We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Grandhotel Brno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grandhotel Brno
Ranked #3 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Reviewed June 10, 2012

That’s a great hotel. We stayed there for 4 nights and we loved it. The hotel is situated it the perimeter of Brno center, easy accessible by car, and 100m from the main train and bus stations. The room was spacious and the bathroom huge. Everything was clean and the room looked recently renovated. The staff, and especially the front desk, were very polity and helpful. The breakfast is served in the hotels’ restaurant, which is pretty nice, and you can get the entire classic American breakfast. As for parking, the hotel has several spots on the road at the front, but it comes at 20€ per day. There is also a public parking lot across the street with a rate of 30 ck per hour, and is free from 1800 to 0700. The only negative for the hotel is that the use of internet in the room is rather expensive, 250 ck per day.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank papilos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, General Manager at Grandhotel Brno, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2012

Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to share your experience, we are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at our Grandhotel Brno.
Your point about the internet is very valid, we would like to inform you, that there is also complimentary wifi internet connection available in the lobby area and all our guests can use free internet in our business center.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for your next trip to Brno and we will make sure your favourite room will be available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 570 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed here a few years ago and found it snooty, noticed the same poor attitude at reception when deposioting lugguage, charges for Wi Fi only place we stayed at in Czech Rep that did so, bad area at night,, best avoid road facing rooms although it is comfortable and clean.

Room Tip: avoid road facing rooms especially at weekends to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveSpencer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Hotel is well located very close to city just next to main tram and train station. Staff is friendly and rooms are 4 star average. But when you are checking in ask for room which is not on side of main street. Windows are very poor and you will hear traffic noises from 5am when trams are starting operations. And you won't be able to sleep at all. It's really horrible. Quality of breakfest is not an 4 star standard. I had bad experience with fruit selections...somehow It was not fresh and apparently they are not paying attention for food quality

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diderko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Brno on business. Nice enough hotel but location is not great being near station. Very noisy and so sleep was not great, plus the surrounding area is not the greatest! Rooms were large & clean, with good bathroom, but the beds are not great. Hotel bar also ruined by presence of obvious "working girl".
Breakfast was not amazing but passable. Overall would not return unless other options were unavailable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwr1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This hotel is a great hotel. What I like most about it is that it is close to train, trolleys & town.

I used the train to come to Brno and I can go to all of the places that I want to go from this location. The rooms are very clean, quiet, comfortable and roomy. It is also very reasonable for what you get. Breakfast is included and there is a good selection of food. Anytime I am in Brno, I will always stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NotHappyInOstrava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

I just came back from staying at the Grand Hotel in Brno, CZ for a week. The free breakfast buffet was pretty good (eggs runny, but plenty of other options). The rooms were old, but clean. The staff was excellent! I needed an ironing board on day 1 which they brought, plus the maintenance had to fix my shower head, but they were prompt and friendly (non English speaking, however).
The room itself had a weird vibe to it...I would get dizzy, goosebumps, my TV would turn on and off unexpectedly. Doing a bit of research, I found that the hotel had a long history, so there may be some 'hauntings', however nothing to fear! All in all, it was a great experience...I would recommend it to anyone who loves old hotels and doesn't need to sleep!

Room Tip: I recommend getting a room in the back of the hotel so you are not woken first thing in the morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizTrip01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Sadly the hotel does not live up to its name.
The hotel is centrally located, and handly for old town , but it is now somewhat tired and run down. Television in the rooms have zero english speaking channels, and some rooms do not even have tea/coffee facilities.

Room Tip: go for business rate as it includes free WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.3 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#11 of 56 in Brno
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 56 in Brno
201 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pegas Brno
Hotel Pegas Brno
#18 of 56 in Brno
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandhotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandhotel Brno

Address: Benesova 18-20, Brno 65783, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brno
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#10 Business Hotel in Brno
Price Range: $83 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grandhotel Brno 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brno is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Brno, the second largest city of the Czech Republic, lies opposite the main train station and only a few minutes from BVV Brno exhibition centre and the historic sights of Brno city centre. It is a popular Brno hotel for business travellers and holidaymakers alike. Grandhotel Brno has its own gym, a sauna as well as Wi-Fi in all public hotel areas. The 4 star Grandhotel Brno offers 105 rooms and suites with extensive room facilities. The hotel was only recently renovated extensively. All our comfortable and elegant rooms and suites will impress you with modern furnishings and style, all equipped with air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grandhotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Brno Hotel Brno
Grandhotel Hotel Brno
Brno Grandhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing