We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right in the centre, very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Valpovo, Croatia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Right in the centre, very nice”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We only stayed one night, but we were impressed. All is very clean, you can even buy drinks there for very affordable prices (beer for 1€, a bargain). Very beautiful and nice girl was working on the reception. The breakfast was also great. Only thing is that it is located right in the city centre, which is good because everything is very close, but that night some band was playing below and it was very noisy.
I would return most definitely, to see more of the city. Oh, and to see the beauty at the reception, also :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delorayn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you! We are really happy that you liked our hostel and our receptionist ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    76
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
41
80
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed here with my friends right when they first opened and had a fantastic experience. The dorms and bathrooms were clean and pleasantly decorated, the breakfast was much more satisfying than you would expect at hostel prices, and most importantly the staff were very friendly and helpful. This is definitely my go-to hostel for Brno.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ImogenDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are more than happy that you liked our hostel! We try do to our best to make our guests feel good! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I liked this hostel. Friendly staff, comfortable beds and clean bathroom, that's enough for a comfortable stay. Besides, I was lucky with a neighbor in the room. The only negative is the lack of parking. But public parking is a 5-minute walk away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaterinaShu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Yes, unfortunately we do not provide our guests with free parking, however you can always park your car at some of the parking places that we suggest at our website :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great hostel. We stayed as a large group in the 6 bed dorm and the 11 bed dorm. Clean, tidy and fantastic views of Brno. The continental breakfast was spot on for the money too. Nice touch with sweets on reception.

Brno is such as nice city and I can honestly say I never met a bad person while I was there.
The staff were welcoming and always helpful. They helped us plan some activities and it all worked out as we wanted.

Thank you for a superb weekend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Brno is, indeed, a beautiful city, and we are happy that you enjoyed your visit! We are always ready to help you with your questions or to plan an interesting activity! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed for one night in a dorm bed at Hostel Jacob. Private rooms were unavailable and I stayed at another hostel in Brno the following night. I was impressed with the staff and the breakfast. I haven't had a hostel breakfast like that in my travels and I've stayed in a good few hostels in my lifetime. It's usually the standard fare (toast, butter, jam, cereal, instant coffee). The breakfast at Hostel Jacob is a step above the average. The view of the rooftops and the square from the breakfast room is breathtaking. Brno is one of my favorite larger Czech cities and the hostel is in a great location to explore the city and the countryside. I was looking for a trail to hike on in the Southern Moravia countryside. The fella on staff (Pavel?) pulled out a map and recommended what turned out to be a fantastic hike near where his family has a cottage. He looked up bus times for me and really took the time to make sure that I was sorted out. I'd stay there again for the breakfast and the customer service alone. I'd probably get a private room next time though. Nothing was wrong with the dorm. I just prefer private rooms. It was very clean as well, which I value. Overall, an excellent hostel experience and a good value. I will be staying there again the next time I return to Brno.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katayoun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jiri F, Manager at Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast! Thank you for your kind review :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The rooms were great, the bathrooms were clean, breakfast was included, wi-fi was free and accessible from our rooms - one of the best hostels we stayed in all holiday! The staff were helpful and there was always somebody on the front desk.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HadjGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonnybridge
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Right from the start everything was handled superbly. They were happy to answer emails prior to travelling and even arranged for checking in after normal hours. Pavel and Monika were cheerful, helpful and courteous. The rooftop apartment was clean, spacious and very comfortable. Ideal location, just a couple of minutes from main Freedom Square and walking distance to most of the main attractions.
Brno is a great place to visit. Plenty to do, lots of shops, lots of restaurants and bars and is very cheap.
Would highly recommend Brno and if staying there would highly recommend the Jacob Hostel.

Room Tip: If a couple, go for the rooftop terrace apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jouezvous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#16 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion

Property: Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion
Address: Jakubske namesti 129/7, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 Specialty Lodging in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments & Hostel Jacob are situated in one of the most picturesque squares in the pedestrian zone right in the heart of the city Brno in the historical building with an elevator. We offer an accommodation in comfortable rooms and apartments. The total capacity of the hostel is 34 beds, the capacity of apartments is for up to 26 guests. There are 10 rooms, of which one is single room, 6 are double rooms, one four-bed room, one six-bed room and one eleven-bed room. We offer also an accommodation in 5 apartments, three of them have the terrace. Furthermore, there are 2 kitchens, dining room, plenty of showers, toilets and sinks at disposal for you. The kitchen is equipped with dishes, two electric hot plates, microwave, dishwasher, kettle and a dining table.There is wireless internet available in all areas of the hostel for free. The price also includes a breakfast in form of buffet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Jacob Brno Apartments - Hostel - Penzion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing