We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value Accomodation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Old Town Hostel
Ranked #32 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Gdansk
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Value Accomodation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Decided to visit Gdansk on my stag do at the end of March and after getting a cheap deal on the flights we decided that as we were not expecting to spend much time in the accomodation we would look to get somewhere cheap just to get our heads down. This hostel ticked all the right boxes and we were not disappointed!!!
Rather than try and make our own way to the hostel from the airport we got a taxi which was 60 Polish Zlotes (approx £12). Check in was quick and efficient with the reception staff speaking really good english.

We were charged a deposit of 10 zlotes for each room key and set off to explore the bars and "delights" that Gdansk had to offer. The reception staff were really helpful in pointing us in the right direction for the main bars.

Had no problems upon returning to the hostel late at night and as others have previously put, the area is safe although you maybe wouldn`t think this upon arrival due to the look of the hostel and surrounding area.

Drinks and food were exceptionally cheap, and we were paying approx £1 - £1.40 a pint in most places - obviously the prices did incrase the nearer to the old town you got.

As there were 12 of us on our trip, we shared 2 dorms on the lower floor in the hostel and we were vey close to the small kitchen where breakfast is left available to guests. This was sufficient to start the day on with it mainly being a continental style selection of bread, cold meats, cheese, boiled eggs, jams etc

Opposite the kitchen area were several toilets/shower rooms and we never had any problems in using these.

Our rooms consited of 3 bunk beds which were more than adequate for getting a few hours sleep before we were up and hitting the bars again the next day.

All in all a good place to stay on a budget as the old town was only 10 minutes walk away and shops and tram stops ver close nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank igg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
13
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

Don't be afraid when you see the outside of the hostel...we almost walked away but we're SURE glad we didn't! It looks like an abandon building from the front that's graffitied with the word 'hostel' but once you get inside it's really nice. Showers are coed, but of course there's curtains. There's breakfest in the morning, slim pickings if you wake up too late. Free internet, and 'quiet time' that I wish was enforced on our second night...but they all went to bed by midnight so it was ok. Everything is ridiculously clean and the bunk beds in our 4 bed dorm were wonderfully comfy! Only problem was that it wasn't actually in old town, but past it....so it was a bit of a walk from the train station. Not a huge problem for us fortunately, I'd recommend it, as long as you're not put off by the area and the outside of the building :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank XxSerenityxX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

really nice dormitory, very clean and cheap. people at the reception are nice and you can watch tv and use a fridge and a microwave in the kitchen

Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank miljacka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2009

As everyone before us has said, this hostel is just great! In a funny looking location but the neighbourhood's very safe. Would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BenJ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabrueck
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

I spent 5 nights at the Old Town Hostel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The hostel is clean. Really good bathrooms. Free bathroom towel (they changed it without asking during my stay there :-) ). The breakfast huge choice for a backpacker. Mattres is not the best. The rooms are big and I could get a locker on the reception. 1 min walk away from Tram (13&8) and 10 minutes walk to town. 5min walk to the next normal supermarket and ATM. Internet for free.
During this time, I had a feeling that I was save in this hostel. Didn't get a key for the front door. In the evening and night, you have to ring the bell.
Don't go to "Plaza Stogi" Beach. Lifeguard Adrian protect local thieves "That's Poland". There are enough other beaches around Gdansk.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Candle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2009

Spent 2 nights at the Old Town Hostel in March with a friend. Paid 40 zloty (or around €9) per bed per night.
The location is not ideal. It is about 25 minutes walk from the Gdansk Glowny train station, so if you've good heavy bags, it might be a good idea to take a taxi.
Since it was off season, we were given a quad all to ourselves. The room was very basic (Ikea furniture and beddings) but clean.
Bathrooms were clean. The 2 guys who worked there both spoke good English. There was a computer at the entrance for use by guests.
Breakfast was good: it included continental fare plus boiled eggs and tomatoes. The kitchen was clean, but there was not much seating space (this could be a problem when the hostel is full)
Overall, this hotel offers excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Focus Gdansk
#49 of 83 in Gdansk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Guitarra Hostel Gdansk
0.8 mi away
Midtown Hostel
Midtown Hostel
#2 of 183 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hostel Zappio
Hostel Zappio
#5 of 183 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.8 mi away
World Hostel
World Hostel
#11 of 183 in Gdansk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostel Cycle On
Hostel Cycle On
#58 of 183 in Gdansk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Hostel

Property: Old Town Hostel
Address: ul. Dluga Grobla 7, Gdansk 80-754, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 183 Specialty Lodging in Gdansk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our spacious and clean hostel guarantee you comfortable accommodation during your stay in Gdansk. Just 20 minutes walk from the train station. We offer double rooms and dorms for six and eight persons. Very good facilities. Breakfast included. Clean and friendly place to stay. Most of city highlights are within walking distance from the hostel. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing