We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Un-rateble”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of City Hotel Brno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Hotel Brno
Ranked #55 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Un-rateble”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The 3 stars are a big scam for the tourists, as this place cannot be even rated. Fortunately, we stayed there 1 night, but we were waiting the morning to check out. In the room the bed covers were very old and used ( the wholes said everything), there was a terrible smell and when wanted to open the window, the curtains fall down, not to mention the dirty bathroom. Please try to avoid this place if you can, as the accommodation is also quite far from the city center.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank agnesrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    5
    14
    18
See reviews for
15
8
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel city is definitely the worst place I have ever stayed in! I would recommend it only to my most hated enemy. The room looked clean BUT in the bathroom There is no normal shower, if you want water then you need to press a button and hold it, you can't regulate the temperature! This is how I imagine showers in a jail, not in a 3-star. Another problém was that you can hear anything from the neighboring rooms. There are lots of students and workers, this is not a hotel but a dormitory. First Day I wanted to have a beer in their "restaurant" but it was such a disgusting place that I gave up. I was not brave enaugh to go to taste the breakfasf so I cannot say wheather it was good or not. All in All - a horrible experience. This is the place where you reálný start to miss your home.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marketa_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brno hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

I have travelled extensively and this is the worst "hotel" I've ever been to. I was booked into this hotel for 1 night and it was 1 night too many. Upon arrival, the receptionist completely ignored the fact that I had been standing there for 20 minutes. She just kept on talking to her colleague.The place was swarming with flies and extremely dirty. It was 2pm, check-in time and my room was not ready, so I had to wait again. Room walls so thin that I could hear everything going on in the room next to me. The "hotel" is on a highway so there is a lot of noise and they don't have any soundproof windows. Also, basically non-existant curtains so I was up at dawn. The "breakfast" was horrendous, my fried eggs were still attached to their shells! Lastly, check-out should have been 12pm but they wanted me to check-out at 11am. So, I had to wait in the "lobby" until I was picked up and the receptionist was not impressed. I've never written a review before but I had to for this hotel. They should be sued for saying that they are a 3 star hotel!

Room Tip: No rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yiota_Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Worst hotel ever. How they can got three stars? The one is too much. Toilete ugly dirty, service is rude. Restaurant has dirty walls. No room service during whole week. Yes, unfortunately for me I must spent there whole week. NIGHTMARE !!!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrBPcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
4.5 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#7 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Albellus
Hotel Albellus
#24 of 56 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
eFi Hotel
eFi Hotel
#6 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bobycentrum Hotel
Bobycentrum Hotel
#21 of 56 in Brno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 56 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Brno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Brno

Property: City Hotel Brno
Address: Videnska 183/124, Brno 619 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 56 Hotels in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel Brno 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Hotel Brno is situated only in a 10-minute drive from Brno city centre. Guests have access to a 24-hour reception, where they can get a ticket service and tour desk. Guests can enjoy free access to a fitness centre. The uniquely designed bedrooms provide a peaceful night's rest. Our rooms are fully equipped with modern facilities including internet. In each room we offer a flat-screen TV, desk and a private bathroom. The bathrooms include bathrobes. Modern shopping center Futurum is only a short walk away. Restaurants, bars and stores can be found there. Brno Exhibition Centre, The Cathedral of Saint Peter and Paul, Spilberk Castle and other numerous historical sites can be easily reached by public transportation in 15 minutes. The hotel is 150 meters from the nearest tram stop. You can get from Brno Airport to the hotel in 10 minutes. City Hotel offers a shuttle service upon request and for an additional fee. In the restaurant of City Hotel you can enjoy classical full buffet breakfast between 07:00 and 10:00. Restaurant serves refined Czech cuisine from only the freshest seasonal products and is open daily for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your City Hotel Brno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing