We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed..”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Slovan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Slovan
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not impressed..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

Waking up by hearing noice from rooms next door... Really thin walls, narrow low cost bed and sheets, low cost breakfast. Good parking, but you need to walk through the building up and down to get ot reception. I would pick that hotel again only if I have no other alternative..

Room Tip: Take ear plugs and then it doesn't matter..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skalicky, Manager at Hotel Slovan, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for visiting the hotel and valuable review. I would like to invite you for lunch, during which we can discuss about your comments and about our next better cooperation. Thank you. If you are not satisfied with something, please let us know and we will help you. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický – sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
2
1
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pardubice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

I have stayed at the hotel twice and I look forward to staying there again if I happen to travel to Brno. An indoor parking and a fast Wi-Fi connection are great assets of the hotel, as well as are its friendly, helpful but unobtrusive staff. The food was excellent and plentiful, I found the wide range of food offering buffet breakfasts with home-made (as I presume) cakes just perfect to start your day with. My room was spacious and comfortable. The hotel performed well up to my expectations for value, comfort and atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva_M_pardubice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in February for real bargain price.
The hotel is originally from 1920-1930s and I love this functionalist architecture. Moreover Staff was very polite and cute :) and I experienced no problems. Even braeakfast quality and/or quantity was ok. The value for money was really good. And underground parking adjacent to the hotel was a pleasant surprise. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeri_Buda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szczecin, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I am deeply disappointed at the service. Only one small portion of marmalade, two portions of butter, and two pieces of bread were served at breakfast. Hotel stuff refused to give us anything more to eat. I left hungry :(

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ephmoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this review, March 15, 2011
Dear Sir, you travel agency ordered this cheap breakfast. We offered your travel agency a little bit more expensive breakfast, but they refused. We apologise if you were disapointed with it but
it was not our fault. Thank you very much for your understanding. Ivo Skalicky, Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brno hotels

Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

have stayed at the slovan twice. simple rooms. well priced. clean, good service. close to town centre, 5 to 10 min walk. tram line runs by it. easy to book.

Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank ShaneC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2009

Went on stag do to Brno with 25 other guys and was impressed with hotels location, cleanliness and value for money.

Only a short walk to the town centre which was ideal.

While the rooms are rather dated and corridoors bleak, everything is very clean and there is plenty of space.

The hotel has its own bar and pool hall which superb considering the purpose of the trip.
The staff quiet but friendly and happy to give advise on places to visit.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2007

I was in Brno for 3 days in Feb. 2007. I stayed in Hotel Slovan as it was close to the centre and to my business partners office.

Hotel generally is a good vaue for money choice. Rooms clean and quite. Walking distance to the centre. Good pub and fitness on ground floor.

I didn´t like the interior design of the restaurant and the corridors. I liked internet wifi.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — design
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruslan_Bortnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skalicky, Director of Sales at Hotel Slovan, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel and nice review. Yours sincerely , Ivo Skalický - sales manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.8 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#13 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arte
Hotel Arte
#23 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#10 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
1.2 mi away
A-Austerlitz Hotel
A-Austerlitz Hotel
#46 of 56 in Brno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#15 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slovan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slovan

Property: Hotel Slovan
Address: Lidicka 702/23 | 602 00, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Slovan 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A three star hotel in the centre of Brno (it easy to find by car or by public transport) with its own parking house (144 places). The rooms (83 rooms) are equipped with bathroom, toilet, safe, internet (free), satellite TV (33 -TV programs) and telephone. Breakfast is served in buffet form. Other facilities available to our guests: internet corner (free), restaurant Bugatti (WiFi free), pub, music club, billiards, conference and banquet rooms (18 - 200 places WiFi free), newsagent, hand car wash, copy centre, hairdressing parlour, beauty parlour, solarium, massage, fitness centre - spinning + kranking. Parking place for buses in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Slovan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slovan Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing