We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, a little spooky”
Review of Hotel SLAVIA

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel SLAVIA
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Very clean and specious rooms. It looks like nothing has been updated in a while, though. It was a little spooky because it was almost completely empty. Breakfast was mediocre. I found a price online for 81 euros, but didn't reserve. Instead, I had to pay 103 when we showed up, but it was too late to look for something else.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxtraveler7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Hotel SLAVIA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 146 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2010

This hotel has a fine location and spacious rooms. You can also enjoy good breakfast, but unfortunetely it is all. It is all about details. You will find there cheapest toillette paper, teared sheets, 30 years old reading lamps. For me stay was still OK, but for business clients or older travellers I can not recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pavleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

This hotel seemed to have been constructed out of some kit from Moscow. Everything of any architectural interest was panelled over. The beds sagged. The carpets were stained.
At breakfast, the staff spent lots of time changing tablecloths and folding cloth napkins cunningly into swans. Sadly, the food was inedible and the coffee was burnt (this was the only terrible coffee we had in all of the Czech Republic).
On the positive side, if you want a taste of what travel was like when the country was under Soviet domination, this is your chance. However, it doesn't come cheap.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Wasn't everso impressed with this hotel, and it was the most expensive one we used for our week's travelling in and around CZ.

I booked through the hotel's own website and received a short email from the Reservations manager confirming our booking... yet there was no record of us for the receptionist to find on our arrival at the desk. I had taken a printout of the confirmation with me and on seeing this the receptionist managed to find us a room at the agreed rate, I wonder if she went and swore at the Reservations chappy after we'd gone upstairs.

The room was fairly large and spacious but it was very dated and velvety! The bathroom suite was brown and cream, the beds were ok though which is important.

Cleanliness... was fair. it wasn't dirty but it was worn out.

Breakfast was ok, not a large selection and the orange juice was weak orange squash... bit of a let down when some of the cheaper, lower rated hotels we'd used during the rest of the holiday had a much nicer, fresher looking selection and proper juices.

If you do decide to use this hotel, make sure you've got a good copy of your booking confirmation with you so you can get out of bother if your booking isn't recorded, like ours.

This hotel isn't all bad, its just that several of the cheaper hotels we used were so much nicer.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpybasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

the hotel*s location is excellent, but in the area, a main street is bloked, that could be a problem for the drivers.
At brekfast, the food is excellant, many salads and to the bar the beer , BUdweisser is cheap and very good.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank amicris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2008

Great location for exploring Brno from . Agree with the other reviews that this place is outdated decor-wise. But I somehow didn't mind, I think it's worth preserving these types of places that were created behind the Iron Curtain, it all seemed quite typical of the understated fashions that came with the 1980s in Eastern Europe. It is very comfortable in the hotel , but yes there is a lot of Brown in the reception. If you want something modern and trendy this is probably not the place for you.

The staff were not especially friendly, but not hostile so that's ok!

Breakfast was good - plenty of choice at the breakfast bar.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amyjane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

The hotel is very well located, right in the center of Brno.
The problem is that everything looks (and is) outdated. The rooms were clean and comfortable, but not very modern.
Also, no possibility of Internet access in the rooms (apart from a paying Wifi hotspot).
All in all, the hotel is good, but not as good as expected given the price (CZK1,900/night).

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank eyyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#17 of 56 in Brno
175 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cyro
Hotel Cyro
#21 of 56 in Brno
163 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#11 of 56 in Brno
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SLAVIA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SLAVIA

Address: Solnicni 17, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Price Range: $80 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel SLAVIA 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SLAVIA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slavia Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing