We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice but not 4 stars”
Review of Old Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Hotel
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We booked the hotel on our way back home and decided to visit Brno. We chose the hotel because it looked to be at the old town. The name I think suggest it. But it is not true. It is really close but this detail makes a difference. The hotel is new, but more a very clean and well equipped 3 star hotel. Rooms and bathrooms are very small. The neighborhood is a little bit slums.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tp1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 104 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed at the Old Town Hotel for a long weekend and were very impressed. Our room was absolutely beautiful, and for the price we paid we couldn't believe it. We all had our own robes and slippers which was a nice touch and the bath was absolutely huge which was amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful, couldn't fault them at all. As some other people have said this hotel isn't walking distance to the town centre although as four of us were staying the cost for taxis when split between four was absolutely fine. The breakfast was standard continental breakfast and the croissants we had on our last day were so delicious. If I came back to Brno I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliška V, Front Office Manager at Old Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your visit and we are looking forward for another one :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Despite the location which can be to some a bit "unexpected", this hotel will make you forget about it.
The room are nice and the welcoming gift add a little plus that most of the hotel of nowadays seems to have forgotten.
The staff is really friendly and always there to help, as for the food, nothing to add there, it is just delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliška V, Front Office Manager at Old Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you for your opinion. We appreciate that so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

when you once sleep in such a hotel like Old town you dont want to go to anything less good. Service on the reception is very nice and always positive. i travel quit a lot and have tryed a lot differen hotels, you will be satisfied in this one. Very very comfortable bed and even its not on the beggining easy to find it, location is nice and very quit, so for bussines trip after long day perfect! breakfest nice and spend there also few days for lunch or dinner and everytime available for changes. Simply the best ....

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tereza U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eliška V, Front Office Manager at Old Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Thank you very very much and hope, we will see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a business trip for five days. I chose this hotel based on the research I did online before finally booking. Flying from Stanstead to Brno cost £130 which included 20kg of checked in luggage allowance.
Taxi from the airport to the hotel cost 400kcz about £13. There is a bus which goes to the town every 15 minutes but you'll need an onward taxi from the city stop anyway - I chose to just get a taxi and be done.
On arriving to the hotel, you soon find its location not entirely ideal if you have plans to go into the town centre a lot. On average it is a 110kcz about £3.20 taxi fare into city centre. Calculate this twice a day for a five day trip and you could save money staying closer in town.
However, looking about on my travels you can't compare the quality of this hotel with others in Brno - it's really good! Very modern suites with en suite, mini bar, free speedy wifi, lift to the upper floors, complimentary toiletries, sheets and towels changed everyday, all expected from a 4star hotel in this country.
There was breakfast included in my stay. Don't expect a full English and why would you when abroad anyway!! The usual continental choices were on offer with copious amounts of coffee as and when you wanted. Sadly, no hot drinks making facilities in the room, which would have finished the experience off just right for me.
Prices of the restaurant were average and quality again very good. Choice limited but personal preference at the end of the day. There are plenty of restaurants in the main square - Freedom Square - with Sherlock Holmes restaurant being particularly recommended.
There's plenty of walking to do which includes areas which are quite steep. Pack your comfy walking shoes and warm clothing. Average temperature day time during my stay was -5 and night much colder. Layers are key to keeping warm!!
I would recommend the hotel based on the quality and cleanliness etc but not on location - unless you can 'trade off' the quality over paying out the taxi prices. Personal choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunChaser75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, Front Office Manager at Old Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you! We really appreciate your opinion .
The location is a little unhappy, you are right , but despite everything, we hope that it was not your
last visit . Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just slept there on business trip. Hotel has big inner parking court. Nice reception, very tiny small rooms with even smaller bathrooms. But all well equipped. Slept well. It is reconstructed all house that you can see long dark hallways with red carpets. I don´t like such a spaces.
The little problem was during self-service breakfast, at 9:00 there was many things missing, no watter no plates no tea cups. We must call the waiteress that was not too friendly even we are Czech speaking. She never asked us what we need, what we are missing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, Front Office Manager at Old Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

In first , we want to apologize for all inconveniences which happened during your stay in our hotel. We hope that your next visit will be much better.Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The hotel is nice with a modern design. We had a large, comfortable room with a big bathroom (tub and shower)and a heated floor.The restaurant is also well designed, the waiter is friendly and works fast.We had halfboard,some of the meals were really delicious, some OK, I was satisfied. They offer free parking on the hotel's premises and free wifi in the rooms.
You can reach the downtown area with a 20-25 minute walk, but some might not feel comfortable going for a walk after dinner.
I would recommend this hotel for business travelers or for those who wish to discover the area by car.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the back of the hotel, on the front (looking out to the street) can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard E, Front Office Manager at Old Town Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
1.1 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
0.8 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 57 in Brno
570 reviews
1.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#5 of 57 in Brno
203 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
2.1 mi away
Orea Hotel Voronez
Orea Hotel Voronez
#17 of 57 in Brno
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Hotel

Address: Francouzska 425/97, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 Hotels in Brno
Price Range: $64 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Town Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel OLD TOWN Brno **** is a newly built four-star design hotel with a wide range of services. Due to its location, it offers a quick and convenient access of Brno city centre, with important administrative and shopping centres and popular sightseeings. The hotel is atractive with modern look, equiped with newest technologies and enchanting with pleasant atmosphere and professional service. The hotel provides closed, camera-secured parking inside the hotel complex, which guests can use free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing