We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast, convenient location”
Review of Hotel Continental

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Continental
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, convenient location”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here for two nights during a longer trip across Europe. Our room was neat and comfortable, with a great view of the Spilberk castle and a nice location for wandering around town. The breakfast buffet had many choices, and although the breakfast room was a bit like a cafeteria it was light and spacious. Hotel staff was multilingual, which helps a lot -- even for travelers who speak other languages, Czech can be unfamiliar.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    83
    45
    12
    2
See reviews for
4
25
15
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel though the downside is the bed room was too hot at night. It as also dark in the bedroom corridors. The chef doing omlettes at breakfast was a boon. It is well placed for the city centre - and is virtually in the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouTangerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for two nights with work, it is well placed in the city and the cafe in pleasant. The breakfast buffet is good especially when the chef is doing omlettes. The waiting staff are a little slow with the coffee which is not good very week - but that is normal for hotel breakfast buffets! Rooms were functional and clean - thought it was very hot through the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouD46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Attending a conference in Brno I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights - I would use it again. The outside is nothing to write home about grey concrete purpose built hotel. On the inside the entrance hall and small bar & restaurant have a very nice 1960ies feel about them. The staff was friendly, multilingual, and attentive, daily international newspapers for purchase in house, a good breakfast buffet in an amazing 1960ies hall with a roof that looks like it had been modelled on folded paper, nicely refurbished keeping the original feel (a bit like a utilitarian bus station) including indirect lighting. Clean rooms (boring 0815 world standard) beds quite hard in a pleasant way, clean bathroom w shower.

Room Tip: Non smoking and smoking ones available so arrange to get the right one either way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

you enter in the wide lobby, and you find the modern style armchair I discovered in the sixties
It does not mean they are not comfortable;
the style is between the modern east block, the american 50'es
however, I had a room at a high floor, from which I had a beatiful view of the city
not a large room, but filled by a large and confortable double bed; bathroom not wide, but correct
the breakfast room is rather a breakfast hangar, square, with a lot of light; a real "common space"
the personnel extremely kind, both in the lobby and at the breakfast; professional and caring
the price is very convenient (I do not know whether they applied a discount), fifty euro per night, breakfast included
the position excellent, walking distance to the city center (real 5 minutes)
in conclusion, very good value for the price

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arzillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Hotel Continental, Brno is an outstanding four start hotel. I am making this comment as someone who extensively travels all over the world. The rooms are modern and spacious, there are excellent conference facilities, very good restaurants. What impressed me, however, was the absolutely outstanding service and hospitality of all staff. They provided spot-on service, even ironed my shirts in a matter of minutes! I could praise everybody from the manager of the restaurant to the chambermaids, but I would like to single out Petra and Katerina at the reception for being so friendly and helpful. I would definitely go back to Hotel Continental.

Ruslan Mitkov, United Kingdom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruslan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We visited Brno during the MotoGp weekend, so all hotels were quite busy. This hotel looked nice and it is. It has some touches that still remind you of the old Eastern European times, but all in all the hotel is quite nice. The rooms however are a bit old and tired. The bathroom is ok,but very small, the shower was terrible, it couldn't keep its temperature and the power of the water was very low. The breakfast is quite good, there is a large choice of what ever you like and the quality is ok. The staff is efficient but not over friendly or so. It appears smoking is allowed every where, or was because our room smelled like this. The airco in the room worked well and is a must in the summer in the older buildings in Eastern Europe because they can become quite hot. If you are looking for a decent place near Brno city center, this is a not a bad choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.7 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.3 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.7 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#5 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Continental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental

Property: Hotel Continental
Address: Kounicova 680/6, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#4 Spa Hotel in Brno
#9 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#12 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Continental 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Continental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing