We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't understand why the smoke problem's not been raised before”
Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandhotel Brno
Ranked #3 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I could reiterate some of the positive comments already made about the Grand Hotel Brno: like the convenient location (yes, the area around the station is scruffy but in no way threatening, even late at night, and few of the higher-rated Brno hotels on Trip Advisor are as central); I could repeat that the hotel is smart, the rooms spotlessly clean and the staff polite; and remind you of the excellent breakfast spread - one of the best I've experienced in the Czech Republic. I could add the unusual bonus: the in-room TV receives major UK channels. But all of this might distract you from the bigger issue, raised only recently in the review dated 30 Sep 2012 entitled "Smokers only!": tobacco smoke. Despite all the rooms being designated as non-smoking, ours smelt strongly of smoke for most of our stay. Despite the management's protestations below, it's hard to believe this is down to a few militant smokers who defy the house rules; the acrid smell of smoke seems to penetrate the corridors and air-conditioning ducts for most of the day and night - our room was finally rid of it around 4am. It was on the 4th floor - was our room the only one affected, do the other floors suffer equally? I don't believe smokers are sitting up all hours puffing smoke into the ducts: I do wonder, however, whether the fug from the casino next door (open till 4am) is getting in. Until the management gets a hold on this problem, the hotel is unrecommendable to all but lovers of stale smoke. Other complaints seem almost irrelevant: our room was very hot - both radiators gave out heat despite being turned right down - and the air conditioning was turned off for the winter. Following our request, the front desk told us they would turn it back on during this mild spell in October, but they didn't. Also, charging for an internet connect is a bit insulting (CZK250 for a day, CZK100 for an hour) when wifi is free in so many establishments in town and, indeed, is free in the hotel's own (smoky) bar. But we won't be going back to the Grand any time soon.

Room Tip: If you don't like tobacco smoke, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughJarres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Even tho we had reserved no smoking rooms this hotel is like a smoke stack. When you enter the lobby even tho no one was in it, it smelled highly of smoke. That was a bad omen. We were on the 4th floor and the 3rd and 4th floors were no smoking, but when you get off the elevator it is so smoky it seems like someone must be actively smoking there, then they have the nerve to have a sign saying they are going to charge you if you smoke in the room, REALLY, I can't imagine that would make a difference. This hotel really is for tour groups only. It is right across the street from the bus station with a sex shop and erotic bar next store, nice family environment. If I had not pre-paid I would have sought other options. It is close to old town and the restaurants. Having been in many other cities in the CZ already, I was surprised to see that on Saturday stores are only open until noon and closed on Sunday, so this is not really a great location if you are planning on doing shopping on the weekend. We however, were there to visit Austerlitz, so we were gone most of the day visiting the zamek there and the battlefields. They do have free Wi-fi in the lobby, but it is hard to sit there for long if you are a non-smoker.

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker I would seek other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MySeaBiscuit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for staying with us and for taking your time to share your feedback.
We are very sorry to hear about your negative experience regarding the smoke smell.
All our guest rooms as well as the restaurant and our meeting rooms are non smoking. The only smoking area is the Lobby bar. Unfortunately some guests still do not respect this decision taken by our management in accordance with the majority of our valued guests.
All our guests are informed about this situation upon check-in, and that is also the reason, why it is mentioned on the registration card.

We hope that will get the opportunity to show you the usual high standard of our services.

Yours sincerely,

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Grand Hotel for 5 days on business.

I had read mixed reviews on trip advisor and did worry about what I was letting myself in for.

All I can say is that the hotel has been great. The hotel is incredibly clean, in fact I would say it is the cleanest I have ever been too. I even saw one lady polishing the lift doors! An amazing selection of food and drink at breakfast and the staff were very welcoming.

The rooms are a little dated but are very comfortable. However my one complaint is the size of the duvet. It was very small, almost like a child's duvet and I am well over 6ft! That aside, the room was a decent size.

The gym facilities are good, it has what you need.

Overall a very enjoyable stay and would be more than happy to return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wardyward5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you for choosing our Grandhotel Brno for your stay and positive comments you have made. We are always working hard to give our guest the maximum best services. It is always a moment of satisfaction to know, that you had a enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

With best regards
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The foyer and bar have style but once in the lift to other floors its clean but old fashioned, lots of dark stained wood and deep red carpets.
However, the room was clean and the bathroom very smart. Just a bit more Bayswater Tourist than old grand hotel.
The staff were attentive and pleasant. The location was handy for the train station and generally central to places I wanted to be in Brno.
So ordinary, clean and functional as opposed to a destination in itself.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the front of the hotel which is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GemAlfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing our Grandhotel Brno for your stay in Brno and thank you also for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate your honesty and especially feedback.

We believe that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is clean, but there is nothing remained fron the historical hotel. Very ikd fashion. Bed is small, but comfortable. Minibar extremely expensive. Tap Is broken in the bathroom. There isn't any noise isolation, so you wake up every 15 minutesbehen the tram is coming. Breakfast looks good, taste is average.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruskovits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations and are sorry to hear about your inconvenience. We appreciate your comments here and will be working diligently to make your stay much more enjoyable in the future.

With best regards

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The good: Great location, near the center, train station, and Student Agency stop.

The bad: The hallways are pickled with smoke. The rooms sport dated decor, but it probably reflects the design preferences of the hotel owner (Austria Hotels International). If there was a picture of Husak on the wall, I would have been certain that I was timewarped back to the 1970s.

People watching: It's sad that Brno is becoming a destination for sex tourism, but the outlandish prostitute working the fat German and Austrian "guests" in the bar was a bit disturbing. Imagine your grandmother, dressed like a pimp, and talking dirty in German. Definitely something you'd expect in a Tarantino film.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moravec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Visited brno for the WSBK event, we travelled from Bratislava by train and the Grand Hotel is only 150 meters away from the train station and the bus/tram station quiet a busy area but once in the Grand Hotel you would not know, the best thing about this hotel apart from location is the staff, very helpfull, very courteous and all speak english as not many of us speak czech. As mentioned by other reviewers the rooms at the rear of the property are very quiet and away from the tram noise at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was the best by far on our trip through Italy, Bratislava and finally the Czech Republic, we also had one evening meal which was also very nice. Brno was a pleasant suprize with its grand buildings/churches loads of cafes/resturants. We shall definatley return to the Grand Hotel Brno next year.

Room Tip: See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcr4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for the positive comments you have made. We are always working hard to give our guests the maximum best services. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Brno, appreciating the hotel and its city centre location, as well as the helpful staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Grandhotel Brno soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 57 in Brno
207 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Town Hotel
Old Town Hotel
#17 of 57 in Brno
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#11 of 57 in Brno
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#10 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range: $70 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing