We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful terrace and cobblestone roads”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pension Na Hrade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Na Hrade
Ranked #6 of 32 Olomouc B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Beautiful terrace and cobblestone roads”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed two nights at the hotel and really enjoyed our visit. The room had everything we needed including free internet. The price included breakfast. The hotel is not large so I didn't expect much for breakfast but each day there was a nice selection of breads, pastries, cereal, eggs, cheeses, juice, yogurt, and fruits. There was something to make all of us happy. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel location is beautiful. It is on a steep cobbled street right off the main square. The hotel terrace is a nice place to chill out and read or write. Olomouc is a beautiful town. I would like to go back to do more exploring of the area and biking as there seems to be lots of trails. There is excellent tourist information in English and it seems they are really promoting the area. We didn't have a lot time to do more than explore the town, it’s amazing fountains and wonderful restaurant patios. This hotel was a great base to explore from...don’t forget to climb the belfry at the Church up the road it is a great experience!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaboda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
17
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

Very nice hotel - would happily stay there again. The staff was exceptional, the room lovely, location convenient.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

We stayed here on the basis of previous reviews, and weren't disappointed. Pension Na HradE is perfectly situated just a couple of minutes' walk from the main square in Olomouc. The beautiful church of St Michael is just a stone's throw up the street and well worth a look. Our room in the pension was modern and spotlessly clean, with nice wooden floors and a very comfortable bed. There was another bedroom area, separated by sliding doors, for our daughter. The bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower. Breakfast was served in the small foyer area, and though there wasn't a huge choice available, it was perfectly adequate. The receptionist was very helpful and let us store our luggage in a spare bedroom on the day we left. On the whole, this pension represents very good value for money and I would happily recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
61 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2009

Na Hrade is a lovely, quiet hotel, perfectly located just off the town square. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast had enough choices to keep us happy, though the coffee was too weak for my taste. The staff was polite but spoke too little English to be of much help to us.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

We, family of 4, stayed in room #2 for 2 nights. The pension is very modern, clean and in a fantastic location. There is someone at the front desk 24 hours a day.

The room was a bit warm so the first evening we left the windows open a bit to cool down. Unfortunately, that let in quite a few mosquitos. We then had difficulty turning on the A/C. After a call to the front desk, the receptionist promptly came up and helped us close all the windows first. The A/C control was wired to detect if the windows were shut!

We enjoyed our stay very much and felt it was a great value for the comfort and location.

Olomouc is very beautiful and well worth a visit.

One note regarding the tram system. We arrived in Olomouc via bus and my guidebooks (Rick Steves, Rough Guide) only mentioned taking Tram numbers 2, 4, 5, 6 from the train station and 4 from the bus station. However, when we got off the bus, there were no signs at the station, no taxis and hardly anyone there! With the help of some kind locals who spoke little or no English and with our minimal Czech, we were told we could not take Tram 4 and to take the X tram followed by a change to the X1 tram at the train station to get into the town center. The switch to the X trams might have been temporary as there was some construction around the tram stops and we did see signs for Tram 4.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsl_mp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creepy Crawley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

We had room 1 initially for one night, which we luckily managed to extend to two nights due to a cancellation (thank goodness!). The room was lovely and the bathroom spotlessly clean. Dove shower gel was provided - great to have a quality product. The staff were so helpful with putting in a travel cot and helping me with my baby daughter in general. They even provided baby food at breakfast!
A gem of a place to stay and very reasonable. Fab location.
The staff had a different level of english fluency, but they all tried and were very friendly e.g with finding train times back to Prague, sterlising baby bottles, etc.
Can't fault it at all and will definitely stay there again if we go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Comfytraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2008

This pension is almost luxurious, and so upscale, that we couldn't really explain to our son why it's not called a hotel.

The location is suberb, just steps away from the main square in Olomouc, and easy enough to get to. Most of the staff speaks English. The common area and our room were furnished in a sleek, contemporary style. There's a delightful little patio area out back; it was warm enough to eat breakfast out there. The breakfasts were pretty much the standard sort of thing; scrambled eggs with bacon; bread, cheese and meat slices, some fruit.

Our room was, again, contemporary, with what seemed like brand new furniture. The room was good-sized, with a double bed and a trundle underneath that pulled out for our son. There was also room for a small table and chairs. The bathroom was in great condition, too.

A woman (I think the owner; she's the only person who didn't speak English) offered our 13-year-old son extra food at breakfast; I guess she didn't think he'd had enough to eat! She was very friendly, even with the language barrier.

The only drawback to the place is that they don't have their own parking. There is off-site parking, for a fee, and a taxi service takes your car back and forth. You can park in permitted spots between 6 pm and 9 am, but not during the day (without permits). The staff suggested to us, however, that as we'd be taking our car in and out during the day, that we use the 2-hour parking permits that they provided (for a moderate fee), to place in our front window, and park nearby. That was ok, but we had to go back to the car every two hours (except when we left town to visit a castle) to put in new permits.

  • Liked — How great the room was
  • Disliked — The parking situation
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexma90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olomouc hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Olomouc Centre
Ibis Olomouc Centre
#3 of 15 in Olomouc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#9 of 15 in Olomouc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Trinity
Hotel Trinity
#4 of 15 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Arigone
Hotel Arigone
#1 of 32 in Olomouc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palac
Hotel Palac
#3 of 32 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Theresian Hotel & Spa
Theresian Hotel & Spa
#5 of 32 in Olomouc
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Na Hrade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Na Hrade

Property: Pension Na Hrade
Address: Michalska 207/4, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Olomouc Region > Olomouc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Olomouc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pension Na Hrade 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Na Hrade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing