We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funny place”
Review of Derivia Penzion

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Derivia Penzion
Ranked #35 of 77 Brno B&B and Inns
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Funny place”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Brno is really funny place! There is a big black fallos on the main quare - namnesti Svobody (Square of Freedom). When people want to see each other in Brno they usually say, 'let's meet near bif fallos' and everybody know, where it is. Good sense of humor and feeling of fun helps everywhere, even in Derivia. Unfortunately, jokes and smiles of the owner couldn't change the rainy weather in Moravia (this part of Czech Republic, where is Brno). And our breakfast (just bacon and a little bit of cheese) couldn't make guest's mood better. No fruit, no veggies, no cereals, no eggs... The good news was that I hadn't stay in Derivia more than one day, but I really enjoyed my time in Brno, because I met an interesting person for the interview for my article and I liked Hrad Shpilberg - an old castle on the hill. You might enjoy a very good beer in Brno too

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the ground floor. It is wet there. Good news is that Derivia is in quiet ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

The "penzion" is in a quiet street, not very far from downtown. Rooms are clean and presentable, even though the furniture is very basic. Our room had a huge bathroom that was actually not a separate room -- there was no wall or door. The red and black tiles, top-of-the-line massage shower and an enormous double tub-jacuzzi made us think that the room was a part of a bordello once upon time. Not sure if that is true, but the bathroom is definitely nice and comfy.

Breakfast was simple but OK. It was a good thing that the weather was fine and we could eat outside in the courtyard because the reception/bar area where the breakfast would've been served if it rained or was cold was full of cigarette smoke.

Overall, it was good value for money, and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kratky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at Penzion Derivia in May this year for ten day's , we found the staff lovely and friendly , we had a lovely clean room with a walk in shower and jacuzzi all open plan , i have mobilty problems and have a wheelchair , the room was perfect and they made sure i had lots of room to move around .. The area is a little run down and i wouldn't suggest straying to far at night but we went to the penzion next door to eat in the evenings as they had a very good menu.
The breakfast was always lovely but the only other food served for the evening was pizza , but you are not from a 24hr spar shop that sold everything you would need ! It was such a cheap price for ten days and we will be staying there again in the future ...

Room Tip: ground floor have large bathrooms for disabled travellers
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2010

That was the opinion of the friendly taxi driver who took us to the Penzion Derivia. The area is a bit run down and we followed his advice in taking a taxi back at night, but we didn't see anything dodgy. The tourist office advised us there were worse areas in Brno, and this pension is only 4 tram stops from the centre. However, our arrival was a surprise, despite booking through a well known agency. The credit card machine was not working so annoyingly we had to pay in cash. If you like a space that's two thirds bathroom, complete with two seater jacuzzi, and an alarmingly powerful shower then maybe this one's for you. But not if you treasure privacy as in our room only a low glass screen on one side of the wc gave any seclusion. Monsoon conditions prevailed when trying any of the complex luxurious washing facilities. The breakfast is good. Brno is an interesting city and better experienced from staying in the centre. It helps if you can speak some German!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trektrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
1.5 mi away
Barcelo Brno Palace
Barcelo Brno Palace
#2 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Grandezza
Hotel Grandezza
#1 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hostel Bed & Breakfast Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Cafe Mitte
Hostel Cafe Mitte
#2 of 53 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derivia Penzion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derivia Penzion

Property: Derivia Penzion
Address: Vranovska 68, Brno 614 00, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Derivia Penzion 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Derivia Penzion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing