We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great time in a lovely place”
Review of Orea Resort Santon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orea Resort Santon
Ranked #20 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed June 24, 2011

The quality of the offering service was perfect. The cooks did an amazing job with the food, Hotel staff was nice and polite. We would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plzen_CRJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 149 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

My boyfriend and I were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel, it was really lovely. It is located next to a gorgeous lake, which has a few restaurants scattered around it. Its about a 30 minute tram ride to Brno city centre, (the hotel were very helpful and sold us the tickets the tram tickets) which was great for a day out. The rooms were large, and if you are lucky you can get a view of the lake. Bathroom was spotless. Travelling from the airport may take a while, as its a 30 minute ride from airport to Brno centre, and then another 30 minutes on a tram, but I thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatduckfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

There was a noisy party te first evening, unfortunately we slept near the "noisy rooms". The smoking area was in the corridor, it smelled very bad. Otherwise, the stay was quite cool.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

There is perfect staff, very good service in this hotel. I liked the location near nature. Food was absolutely excelent, room service without any problem.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

I was the first time in this hotel at the Brno reservoir even when it was still in the early spring, the snow was actually still around, nature and the environment should be taken beautiful in the summer .It's quiet and restful hotel, it was a pleasant day, when we were meeting friends. Girls on reception were very helpful and told us what and where we can find in Brno.Although we came very late at night and, already after ten o'clock, we were able to order and sit awhile.The hotel has not room service, for us our wish was granted, and fetched drinks until the room, with no particular premium. Friendly service and our food choices, upon the recommendation was good and we all enjoyed it. We visit definitely the hotel Santon again, in the summer must be countryside beautiful allaround.Accidentally, we also visited a beautiful wellness hotel and we enjoyed relaxing and comfort not only in the sauna and swimming pool. Total pleasant stay, a pity that we had to leave, but find time for another visit. Thank pleasant and willing staff and look forward again on next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JozkaNeratovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

I worked in Brno for 2 years and have stayed in most hotels there. This time going back to see friends we decided to try the Santon as it is in such a good location just out of Brno on the lake. (the lake by the way is filthy - don't look too close at the shore as you will see the mounds and mounds of dumped rubish, bottles, beer cans etc).
It is really easy to get to if you are brave enough to master the timetable and get the tram (tram 1 from railway station, 22CZK and it is the stop after the zoo). We were lazy and got a taxi from the airport which is quite expensive.
The hotel was a disapointment. We asked for a quite room away from the lift and of course got a room next to the lift at the rear of the hotel overlooking the kitchen. We were woken very early each morning not by bird song but by diesel engine noises and fumes as the delivery trucks arrive very early and leave their engines running..
The room was sparten, no fridge, hair dryer etc and very very firm beds.
Breakfast was positively useless and the staff at best invisible (other than reception who were very friendly and helpful). The terrace is a good place to eat and drink with great views (if you can cope with the sulky staff)
The best part of this hotel is the location (one stop from the Zoo which incidentally has the best cafe in the world - try a beer and watch the tigers the other side of the window - probably innapropriate but you will remember it for ever) and so easy to get around once you master the trams which are cheap, safe and frequent
We moved out after 2 night to the Grand Hotel Brno. For a few Euros more it was like swapping a bicycle for a Rolls Royce.
So if you want location, sulky staff, diesel engines and poor breakfast the Santon is for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights for a wedding - the hotel was older looking than expected but clean & had lovely views from the restaurant terrace.

However.... breakfast (despite only staying for 2 breakfasts) was sparse. On the first morning, there was no toaster out, no hot food left at 9am & the young staff were standing around chatting to each other with no rush to replenish anything. I made do with a bowl of cereal & coffee.
In my room I found I couldn't open the window as the latch came off in my hand & no hairdryer in room, contrary to the website saying there would be. I easily got a basic one from reception though. Be warned! The curtains are so thin that they don't keep out any light at all - bring an eyemask if you wake up once daylight starts!
My room looked out onto the rear carpark & the back entrance to the kitchens, where I found that whenever I stepped out onto the balcony I'd be watched by the male kitchen staff.
Good points - a decent shower, comfy beds & very clean. A good location for local bars & restaurants & a short journey into town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.9 mi away
Maximus Resort
Maximus Resort
#9 of 57 in Brno
214 reviews
4.3 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez II
4.4 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez
Orea Hotel Voronez
#17 of 57 in Brno
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
1.2 mi away
Hotel Atlantis
Hotel Atlantis
#21 of 57 in Brno
37 reviews
5.1 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#5 of 57 in Brno
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orea Resort Santon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orea Resort Santon

Address: Pristavni 1064/38, Brno 635 00, Czech Republic (Formerly OREA Wellness Hotel Santon)
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Brno
Price Range: $36 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orea Resort Santon 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orea Resort Santon is located directly by Brno Lake. It is an ideal place to combine work and recreational activities of your employees, clients and invited guests. Summer terrace with grill or program for corporate events. All romm with loggia, LCD TV and bathroom. In hotel free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Orea Resort Santon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santon Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing