We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gdansk Boutique
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fantastic service, lovely room and good location for old town Gdansk. The breakfast was lovely with a lot to choose from. We enjoyed the nice beer and the friendly staff. Stayed on the 6th floor, had to carry luggage from 4th floor, but it was worth it when we saw the nice view.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the higher floors with a nice view and got 601 and this was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 550 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked a two night stay at Hotel Gdansk in mid-August 2013. I chose the hotel based on positive Tripadvisor reviews and based on a good review in my guidebook. My booking was made on Expedia and was prepaid at the time of booking.

I arrived at the hotel around 5pm, and upon checking in was told that the room I had booked was "destroyed" and therefore I had to stay at another hotel that night. Then, the next night there would be a room available and I would have to come back. I said that this was unacceptable as it is inconvenient to switch hotels every night. The hotel basically said that all hotels were full and that since I had prepaid, this was my only option. I then proceeded to drag my luggage across town through a busy street carnival and arrived at Hotel Hansa approximately 10 minutes later. I should add that this was after an attempted rip-off by the taxi from the airport, so I was really not in the mood to deal with this. The next day I returned to the hotel around 6pm and checked into my room for the last night in town.

Hotels overbook all the time and I am generally understanding in these types of situations, assuming the hotel "makes it right". In this case, the hotel did not make it right in my opinion. Here's why:
- not once did the hotel staff apologize for the mishap; rather, it was a typical Polish "take-it or leave-it, you've already paid and you're not getting a refund" attitude
- I do not appreciate being LIED to with nonsense about the room being destroyed. Be honest and forthcoming. This is the oldest lie in the book.
- When coming back to the hotel for the second night, there was no apology for the inconvenience, no gesture to express an apology, no communication from the manager, etc. Simply, "here's your key, checkout at noon".

The hotel stay was okay in and of itself, although the Hotel Hansa where I was sent the first night was actually quite better. But to be honest, after being lied to and treated poorly, the rest of the stay didn't matter. Don't waste your time or money with this hotel ... there are plenty of other options in Gdansk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cougrz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I spend one night at the hotel in early August having booked it via popular travel site at discounted yet still steep rate of approx. EUR 100. Upon arrival we were impressed by the quality of restoration of this graded building. We were provided with a room on a third floor overlooking Gdansk Marina. The furnishing is of good quality and our bathroom had a window in the wall adjacement to the room, which when opened allowed for looking directly onto Marina. Pretty cool.

The location is indeed perfect- some 5 minutes walk or 10 sec ferry ride from a stop situated some 300 m from hotel entrance. There is plenty of parking places in the vicinity of the hotel which was quite convenient and we did enjoyed our day out. Once we got back we also had a meal at the hotel restaurant (apparently named best restaurant of Gdansk in 2012). While the beer and lagers brewed there were indeed fine food was rather neutral in taste at best.

Overlooking Marina has its drawback as we have learned as soon as we got back. Namely this means Western exposure and heating up the room (despite small windows) in the afternoon. This would have not been a problem in all seasons except summer or at least in non-sunny days. Given that at the time of our stay outside temperatures reached 35-36 C our room temperature must have been around 28-29C at night. It is then that I realised that our room (4* hotel!) didn't have airconditioning- apparently as result of graded building resoration conditions impossed by town officials. Instead we were provided with one (rather small) fan which didn't make any difference. We called up the reception desk to request at least another fan. 15 minutes later when it didn't arrive we called again only to learn that there weren't any and there was nothing they could do about this. Not exactly a reaction I would expect from 4* establishment- and it this case it wasn't even you get what you pay for...

As hotel was fully booked (or because we booked at discounted rate...) there was no option for switching rooms. On top of that cute marina view meant also a lot of street noise that would prevent us from sleeping anyway. Somehow we managed to get through that night but I was really annoyed as in my view lack of airconditioning should be clearly marked as it is not a luxury but standard across European hotels nowadays. Apparently the other building (overlooking back wall of the restored part) does have airconditioning. If you decide to stay at this property make sure to book air-conditioned room. Otherwise think twice if you plan to stay there in the summer.

The ending note of breakfast was adequate however I have to note that staff was rather busy with their routines than looking forward to assist guests with their breakfast needs. To be fair given that it was typical buffet style this was not a major inconvenience. I wouldn't say that this was a rip-off given quality of restoration and location however I am pretty sure I won't be going back nor will I recommend it to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you book airconditioned room. Or don't stay there in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musique_2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you want a hotel in the centre of Gdansk then look no further. I stayed in room 302 which was a good size single room and furnished to the highest standards. The shower was amazing! I cannot fault the cleanliness of the hotel and the beautiful location!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel had very nice spacious rooms (double room) with large bathrooms and a view over looking the marina. It was only a five minute walk to the old town area. The added bonus was the restaurant attached to the hotel. The food was very good and the beer they brew was great! You could sit outside on the patio with a nice quiet view of the marina. The staff was helpful and arranged a flat rate taxi for me to visit Sopot. Highly recommended for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianReesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The hotel is in really good place, and accommodation in general is really good, breakfast also, really convenient that they also have really good food and beer in brewery ;) but they do not have air conditioning in the room, was no air inside, so we opened windows for the whole night and everything would be more or less good, just around 6.30 - 7.00 a.m. on Saturday started really big noises from the constructions against our room. So if you come to Gdansk to rest, have some drink and sleep a lot (like we wanted), ask for different room.

Room Tip: I think the constructions will be two more months or even more - so if you want to get a good sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Egle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in an old granary (with a view of the canal and marina from our room.) We chose to upgrade to a large room with kitchen facilities on the top floor, and it was a good choice. There was no AC, but a fan was available (not needed while we there there.) The bathroom was large and had a tub and nice toiletries. Breakfasts were superb, with a variety of meat and fish dishes, salads, cheeses, homemade yogurt, breads, sausages, and a coffee machine for cappuccino/espresso, etc. The people at the desk spoke English and were very helpful, arranging a taxi for us to catch a 5 a.m. train, and packing a breakfast to go. It is a pleasant walk by the marina and across the bridge to the main part of Gdansk. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we enjoyed the beer (especially the wheat beer) at the brewery there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginiatravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#4 of 85 in Gdansk
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
0.2 mi away
Hanza Hotel
Hanza Hotel
#7 of 85 in Gdansk
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Podewils Hotel
Podewils Hotel
#1 of 85 in Gdansk
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
PURO Gdansk Stare Miasto
0.3 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#13 of 85 in Gdansk
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gdansk Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gdansk Boutique

Address: Szafarnia 9, Gdansk 80-755, Poland (Formerly Hotel Gdańsk Superior)
Phone Number:
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Gdansk
Price Range: $71 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Gdansk Boutique 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gdansk is the best boutique hotel in the Tricity and a true flagship hotel of Gdansk. Uniquely situated by the picturesque yacht marina, in the heart of the city, the hotel is often recognized as a special place in the city center.The hotel has two synergic components - a granary from the XVIIIth century, restored with great attention to detail, enchanting with its elegance and history, and the Yachting part, whose modern decorating themes infuse the interiors with a sea-inspired look. Thus, the fascinating history and traditions of the city of Gdansk are strongly present in the both parts of Hotel Gdansk.The Spa in Hotel Gdansk is one of the most modern and fashionable Spas at the Baltic coast, and one of the best Med Spas in Poland.Hotel Gdansk Restaurant is an unusual restaurant in a unique place. It serves exquisite dishes of Polish and Gdansk regional cuisine.The mini-brewery is a great addition to the boutique complex and a very interesing attraction for Hotel Gdansk guests, who may here try the best beer in Poland. Our Schwarzbier (dark beer) received this title during the prestigious beer contest in Zywiec 2011. There is always someting interesting happening in our brewery. At least 3 times a week you can enjoy live music. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gdansk Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing