We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slightly different pub”
Review of The Immigrant

The Immigrant
Ranked #28 of 889 Restaurants in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: International, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Immigrant is the meeting place for all foreigners in Brno and for those who just want to try something different than the typical Czech pub beers and food.We have more than 6 beers on tap, including Guinness, Matuska IPA, Svijany Weizenbier, Polička, Hauskrecht and many other unique beers!We also show Premier League, Champions league matches and NFL games with English commentary.
Pozorice, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A slightly different pub”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Immigrant is stepping out of the line by offering a variety of different beers. The prices are slightly higher for Brno, but I think it's worth it.
The main disadvantage is slow service (seriously, waiting for a beer and watching the waitresses chatting behind the bar and doing nothing...)
On Friday and weekend nights, I would recommend to do a reservation in advance, the pub tends to be pretty full.
Also, no place to lock your bicycle :(
To sum it up - it's worth trying.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank V0174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    17
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Czech Republic
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“There's better pubs on the same street”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were really disappointed with the Immigrant. It's just "ok" nothing special, good is basic if not tasteless. There is nothing Irish about the place ate all, it's just another Czech pub with a few Guinness signs here and there. Testament also that the fine drink doesn't travel well, it didn't taste good at all. As for the menu, very very basic, and Irish whiskey is spelt with EY at the end unlike Scottish which is spelt whisky... Thought a part Irish owner would have at least known that.
Oh, and font expect to pay normal prices... Even for Czech beer!

Been there seen it, done it. Will I ever go back? Probably not.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunray7580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheImmigrantBrno, Owner at The Immigrant, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of The Immigrant. We are sorry it didn't live up to your expectations.

Your comment on "it not being Irish" is fair enough. We are aiming to be a bar that provides something different than the average Czech bar (that why you will see 8+ beers on tap from all over Europe). We do have a lot of Irish patrons, but we are not aiming to be an Irish bar.

For your reference to the Guinness, I will not be able to convince you otherwise on this forum. However, I can only say that we follow all guidelines from Guinness and they are happy with the quality we serve. We also pour more Guinness than any other pub in Brno so you will not find it "fresher" anywhere else. Of course, our Guinness is brewed in St James's Gate brewery in Dublin.

In terms of food, we have a great Hamburger and some very exiting plans for our menu going forward. We hope you will give it another chance!

The Immigrant Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quiz quiz quiz”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

That's the place we go play pub quiz every Thursday. And may be sometimes for brunch in the weekend. Menu has changed lately and I cannot say I am very happy about it. There used to be a variety and now mainly all about the burgers. Burgers are great that's right and the pulled pork too. But sometimes I wish there was something healthier in there too. They do get plenty of wonderful Belgian beer. You actually have a chance to try something new almost every week in this sense besides the usual offer of several Czech beers , Guiness & Cider. Cider they had 2 years back was better though :) If you like wine it's unlikely you'd get a quality one there. Tried couple times and woke up with horrible headache. But staff is mega friendly and nice, love the girls. Aaand they used to have terrace which was somewhat small but still very cool for the summer. They don't have it this year, unfortunately

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Fun, cider, QUIZ!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Immigrant is a friendly little bar with a good selection of drinks, including cider, without the cheesy nonsense that is usually found crammed into Irish pubs.

Once a week there's also an excellent pub quiz there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRunawayFound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Where Expat's Meets”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you think you have heard to much of Czech, Immigrant is the Place where you can meet friendly Expats to share their stories or suggest few places, I have been there with my friends couple of times and I have always come out with new Friends from Bar Table.

Last Time I was on St. Patrick's Day for Guinness, It was jam packed they had a nice theme of Irish music playing and Irish Dance performed by local students.

If you Irish stew or Breakfast Weekend is the time to find your place in,

Bar girls are sometimes slow since there are no uniforms They have to adjust their Tops many time ;)

See you there !!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RohitJoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Immigrant also viewed

Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 
Brno, South Moravian Region
Brno, South Moravian Region
 

Been to The Immigrant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing