We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is great place to have a tasty caffee and very original dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of mon balzac

mon balzac
Ranked #24 of 489 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is great place to have a tasty caffee and very original dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is one of my favourite places in Old Town, in Gdańsk. This place has specific flavour - very nice art decor and modern equipment in the same time. You can always feel here more than welcome. The staff is very gentle and helpfull. Dishes are tasty, nice served and price available, not only for foreigners. You can rely on the menu, all positions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason_Gdansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    180
    53
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Turku
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Tasty chicken and great meat fondye in central location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Coq au vin was very crispy from outside and tender/tasty from inside served with good potato sliced and cooked carrot.
Meat fondy with meatstock was good with plenty of meat (chicken, pork and beef), those are unprecooked so remember cook troughtly chicken and pork with every vedge they have touched! There was plenty of fresh bread and good tapenade (sunfryed-tomatos and olive versions).
The athmosphere was odd, because place was in old building but furnitures were from 1960's or 1990's and art in the walls was not in balance with walls age, feeling more like cheap pub than hotel Arthur's restaurant....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We got late lunch there, the waitress was very attend, food was excellent. Atmosphere in the restaurant was nice, interiour is pleasant. I reccomend this restaurant to everyone visiting Gdansk!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Serass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turku
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor service and double charged”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Dined twice in the restaurant as it is attached.evening meal was fine but expensive compared with other local places of similar or higher standard food and service. Ordered a pre meal martini at the cocktail bar and was served a vermouth in an classic martini glass floating with ice. After a quick taste I asked the barman why my drink had no gin ? Aparently all over the world a martini has no gin anyway he decided to prove me wrong by looking on the smart phone. Some silence and then a real martini arrived. A little wet but ok for a first-time I expect. At breakfast I ordered from menu and paid in restaurant. Was also charged for the hotel buffet breakfast which had looked so grim I ordered from the menu. On check out despite providing then receipt for my breakfast I was informed I had eaten the buffet which I had not and was charged for this. As I was leaving for the airport and the clock was ticking I paid. Only small amount relatively but left feeling gouged and would not use again even if staying in the Argus hotel. Poor value and many better places withing a minutes walk.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank harrydog2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

During our stay in Gdansk we visited Mon Balzac a couple times. On both occasions we did enjoy food!! Specially the chicken steak with creamy gorgonzola sauce - delicious!! Not overpriced. Place with great decor and pleasant atmosphere, but unfortunately the service was poor. When you sit over your empty plates for 10 min and 3 members of staff are having "chit chat" at bar without noticing a few trays with drinks ready to be served to the tables - there is something wrong there. Maybe lack of supervision?? If you are not in a hurry great place to eat!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mon balzac also viewed

 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to mon balzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing