We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, lovely setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensjonat Stara Wedzarnia
Ranked #2 of 98 Gdansk B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-May 2013. My husband and I had one room and my sister had another room, and both were great - roomy and comfortable. The setting is beautiful and even though it is a ways from town, it is easy to get to town by bus. You do not need to have a car. We took a taxi from the train station just because it was late and we were tired, but if you follow the directions on the website about catching a bus you will have no problem. There is a great little restaurant a short walk away, and the nature reserve is close by. You can also take a bus and hike to a different part of the nature reserve. The dining room is large and the breakfasts were outstanding. They also have tables set up outside, so one of the evenings we were there we just purchase a bottle of wine and some bread and meat and cheese, and sat outside. We had lovely warm weather while we were there! Natalia even loaned us a cork screw. This was one of the loveliest places we stayed during our trip to Europe, and I would definitely go back there! I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a vacation in the Gdansk area, even if you think you want to be closer to town!

Room Tip: I think they are probably all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 97 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a really cozy guesthouse. Its nice rooms seem to have been renovated a short time ago and their beds are particularly comfortable. It is also provided free wi-fi in the rooms and coffee/tea facilities in the corridor. Breakfast (included in room rate) is very tasteful and hearty. The hostess, Natalia, a good English speaker, is kind and helpful: she has always good tips on places to visit or to eat. The guesthouse is located in a quiet area in Sobieszewo Island, which means silent nights to sleep, but, on the other hand, it is a bit hard to reach if you don't have your own wheels. Anyway, in my opinion, despite the distance from Gdansk downtown, it is definately worth coming here. All in all, it is a very good value for money and an extremely welcoming place: a rewarding experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uprightM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Spent a total of four nights at Stara Wedzarnia in June/July 2012, and can report it to be an excellent place to stay. The rooms are three/four star, clean, spacious and with little touches. The view of an arm of the Vistula River is lovely and literally yards away (see photo).

Moreover, Natalia and the staff were so very, very helpful to me, non-Polish speaking American. I'd brought the wrong AC adapter...Natalia went to town and got me one. On a European bike tour, I had special requests, including the need for some tools when my bike pedals wouldn't come off. Staff was right there to provide them.

Service like this was common during my stay at Stara Wedzarnia, and the place more than deserves its high TripAdvisor Rating. Some may prefer or need to stay closer to Gdansk proper, but I found the quiet beauty of the location charming and calming (and still on a bus line to town).

Lastly, I can report the breakfast was perhaps the best I had in six weeks of Polish/German/Dutch breakfasts. Par for the course at what is a top-notch establishment.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frannyzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We really enjoined the Stara Wedzarnia. We stayed there for 3 nights. The rooms were clean and nice decorated. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast was very tasty with a lot of choices.. The owner Natalia was vey helpful with where to go, how to reach it, She recommended som nice restaurants. She was great. We will strongly recommend it if you are looking for a quiet place in nice sorroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnfiHemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We arrived quite late, yet the hosts were more than accommodating...We were greeted very kindly and settled into our room. The next morning, a tasty breakfast was provided and a meaningful conversation took place...giving the history of the Inn and the area...Stara Wenzarnia is peacefully located on an island...all of the inn feels "brand new" as it is so carefully kept. We wished we would have had more time to stay longer...but it will be a place to return to on another occasion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

An excellent place to unwind and explore some beautiful beaches, yet close to bustling Gdansk. The refurbished building has been completed to a high standard and all fittings are modern and bright, The whole buliding looks and feels good. Friendly staff with lots of advice on sightseeing, eating and travel options. Breakfast is good and plentiful. Scrambled eggs and smoked salmon are a speciality!! It is a pity that they do not offer any meals in the evening!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesaugust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I can agree with all the comments others have said about this hotel. Helpfulness of owners, clean rooms, nice views, good breakfast etc. I would also add a safe garden for kids to play in.
Few practical tips: A little ferry directly to Gdansk center leaves a few hundred meters from this hotel. There is also a great beach app. 1km from the hotel.

Room Tip: We had "apartment" which has two rooms. It has a nice a sea view from both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KalleGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gdansk hotels
5.8 mi away
Hilton Gdansk
Hilton Gdansk
#3 of 85 in Gdansk
1,614 reviews
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Gdansk
7.5 mi away
Villa Angela
Villa Angela
#42 of 85 in Gdansk
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bartan Gdansk Seaside
5.7 mi away
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
Novotel Gdansk Centrum
#18 of 85 in Gdansk
783 reviews
5.9 mi away
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
Qubus Hotel Gdansk
#12 of 85 in Gdansk
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensjonat Stara Wedzarnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensjonat Stara Wedzarnia

Address: ul. Nadwislanska 79 | Gdansk Sobieszewo, Gdansk 80-680, Poland
Location: Poland > Northern Poland > Pomerania Province > Gdansk
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Gdansk
Price Range: $37 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensjonat Stara Wedzarnia 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly, family run hotel in a newly renovated, historical building in Gdansk. Its ideal location offers both direct access to Gdańsk centre and opportunity to relax in the unique natural surroundings. It takes 15 minutes to reach Gdansk city centre by car. We offer spacious and comfortable rooms with Internet access, buffet breakfast and parking place. The hotel reception and dining room are housed in the carefully renovated interior of an old fish smokehouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Pensjonat Stara Wedzarnia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing