We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, great location, but overpriced”
Review of Hotel Royal Ricc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Royal Ricc
Ranked #10 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice place, great location, but overpriced”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a car trip from Prague through Moravia to Budapest. The Royal Ricc is a smallish hotel in a very nice section of Brno. The hotel staff were all very nice and accomodating and spoke good English. The room was clean and well equipped, although the decor was a bit over the top for our taste. It reminded me of what I imagine a 19th century brothel looked like..but it did have a flat screen TV. The breakfast buffet was wonderful - eggs, meats, every cheese imaginable, cakes - all beautifully presented. My only complaint was the price...about $140 plus another $25 to park. That would be OK in Prague...but in Brno we would have expected something closer to $100 with parking possibly included.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    63
    15
    10
    5
See reviews for
18
71
15
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ostrava, Czech Republic
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Very nice, lovely.Very nice hotel and room, we were satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lvicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Hotel calls itself romantic and that is how it looks inside.. beautiful iron gate, many stained glass windows and paintings, nice furniture. Our room had one of those plus decorating celieng, it almost felt like we're in the castle. Room was big enough, very clean, beds-2 single joined with comfortable mattresses. The only problem we had was the air con. We couldn't make it work and there was no manual with it. Had to call the reception for help. Room was already very warm when we were in Brno at the end of March so air con was needed.
Breakfast was great. So much to choose from - warm and cold food. And stuff is very nice too, nothing is a problem and they're very laid back about your check out. Only problem which was already mentioned in other review and I have to agree with, is the smoky-smelly reception and sitting area downstairs. Unfortuanely the smoke band didn't get to Czech republic and people smoke everywhere appart from some non smoking restaurant.
Over all very nice hotel in very good location close to sight seeings, tram stop and restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonIva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2010

This hotel was beautiful and very “authentic” feeling. Comfortable room, bathroom, and beds. Staff at the front desk was just ok. Excellent location. I would prefer this location to staying closer the main square. Breakfast was great too; tons of fresh fruits, salads, meats, cheese, bread, etc. Staff in the breakfast room were all excellent. Very happy with this hotel and would stay again. Walking distance to all tourist sites. Short (5 minute?) walk to the main train station.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnb2375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notrob
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Only able to stay one night because of other circumstances but we were thrilled with the unusual decor and comfort . All the staff we meet were very helpful and pleasant. It was located in the old centre of Brno and although our room overlooked the square it was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2010

Hotel is the heart of Brno, which is a pretty city. Walk out of the Hotel straight into shopping/ bars etc. Your car is parked for you, please note if using satnav it tells you it is a pedestrian street, it is! But park outside and the staff will bring your car when you need it. There is a charge for parking but worth it. We loved the room, beautiful decoration, ornate and very unusual, it had aircon too. Free WiFi and a lovely breakfast .

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth13reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

We stayed in this lovely cozy hotel when visiting relatives in Brno. It was a charming place, with many period features. Brno doen't have any chain/luxury hotels but this was a nice and economic option. No complains.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMLondon_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.1 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.3 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#17 of 56 in Brno
174 reviews
0.8 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#5 of 56 in Brno
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#14 of 56 in Brno
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Ricc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Ricc

Property: Hotel Royal Ricc
Address: Starobrnenska 338/10, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Brno
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Ricc 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Royal Ricc is situated right in the centre of the Moravian metropolis Brno on Starobrnenska Street, which is one of the oldest streets in the city. This four-star hotel prides itself on a rich family history reaching all the way back to the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The name itself indicates the style and quality of the hotel's services - Royal Ricc offers a cosy and romantic environment with royal services.. The renowned gothic cathedral Petrov, a picturesque Zelny trh (Vegetable Market), and the Spilberk fortress are in the close proximity of the hotel. Thanks to its location and high quality services, the hotel is much sought after by many important and famous personalities coming to Brno. The hotel is luxuriously furnished and fully air-conditioned. Its interior very gracefully combines functional furnishing with Old Masters paintings and wall frescoes. This provides the perfect setting for a relaxing romantic getaway as well as a professional business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Royal Ricc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ricc Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing