We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of this and a bit of that.....”
Review of Zamek Zabreh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zamek Zabreh
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ostrava
Reviewed September 7, 2013

On a recent trip to relatives, my wife and I escaped the children to this establishment. i wanted something different and the beer spa and the fact its a "Zamek" or in English, a castle or chateau.
I wasnt expecting a huge stonewalled building on the top of a hill, which islucky because the suburbs have certainly covered all the land around thsi place! I imagine when it was built it was in the middle of nowhere. Now its an island in a sea of panelaks...or flats! Shame really....the description didnt say it was in the country so its not misleading. I just expected a little more countryside for a Zamek!
Never mind....we actually had a nice time.
It is a grand old building thats been renovated really nicely. Thick stone walls and much old furniture set the scene. There is also a pub in the courtyard that fits in well.
Our greeting was enthusiastic. But I did wonder during our stay if we were the only people staying overnight! Our room, "Renaissance", was large and spacious. Huge 4 poster bed and a bath that fitted 2 of us easily. We know because we tried. (Remember we didn't have the children!!)
It was quiet despite the flats very close. Rooms aren't air conditioned but whilst it was hot, our room was cool. The views from the windows are not exciting in any way.
We did have a beer spa in a converted cellar room that was very well done and great atmosphere. It was all done very nice and when its explained the man disappeared and left us alone in the hot tub for about 30 minutes and a bell rang when he was coming back - very discrete. Whilst in the tub you can pour your own draught beer, as much as you want, only all I could get was small beer with a huge head! What we did get was a good drop though!
Then it was a massage for both of us, 20 mins each. We really enjoyed this experience.
Then off to dinner.
We ate inside the building, the food was good. I had a steak, my wife a more traditional Czech meal. There was a slight mix up with bringing our starter at the same time as our mains but they were very apologetic and understood when i sent the starter back as not required.
The pub in the courtyard was showing a movie on an outdoor screen. What a great way to end an evening. It was full and so we sat on a wall in the courtyard and watched the movie. Not speaking any Czech, I had no idea what it was about but it was still an enjoyable evening. Should be more of it.
Slept well on the huge bed.
Breakfast was the only disappointment. Like I said, i thought we were the only people staying but clearly not. Someone had got to the small plate of food on the buffet before us. Couple of slices of cheese and a ham for us both. Coffee was good though.
They make their own shower gels and bath stuff, we used it in the spa, so we purchased some as well, its good value and feels great.
Despite the disappointment of not being in the countryside, we had a good time. We can overlook the poor breakfast because the rest was really nice. I would stay here again as a recommendation, just be aware of its location!

Room Tip: We looked at the other rooms, the smaller attic rooms will suffer from being really really hot in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malnik2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Well, many wrote how nice this hotel is and this is definitely true, but we made an additional experience. We were on the way to Poland and had all of a sudden a serious problem with our car. Management and stuff were just fantastic, a mechanic was organised who came to the hotel immediately, he was trying to organise a repair on Friday lunchtime, but the needed part was not available in Ostrava, so the hotel organised a car rental for us (we had to go to a congress in Poland). We left our car at the hotel and they took care of everything,. When we returned, not only the car was repaired also they guided us to the service station to pick up the car, helped us with the formal things, like giving back the rented car, understanding what there has be done inclusive bill, and then they guided us even to the highway.

SO WE CAN HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE; IT IS NOT ONLY A NICE, SPECIAL PLACE, THEY ALSO HELP YOU IF YOU HAVE PROBLEMS:

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vivoAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Reviewed April 3, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Superb spa facility - beer and wine bath - VERY recommended, as well as their beer based cosmetics (shower gel especially) and good food at the restaurant (they make their own beer).

On the contrary:
- very high prices of the hotel & baths
- week localisation - far from the ostrava centre, no too pretty surroundings
- common weeding at the location...
- hard to get (no signs)

Room Tip: Apartment with the chimney - very OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedRidingReaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Zamek Zabreh is a place with spirit and there is probably no better place to visit in a whole region. Everything you can get there is simply great (kitchen, wonderfull accomodation in historical chambers, own mini brewery etc.). If you ever visit Ostrava, make sure to book a historical room with fireplace and experience a great time there.
Even though I live few kilometers from there, its still worth to me to book each year an Africa chamber and spent wonderfull romantic evening there.
Of course, keep in mind that hotel is located in the city so do not expect any beatifull surroundings. But everything else is just perfect.

Room Tip: Africa chamber or any historical room with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josef S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a unique and wonderful place to stay. The historical rooms, we were in Magic, are just amazing. To start with they are huge. The furnishings are unique and go with the theme of the room. The bathroom is equally luxurious. Lighting could have been a bit better by the bedside and a small table there would have been very useful.

Service was gracious. Wifi worked well even though we had been warned that the thick walls - and they are about 3 feet thick in places - might cause problems and we would need a cable. Breakfast was good.

We ate both nights in the pub. There were weddings going on at the restaurant. Food was tasty and well priced.

All in all it was a marvelous weekend. Though we are unlikely to return to Ostrava, we would certainly stay here again if we did.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

A fascinating hotel with an interesting history which is detailed in photographs and documents. Very welcoming rooms, the parents had the Hunters' suite and I had a smaller attic type room which was very comfortable and had plenty of character. Superb evening meal. Very nice and helpful staff, even CCTV of the car park if you were worried about your car. We were only passing through and stayed for just one night, I would have liked to have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CymruRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ostrava hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure Ostrava Center
Mercure Ostrava Center
#1 of 18 in Ostrava
493 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#5 of 18 in Ostrava
73 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Brioni
Hotel Brioni
#9 of 18 in Ostrava
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jan Maria
Jan Maria
#10 of 18 in Ostrava
28 reviews
2.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Ostrava Hotel
2.9 mi away
Imperial Hotel Ostrava
Imperial Hotel Ostrava
#3 of 18 in Ostrava
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamek Zabreh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamek Zabreh

Address: U Zamku 42/1, Ostrava 700 30, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Moravian-Silesian Region > Ostrava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ostrava
Price Range: $76 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zamek Zabreh 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zamek Zabreh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing