We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel from 80's in the most noisy place of Brno.”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandhotel Brno
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel from 80's in the most noisy place of Brno.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is clean, but there is nothing remained fron the historical hotel. Very ikd fashion. Bed is small, but comfortable. Minibar extremely expensive. Tap Is broken in the bathroom. There isn't any noise isolation, so you wake up every 15 minutesbehen the tram is coming. Breakfast looks good, taste is average.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruskovits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations and are sorry to hear about your inconvenience. We appreciate your comments here and will be working diligently to make your stay much more enjoyable in the future.

With best regards

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    243
    103
    26
    9
See reviews for
45
170
76
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The good: Great location, near the center, train station, and Student Agency stop.

The bad: The hallways are pickled with smoke. The rooms sport dated decor, but it probably reflects the design preferences of the hotel owner (Austria Hotels International). If there was a picture of Husak on the wall, I would have been certain that I was timewarped back to the 1970s.

People watching: It's sad that Brno is becoming a destination for sex tourism, but the outlandish prostitute working the fat German and Austrian "guests" in the bar was a bit disturbing. Imagine your grandmother, dressed like a pimp, and talking dirty in German. Definitely something you'd expect in a Tarantino film.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moravec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

Visited brno for the WSBK event, we travelled from Bratislava by train and the Grand Hotel is only 150 meters away from the train station and the bus/tram station quiet a busy area but once in the Grand Hotel you would not know, the best thing about this hotel apart from location is the staff, very helpfull, very courteous and all speak english as not many of us speak czech. As mentioned by other reviewers the rooms at the rear of the property are very quiet and away from the tram noise at the front of the hotel. The breakfast was the best by far on our trip through Italy, Bratislava and finally the Czech Republic, we also had one evening meal which was also very nice. Brno was a pleasant suprize with its grand buildings/churches loads of cafes/resturants. We shall definatley return to the Grand Hotel Brno next year.

Room Tip: See my review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcr4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you for the positive comments you have made. We are always working hard to give our guests the maximum best services. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in Brno, appreciating the hotel and its city centre location, as well as the helpful staff.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Grandhotel Brno soon.

Yours sincerely,
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciarrigal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Visited Brno in July for a few days. The location is excellent, across the way from the train station and the bus station, a short walk from the sites and shops.
Staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is a little dated but is clean.
Our room was at the back which is a quieter than the front due to the train, tram and bus station. The room was a good size and had air conditioning.
Breakfast was really good, a buffet including hot and colds, with yogurts, meats, fruit, choice of breads and pastries.
We didnt eat in the restaurant as we would have been on our own and there is such a wide choice of restaurants within walking distance.
Overall the hotel is well located and while the decor is a little dated, it is good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as its much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciarrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for sharing your experience, we are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We are looking forward to wecoming you back to our Grandhotel Brno in the future.

Yours sincerely

Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed three nights at the Grand Hotel in Brno and it was wonderful! The staff were very courteous were very helpful. The restaurant service was exceptional as well. The breakfast buffet was incredible! The location of the hotel was so convenient to see the city of Brno. We parked our car and walked the whole time we were there. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are traveling to Brno.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor facing the plaza - it was a little noisy during the day if the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for sharing your experience and your recommendation.
We are pleased to hear, that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met your expectations.

We are looking forward to your next visit at the Grandhotel Brno!

With best regards
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

i stayed here in 2007, for a motogp weekend, it was a shockingly bad experience, the hotel was awful, and definately not a 5 star hotel as advertised, more like 2 star, no air conditioning in the height of summer, the level of prostituion going on in the hotel was immense, and to top it all off our hotel room was robbed of my jewellery including my wedding and engagement rings as well as cash. When informed the hotel simply didnt want to know and were totally indifferent to the robbery as if it was a regular occurence. I NOT ADVISE ANYONE TO STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Felicity F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay at the Grandhotel Brno in 2007.

I would like to inform you, that there have been a lot of changes made since 2007, our hotel has been fully renovated, all our guest rooms as well as the public area including our Lobby bar and Garden Restaurant are equipped with air conditioning.
Please be assured, that safety is our priority, we hope to have the opportunity to show you usual high standards of our services.

With best regards
Lenka Sobotkova
FO Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

no. not i did not enjoy. it's a 3 star hotel tops. i look at some of the reviews here and wander if these people have ever stayed at other 4 star hotels for reference.

what is it with the grey doors? the cheap hallways and the tacky dinning area?

on the plus side everybody spoke english something very rare in Czech Republic & very close to the train station, ah yes pretty close to the central area.

need to return I was not impressed by the rooms & bed size for the single rooms;

Room Tip: close to train station, that is a plus if you need a train the next day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabynew1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your views are very valuable to us and we will consider them in the next investments to be made at the Grandhotel Brno. We very much look forward to welcoming you at the Grandhotel Brno again. We will be very pleased to offer you one of the following spacious and comfortable room categories: Standard Double Room, Superior Room, Deluxe Room or Junior Suite.

With best regards
Veronika Mikyskova
General Manager
Grandhotel Brno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 56 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel International
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#10 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.7 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Property: Grandhotel Brno
Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#10 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing