We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poet's Corner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cosy Corner Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cosy Corner Hostel
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poet's Corner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was a really great hostel with really friendly and helpful staff. I really liked the character of the place and it was a very welcome break, having a more relaxed atmosphere than some hostels.

It had some nice communal areas, a good sized kitchen and the shared bathroom was cleaned daily. There was a book exchange and lots of information about things to do in Olomouc and further afield.

I would definitely recommend anyone to go to Olomouc, and to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    24
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
26
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

I'm back at Poets Corner for my third visit. The staff, despite some changes in personnel since last year, remain as friendly and welcoming as any I have encountered in more than a dozen years of backpacking.

The Hostel is kept to a high standard of cleanliness and for those who don't want to share in the dorm rooms, private rooms are available.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieNicolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Me and my friend needed place for one night in Olomouc and this was the great choice for us. Beautiful rooms,living room...everything! Kind and very helpfull staff!!
Next time I will be in Olomouc,for sure I will stay here!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereza K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I had a private room at the Poets' Corner and I immediately felt it as my own room in Buenos Aires, and even better, considering the views from the windows. All was perfectly clean, comfortable and homy, and the staff very friendly and helpful. If you're looking for a quiet, well located and cosy place, don't think twice: it's the Poets' Corner. Cool, stylish decoration details in all rooms, it's very easy to feel how much the staff love the place and the surroundings and that love is catching.
You'll fall in love with Olomouc and this hostel perfectly matches this adorable city. I can't recommed it enough and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

After reading about olomouc,decided to stop here for a while,poets corner is a nice place,great location and nice rooms! Olomouc is a nice place with friendly people..
Worth visiting for couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reims, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is the most cosy hostel I have ever lived! I was very happy to find a room here for a very reasonable price. And its perfectly located, therefore, you will not have troubles to explore all the sightseeings in Olomouc. I recieved a perfect map with all interesting places!!! I loved very much the decor of the rooms, its really stylish and poetic. I am sure it would be worth to make some movie shots in such a magic place. Hopefully, I will get back again here and will write more!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nadya_Polina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I can't recommend Poets' Corner and Olomouc highly enough. After having visited Prague on a number of occasions, I wanted to see a different side to the Czech Rep and visit somewhere a little less touristy. Olomouc has plenty to keep you occupied for a few days, or longer if you explore the surrounding area. Poets' Corner is a beautiful place to stay and gives new meaning to the word 'hostel'. It's homely, cosy, peaceful and very clean and the staff are friendly and informative. There's loads of info about Olomouc and the surrounding areas available for you to read or you can always ask the staff who were always happy to help. They hire bikes too at very reasonable rates and have suggested routes to follow. We stayed in the private rooms which is on a different floor from the dorm room section, with shared bathroom and kitchen facilities and a small lounge area. I'll definitely be staying here again when I next happen to pass through Olomouc!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olomouc hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Olomouc Centre
Ibis Olomouc Centre
#3 of 15 in Olomouc
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Trinity
Hotel Trinity
#4 of 15 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Olomouc Congress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gol
Hotel Gol
#10 of 15 in Olomouc
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palac
Hotel Palac
#3 of 32 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pension U Jakuba
Pension U Jakuba
#3 of 12 in Olomouc
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Corner Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Corner Hostel

Property: Cosy Corner Hostel
Address: Sokolska 789/1, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc)
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Olomouc Region > Olomouc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Olomouc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy Corner Hostel (formerly known as Poets Corner Hostel) is a traditional backpackers hostel located in the wonderful, historic city of Olomouc which is recognized as one of Europe's true hidden gems. The hostel features mixed dorm rooms for the budget minded traveller as well as spacious and stylish private rooms with some antique furniture. Some of our rooms have a nice view too. The 'heart' of the hostel is the cosy common room complete with armchairs you can sink into, perfect for our guests to gather, make new friends and share travel stories, or just curl up to some good music or a book. We have a book exchange and some boardgames too. Cosy Corner Hostel also has a fully equipped guest kitchen which is a great place to prepare your own meals or enjoy a bit of 'potluck' with your fellow guests. Good teas and coffee are always available. Bathrooms are shared but only a few steps away from any room. There is also a cute little balcony with a gorgeous view of St Wenceslas Cathederal and the hills beyond. Free WI-FI is available throughout the entire hostel. Towels are provided for all private rooms and are free on request for dorm room guests. Smoking is NOT permitted inside the hostel. We allow pets but only for guests staying in private rooms. Please inform us at the time of booking if you have a pet. The hostel also provides LOTS of information about Olomouc and surrounds and all guests are given our customized map of the town to help them get the most out of their stay. We also have a laundry service for guests which is 100 CZK per load but FREE if you stay 3+ nights. We enjoy hosting travellers from all over the world and often socialize with our guests, be that for a meal, coffee, drinks, an ice hockey game in the winter and occasionally on daytrips out of town. We look forward to meeting you and helping you get the most out of one of Europe's hidden gems - OLOMOUC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Cosy Corner Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing