We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Brno Palace
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Brno
Certificate of Excellence
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay....”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this amazing hotel whilst I was away on business. The hotel is right in the heart of the city and its amenities were more than adequate. The spa looked amazing even though I didn't get to try it out. The breakfast was of a very good standard as was the room I slept in. The tram outside the window never made me stir from my sleep so overall I can say it was a most enjoyable stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheSpender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    219
    49
    15
    14
See reviews for
116
320
42
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Barcelo Brno Palace last week on a stopover between Prague and Vienna on June 1, 2013. We chose a junior suite and were given room 215. The room had been recently renovated and everything appeared relatively new. To enter the room you needed to use the electronic key and then give a sharp shoulder shove to get the door to open. The room was large, well decorated and looked very nice. We attempted to get into the bathroom and it was apparent that their very cheap door had experienced significant water damage over time. It had swollen and split all along the bottom and would only open about 18 inches before getting stuck on the floor. The door itself would not close all the way without a good shoulder nudge. Every few minutes the room would shake as room 215 faces the street corner where trolleys pass often. They run less often at night but there is still significant road noise heard in this room.

A week prior to coming to the hotel, I had booked a reservation at the hotel's Palazzo Restaurant for 7:00 p.m. the night we arrived. I received an email confirmation from the manager and quite looked forward to the dinner as TripAdvisor rated the restaurant very highly. At the appointed time we headed for dinner and were told that they were closed until 8:00 or maybe 8:30 as they had hosted a wedding party that afternoon. It was a cold and rainy Saturday night and we were faced with finding an alternative. The desk clerk phoned around, found another restaurant, gave us umbrellas and sent us on our way.

I know that both the hotel and restaurant are very highly rated by TripAdvisor readers, but based on our experience I would not recommend the town, the hotel or the Palazzo Restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juannyjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The building is beautiful, the ambiance touches you when you enter: modern, but still relaxing. The standard room was nothing special, clean comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, also Spanish cuts.
I stayed one night only, but definitely would go back again.

Room Tip: try to prevent the rooms facing to the tram-line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for 4 days at this location in the 1st week of May. Everything from the external decor to the room is top class!

The breakfast served was fantastic, and so was the hotel crew. The hotel itself is a bit pricy for Brno, but the money is well spent. If you stayed here, you definitely wouldn't regret it, with easy access to shops and eating options.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhishekJoshi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wädenswil
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great city hotel within historic walls. The architecture as such is well kept. The rooms are somewhat standard but certainly suitable for one or two nights. It is located in walking distance to a number of nearby restaurants. People are dry-friendly but not overwhelming.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 060660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Very beautiful hotel in a former palace from the late 19th century. Nice rooms. Perfect service. Very friendly staff. Don't get put off by the brothel-style furniture in the lobby, the rooms are MUCH better. The breakfast buffet is of a high standard, but could definitely be better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WeKnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This really is a fabulous hotel. The foyer atrium is a work of art in itself -- the four very tall walls have been given a glass roof, and the loftiness of the space is offset by wondrous oversized sliver, black, white and gold furnishings and lighting. Our split-level room was amazing, too, with huge arches defining the space and a colour scheme that matched that of the foyer. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good shower room, with an extractor system that was powerful enough to demist the shaving mirror even while the shower was in use. The staff were friendly, professional and attentive to the smallest thing. The fresh mint tea was delicious, and breakfasts were excellent, with every taste and food preference catered for including gluten-free bread.

But we had a couple of niggles. One was that although there was a comfortable armchiar in the bedroom, and although there was an electric plug nearby, there was no light anywhere near it, so in order to be able to read, one either had to lie on the bed or go downstairs to the foyer. We eventually manhandled the heavy armchair over to the opposite side of the room where there was a standard lamp, having tried (and failed) to move the standard lamp over to the armchair (possible, but then the flex wouldn't reach the plug)..............We mentioned this to the staff at reception and they said it was a design fault common to all bedrooms. But if this problem is common to all the bedroooms, why not try to do something about it?

Our other niggle was the restaurant, where the a la carte menu for two people -- a starter, a main course and a bottle of one of the cheapest wines available -- came to over £100.00. The food was boring and mediocre, the plates and food cold, and the perfectly friendly staff apparently more intent on having a (very audible and prolonged) laugh in the kitchen than paying attention to diners. We mentioned this to the staff at reception, and to do them credit, they were shocked.

So on balance, a fine hotel and you will have a very comfortable stay there. But don't expect to be able to read in comfort -- and you'll probably eat better somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanKing_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brno hotels
0.3 mi away
Grandhotel Brno
Grandhotel Brno
#3 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel International
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Brno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Ricc
Hotel Royal Ricc
#9 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
5.4 mi away
Maximus Resort
Maximus Resort
#4 of 55 in Brno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#8 of 55 in Brno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Brno Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Brno Palace

Property: Barcelo Brno Palace
Address: Shilingrovo namesti 265/2, Brno 602 00, Czech Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Brno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Barcelo Brno Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Barcelo, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Barcelo Brno Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comsa Brno Palace Hotel Brno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing