We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Time”
Review of mon balzac

mon balzac
Ranked #26 of 530 Restaurants in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Gdynia, Gdansk, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Time”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I’ve had quite good time there. Food was good quality and nicely served. Dishes are simple as I like (with some traditional Polish touch) and quite tasty.
Service is English speaking, efficient and nice.
Quite interesting variety of local beers (Amber Bravery)

!Service shall pay bit more attention on interrupting bagging peoples

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peacemaker1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    190
    56
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Everything is good about this place, the food, wine and surroundings!T he staff very friendly, and spoke good english. Will go there again!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ellviss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“You will be disappointed - TA ratings must be old”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We went there especially for breakfast based on the great TripAdvisor ratings of the place.
When entering mon balzac we weren't sure this was the actual place because of dusty decorations and really old and worn couches (with a LOT of stains on them).
We chose the largest breakfast for 2 and then spent the next few minutes discussing what was included in this menu item because the waitress had no idea about coffee/tea/juice options even though everything was there in their menu.
Then we waited 25 minutes for the breakfast to be delivered even though only 20% of tables were occupied (and most guest came just for coffee) so the kitchen was obviously not busy.
The breakfast itself wasn't bad, but for some reason some items were missing despite being in the menu (e.g. ham). The bread was really fresh and tasty but no butter was given - it has to be ordered separately :-)

Anyway - for a restaurant rated no.4 in Gdansk this was disappointing.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Premolicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First impression doesnt say all”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Service was poor and indifferent, although the sandwich with salmon had no salmon. After mentioning this, the plate was taken away and the same sandwich was brought back untouched. I would not recommend this.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hansvantoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samarkand, Uzbekistan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good restaurant”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stay in Gdansk just two days, but when we try the first time this restaurant we have to return! We tried the mussels!!! Very good!!! At night they have live music, with a great piano player, we really enjoy our stay in your restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MexicanFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mon balzac also viewed

 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 
Gdansk, Pomerania Province
 

Been to mon balzac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing