We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Ostrava Center
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ostrava
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is very nice, staff friendly and helpful. I liked the fitness and the comfortable bed. You feel like at home. The bar and dining area downstairs had an attractive modern style. After my stay, even only 1 day, I am motivated to prefer a stay in one of Mercure hotels when travelling. I can only recommend a stay at Mercure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Ostrava, General Manager at Mercure Ostrava Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post this positive comments regarding our hotel Mercure Ostrava Center. I will be sharing the comments with the team, and it will be a great motivation for us to carry on to provide comfortable and qualitative stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again. Vladimir Sic, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    137
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
61
32
288
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pilsen, Czech Republic
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Mercure is situadet in the city center. 5 minutes from the main street STODOLNI - street full of fun (clubs, pubs, restaurants and more... ) Interior of the hotel is beautiful and rooms as well .
staff are very nice and attentive. I think this is the best hotel we've ever been. I look forward to another visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jakub001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Ostrava, General Manager at Mercure Ostrava Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest, I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review on our hotel, we are all pleased at the Mercure Ostrava Center, that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel, and in Ostrava. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon. Vladimir Sic, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Mercure hotel is unexpectedly good. It is located in a renovated building in the middle of Ostrava with a small park in front of it. My room, while not luxurious, was very comfortable and a good size. The bar and dining area downstairs had an attractive modern style and was a pleasant place to drink or eat. The staff were helpful (despite initially being told on arrival at 4.30pm that my room was not yet available). I had previously stayed in the Imperial and Ostrava bt will in future be staying at the Mercure, which is a much better and more reliable choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Ostrava, General Manager at Mercure Ostrava Center, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest, I am glad that you have had an enjoyable stay here with us in Mercure Ostrava Center. We strive to always enhance the quality of service and guest satisfaction, I will pass on to the team your comments, and we hope to see you soon back in our hotel. Vladimir Sic, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place is really nice. I spent four weeks here between November and December this year, and I can say without a doubt that I'll be staying here again.
I've probably stayed at probably two dozen Mercure hotels, and this was one of the nicest. My bathroom was large, and the shower head (under which I probably spent 40 minutes a day) is SO nice. It was about a foot in diameter, and was like standing under steaming hot rain. My room was quiet, though my colleagues who stayed on the side of the hotel facing the main avenue said they had some street noise, but nothing too bad apparently.
Interestingly, my colleague who's from the neighborhood tells me that this building used to be the local communist party headquarters. There's still a plaque in the entryway dedicated to resistance fighters and party members who died fighting the Nazi occupation. I thought it was nice that the hotel left it up. Certainly they should be remembered.
There are plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, and plenty of places to have a beer. The hotel's restaurant is good, though I wish they'd serve more traditional Czech soups (which in general are awesome).
What else?
The internet service is free (do you hear that Mercure France and Germany?), and generally fast enough. I suppose that if you're downloading movies 24/7 it's going to be insufficient, but I had no problems.
Not to mention that a lot of restaurants in the area have free wifi, which is really nice.
I didn't try the gym or steam room, but my colleagues did, and they tell me it was quite good.
The parking was OK, but if there was a conference at the hotel, it got pretty full. I suppose that's my one complaint: the parking, during conferences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notparistexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Ostrava, General Manager at Mercure Ostrava Center, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest, We are delighted to note that we have met your expectations during your stay with us. At Mercure Ostrava Center we are committed to consistently providing warm, efficient and discrete service to our guests and their appreciation and acknowledgement is always our greatest reward. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to the hotel. Vladimir Sic, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed for just one night in November a really enjoyed the hotel. The property is new, clean and located conveniently close to the Stodolni street (the famous party street which is one of the biggest tourist attractions of Ostrava). The staff people were friendly and really helpful. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Ostrava, General Manager at Mercure Ostrava Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel Mercure Ostrava Center. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our staff and services. This is going to be shared with them to encourage their further progress. Vladimir Sic, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed three nights on a business trip.

The location is excellent: very close to the centre with Stodolní Street just 10 minutes away. There was a warm welcome at reception and aside from the fact the steam bath was out of action first impressions were positive. The room, like the public areas, was spotlessly clean. While wardrobe space was a touch limited almost everything else was fine. The set top box in my room was not working, but reception staff did ensure it that the TV was working properly by evening time on the first day. Four French-language channels immediately after Czech ones in the numbering of channels is bizarre in Ostrava. Surely the French owners could pay a little more attention to Central European priorities and put Polish, German or English language channels higher up the pecking order? Breakfasts were excellent, but for us the big disappointment was dinner. Salmon was served instead of the sea wolf ordered, fish of the day appeared to be meat in disguise, pork knuckle was nothing of the kind-small pieces of very dry pork with overly sour sauerkraut and very ordinary dumplings. Moravian wines and Czech beer were overpriced. The waiter forgot to return to take orders for dessert, even though the menu had been issued. Some will appreciate the presentation of the food, but if the restaurant goes for nouvelle cuisine type presentation with the usual postage stamp-sized portions at the very least it can deliver what is described on the menu.

Given such an approach It is inconceivable that the hotel can keep its TA ''Excellence'' rating in 2012. A pity, because there are many postives...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wulfrunian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure_Ostrava, General Manager at Mercure Ostrava Center, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post this your comments regarding our hotel Mercure Ostrava Center. I will be sharing the comments with the team, and it will be a great motivation for us to carry on to provide comfortable and qualitative stay. I am very sorry that you were not satisfied with your dinner at our reastaurant. Please be adviced that we are trying to provide the best service possible, but unfortunately some mistakes occasionaly happens. The satisfaction of our customers is the most important and we learnt from your comment. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly on H7051-GM@accor.com if you are planning to visit Ostrava City in the future.
Hope during your next visit we can prove our skills and provide you with better service and better quality on our F&B department.
Best regards, Vladimir Sic, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostrava hotels
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Ostrava Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#5 of 18 in Ostrava
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Imperial Hotel Ostrava
Imperial Hotel Ostrava
#3 of 18 in Ostrava
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brioni
Hotel Brioni
#9 of 18 in Ostrava
129 reviews
3.0 mi away
Clarion Congress Hotel Ostrava
3.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Vista
Best Western Hotel Vista
#7 of 18 in Ostrava
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ostrava Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ostrava Center

Property: Mercure Ostrava Center
Address: Ceskobratrska 18/1742, Ostrava 702 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Moravian-Silesian Region > Ostrava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Ostrava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Ostrava Center 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Ostrava Center is a brand new 4star hotel in the city center of Ostrava with 139 rooms, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, fitness area with a steam bath and excellent meeting facilities fully equipped with state of the art technology. Only 10 minutes from the Central railway station and within the walking distance to the cultural and commercial parts of the city as well as the famous and trendy Stodolni street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Ostrava Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing