We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely, lovely hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion
Ranked #1 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

friendly, clean, great location, EXCELLENT breakfast. nice place to hang out and chill. Located right in the centre, next to the church with the ossuary. I really liked this hostel ans the staff were really helpful and friendly too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Thryn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review! Our breakfast truly is something we are very proud of :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (318)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 318 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Not able to afford the flights to Prague a joint birthday celebration weekend took us to Brno - a beautiful, understated city. Hostel Jacob came up on Bookings.com as a good central location. The location is great, the staff wonderful and the apartment had everything for a comfy stay, including herb teas, oil salt and pepper, as well as washing up liquid and equipment, which is lovely because there is nothing more irksome than having to shop for those items just for the sake of a couple of days!
Unfortunately right under the apartments is a nightclub, which made sleeping impossible on Friday night. The music was thumping through the whole building and unruly crowds of teenagers flooded the square screaming until well into the not so early hours of the morning. I can't imagine how the locals can stand the weekly torture!! If it was my neighbourhood I would campaign to relocate the club somewhere as far away as possible out of any residential area and in the meantime would call the police to create order.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank easzucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We are happy that you liked our apartment :-) As for the noise from the club - that is, unfortunately, the disadvantage of being in the very centre of the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

top value for money! very friendly staff, nice and clean rooms and literally die BEST location in the middle of brno. you can enjoy the nightlife or you are in the historic centre of the city. also lot of public transport possibilities in the area. breakfast was for a hostel first class. thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KevinVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are so glad that you liked our hostel! Indeed, we try to do our best to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Excellent breakfast, nice staff, clean hostel and ideal location ! The beds are really comfortable. They also have a fully furnished kitchen. We were only there for 1 night, but our overall experience was really good !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carol-ann11164653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Thank you for your review! The welfare of our guests is the most important thing for us :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I am not good at writing long reviews so here we go:
The beds are comfortable, the stuff is very nice (!!!), it's very clean, the breakfast is richer than in other hostels, so all in all a hostel I can recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Martin, thank you for your nice review! We are more than happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hostel :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The room was ok, but unfortunately very noisy, because of lot of pubs, which are just behind the corner. I couldnt sleep until 4am:( It was very bad, because I had important business meeting and I felt terrible after night without sleep.Next time I will choose another hostel in the city. I was surprised that other travellers didnt mention this problem with noise. If so, I would choose other hotel.

Room Tip: I dont know if there are some rooms, which dont have windows to courtyard, I am affraid that all roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judita79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you found the street noise so uncomfortable. Unfortunately, that is the cost of being situated in the very centre of the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Clean tidy hostel - they seemed to be always cleaning! Great view, quiet and spacious rooms, excellent breakfast - cereals, all sorts of bread, hams, cheeses, yogurt etc. The hostel isn't about making money - they would have 7 other beds in the dorms if they wanted to - instead they look after all their guests. All services are cheap - or even free sometimes!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JR2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Owner at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Thank you for such a nice review! Indeed, we clean our hostel every single day and we want our guests to feel like at home. Spacious rooms and comfortable beds (in dorms with curtains) and the atmosphere of the reconstructed building from the 18th century provide our guests with a really unique experience :-)
Hopefully you will come back to our hostel in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 57 in Brno
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#4 of 57 in Brno
202 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#9 of 57 in Brno
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#18 of 57 in Brno
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion

Address: Jakubske namesti 129/7, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Brno
Price Range: $40 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments & Hostel Jacob are situated in one of the most picturesque squares in the pedestrian zone right in the heart of the city Brno in the historical building with an elevator. We offer an accommodation in comfortable rooms and apartments. The total capacity of the hostel is 34 beds, the capacity of apartments is for up to 26 guests. There are 10 rooms, of which one is single room, 6 are double rooms, one four-bed room, one six-bed room and one eleven-bed room. We offer also an accommodation in 5 apartments, three of them have the terrace. Furthermore, there are 2 kitchens, dining room, plenty of showers, toilets and sinks at disposal for you. The kitchen is equipped with dishes, two electric hot plates, microwave, dishwasher, kettle and a dining table.There is wireless internet available in all areas of the hostel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing