdansk
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Happy Seven de'luxe
Happy Seven de'luxe
#8 of 99 in Gdansk
45 reviews
0.3 mi away
Midtown Hostel
Midtown Hostel
#3 of 223 in Gdansk
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel 22
Hostel 22
#7 of 223 in Gdansk
78 reviews
0.4 mi away
Moon Hostel
Moon Hostel
#2 of 99 in Gdansk
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
5 Point Hostel
5 Point Hostel
#10 of 223 in Gdansk
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Zappio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Zappio

Address: Swietojanska 49, Gdansk 80-840, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 223 Specialty Lodging in Gdansk
Price Range: $34 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel Zappio 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostel Zappio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing