We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time around”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Had another exceptional stay at the Poet's Corner. Staff again helpful with tips on resturants, sights, etc. Will be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

79 - 85 of 113 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2011

The staff was very polite and understanding. After we explained to them that we cannot climb to the 3-rd floor (we are handicapped) they gave up half the reservation price. They also found us another hotel accessible for us which came out to be full, but redirected us to a good hotel with moderate price. We did not expect the rooms to be on the 3-rd floor without elevator(!!!) which was certainly not accessible to my wife. This situation should be specified in the description of the hotel as it is crucial for people with walking difficulties.

Room Tip: Not accessible for handicapped
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank uzitassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InfoPoet, Owner at Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

We're terribly sorry too that you couldn't accomplish your reservation and hope it didn't spoil your stay in Olomouc too much. Thanks for pointing out the issue of the description. On our brochures and website it's clear in several places (FAQs, About the Hostel and the finding the hostel video) that we're on the upper floors with no elevator. Unfortunately the website you ordered the room through won't allow us to write or edit their description of us and while they're happy to sell our beds and earn commissions, they're very reluctant to consider any changes we request. If you could please write directly to them with your complaint, we'd be grateful and no doubt so will other handicapped travellers who may be looking at the same inadequate description that you saw.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We had a great time staying at the Poet's Corner Hostel. My boyfriend and I stayed in a private room, which had a bunk bed and also a large bed in which we slept. The owners were amazingly hospitable - they took anyone to the lake to go swimming (it was hot!!) every day at 5:00. They provided free bikes to do this, and when we got to the lake, they swam and talked with us. I am amazed that they do this with guest after guest without changing this routine! I saw the owners every day and also staff people who could help us to find sights or to find things around the hostel.

The hostel has a lot of character, with colorful rooms and plants everywhere. The kitchen was well-stocked, and free of old food from previous residents. The owners put together books about Olomouc that you could browse through - anything from finding a bar or restaurant to pharmacies to hikes and bikes. It was a wealth of information for us visitors to choose from!

It was overall an experience that you'll have trouble finding anywhere else. The personal touch was the highlight for me.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InfoPoet, Owner at Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Guests like you guys are the highlight for us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

First, I highly recommend visiting Olomoucs if you are coming to Prague. You get a miniature version of Prague (museums, river, beautiful architecture, town squares, fountains, astronomical clock too!), with virtually NO tourists. Given we visited in August, the height of European Tourist Season, the contrast between the crowds in Prague vs. Olomoucs was enormous. We had quiet streets all to ourselves, but still plenty to do in this lovely city, which also has many nice day trips to castles and such. So come here!

And, when you come, this Hostel is a great place to stay. It is located in the "old town" area, so you can walk everywhere (Olomoucs also sports a great tram system). The hostel has the traditional bunk rooms, but also a very nice private room which we used (it is pictured in the Trip Advisor photos.) I will post the view out the window of this private room -- it is a beautiful view of one of the town's several lovely churches, with the hillside behind it.

The proprietors are onsite and very helpful, as is all the staff. Given that the proprietors are originally from Australia, they of course speak english and therefore can provide all the help you need. :) The place is homey and clean, with nice common areas (living/sitting/reading room, and kitchen.)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmsgoslugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InfoPoet, Owner at Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thanks for your review; we're glad you had a good stay! We'd just like to mention that we have four private rooms in total; two of them face east towards this view and two of them face west towards, well, the houses on the other side of the street and the setting sun. Because we do not move guests from one room to another during their stay, it's not possible for new reservations to order a particular room. You can however choose from among the remaining available rooms when you arrive. The private rooms are on the third and fourth floors of our building and there is no elevator (and as long as the Czech authorities continue to take such good care of their historic architecture there never will be).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Our family of 6 rented a 4 and 2 people room which were clean and comfortable. Were were on the lower floor. We rented bikes to the local lake which was a little weedy but refreshing and we really enjoyed watching Olomouc's ice hockey team play (£1.50 for 2 hours of entertainment 5 mins from the hostel) and the city centre was a 5 min walk away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sibags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Both the hostel and the town are beyond charming and lovely. We had the most relaxing and pleasant stay...met new friends, visited awesome cafes and brewpubs, and were even lucky enough to get Greg's personal tour of Olomouc! Greg and Francie are the grandest hosts ever! Can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanMar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InfoPoet, Owner at Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Can't wait to welcome you here again! Next time we'll do the 'west' walking tour...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with 3 people, with one friend leaving one night earlier. Cosy hostel with great potential. Located on the 4th floor of an appartment building, no elevator. During our stay there were not that many other guests, between 8 and 12 at most. Great kitchen, with free tea and coffee. Close to a Billa supermarket (200 m), nice balcony with view of the cathedral. Nice common room with board games and books.

The staff was very nice, Chris supplied us with pepper-vodka and Camilla with nice cakes and cherries. The hostel was very clean, the beds (in the dorm) are above average. The staff had great info of where to go in Olomouc to fit our budget.

Our only problem was the lack of atmosphere in the hostel, everything looked great but do to the lack of people it sometimes reminded us of a library or the house of a distant aunt. Also the toilets do not flush that well, resulting into not so nice encounters...

Olomouc is a great place to relax. It is not overcrowded with tourists. It has some good cafes and restaurants, clubs to dance and all in walking distance, because of a small city centre.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeroenFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InfoPoet, Owner at Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2011

Thanks for your review and we're glad you mostly had a good stay. Sorry you felt there weren't enough people around to create 'atmosphere'. Obviously if it were up to us we'd be completely booked every night of the year, but even then the Poets' Corner doesn't really become a screaming party hostel - you'd probably find it still a bit like your distant aunt's cosy, great-looking library with a view, just with a few more people in it...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Olomouc hotels
0.5 mi away
Long Story Short Hostel
Long Story Short Hostel
#1 of 14 in Olomouc
15 reviews
2.5 mi away
Penzion Krelov
Penzion Krelov
#18 of 33 in Olomouc
3 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Collection Olomouc Congress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Mini Penzion Na Vyhlidce
Mini Penzion Na Vyhlidce
#23 of 33 in Olomouc
3 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ubytovna Marie
Ubytovna Marie
#8 of 33 in Olomouc
27 reviews
1 mi away
Penzion u Kaplicky
Penzion u Kaplicky
#9 of 14 in Olomouc
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc

Address: Sokolska 789/1, Olomouc 779 00, Czech Republic (Formerly Cosy Corner Hostel)
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > Olomouc Region > Olomouc
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Olomouc
Price Range: $18 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poets' Corner Hostel is a traditional backpackers hostel located in the wonderful, historic city of Olomouc, which is recognised as one of Europe's true hidden gems. The hostel features mixed dorm rooms for the budget-minded traveller, as well as spacious and stylish private rooms with retro furnishings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Poets Corner Hostel Olomouc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing